Tempest - Bob Dylan
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    100
    Tempest is Dylan's best musical album of this century, a vibrant maximising of strict rules and the savaged-leather state of that voice. [Oct 2012, p.84]
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    100
    Tempest is in many respects the most far-reaching, provocative and transfixing album of Dylan's later career.
  3. 100
    Thirty-five albums in, Dylan remains as magical and mysterious as ever.
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    100
    [Tempest is] a thing to behold.
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    90
    Surprisingly, Dylan has never been more deliberate or so overtly savage. [No. 93, p.54]
  6. Sep 12, 2012
    90
    The coherence of Tempest is the hypnotic key to its charm.
  7. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Tempest's epic scale and grandeur makes his few previous albums look like short stories leading up to a great novel.
  8. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    There aren't many records like this one, and if you give it time and it catches you, you'll probably still be listening to it when the deal goes down and your own ship comes in.
  9. 90
    Tempest is fantastic, but being impressed by Dylan is old hat. That he still finds ways to surprise us is an achievement beyond all comprehension.
  10. Sep 7, 2012
    88
    Most of it is an inspired mix of blood and bawdiness.
  11. Sep 17, 2012
    85
    We're now at a place where we can pretty well look at Dylan's career as, essentially, an entire body of work--and, even when considering all of the obvious highlights of his past half-century, Tempest still stands out.
  12. While at this stage of his career a new Dylan release may only be heard by longtime listeners, it must be judged against all music. Even by such lofty standards, Tempest succeeds enormously, placing it not only in the upper half of Dylan's catalog, but also with the better submissions of 2012.
  13. How much you admire this record will depend on how redolent you find two of them: the quiet jeremiad "Scarlet Town" and the quieter love-triangle cut-'em-up "Tin Angel.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Dylan has always been hit and miss even within his greatest albums. that may be changing. There are simply no misses in Tempest. It's the best Dylan we have seen in years and quite possible the best album of the year. Stunningly good songs with lyrics so achingly sorrowful that you cannot remain unmoved. Beautiful. Full Review »
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Best Bob Dylan's effort in years. Bob remains as the truest storyteller in recent years and he is still on top of his game both lyrically and musically. Every track on this thing is a killer. Not a single word or chord is meaningless or out of touch. Instant classic and an essential album at the beginning of this decade. Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    My opinion is that this is the best Bob Dylan album since Time Out of Mind and in some ways I like it even more than that. Grew on me rather well with the first 7 or 8 listens. Lots of highlights. So many that the album itself is a magnificent highlight and it's the best thing I have heard so far this year, by far. I also think it's one of Dylan's strongest efforts ever that has paid off in big dividends. High praise for great work here. Full Review »