The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  Devil Put Dinosaurs Here Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nick Raskulinecz returns to produce the fifth full-length studio release for the hard rock band and its second with William DuVall as lead singer.

Top Track

Stone
I know you think I'm wrong, but I'm not your tour guide Have a guess, I don't let you look inside Cold dry stone What makes you want to carve your... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    90
    The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here is up there with the best Alice in Chains albums, with each track a conquest of structure and composition.
  2. May 28, 2013
    80
    What The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here leaves one with is a feeling that Alice in Chains have returned to the top of their game, confident and back on firm ground.
  3. Kerrang!
    Jun 12, 2013
    80
    Though it might fail to inspire at first, it will do eventually. A grower, then. But a genuine one. [25 May 2013, p.52]
  4. May 28, 2013
    67
    With a running time of nearly 70 minutes for just 12 songs, The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here can be overwhelming; the arrangements of several songs are amorphous, and tunes such as “Phantom Limb” and “Hung On A Hook” could benefit from an editor. Despite these small quibbles, the album is solid.
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    60
    Though new vocalist William DuVall doesn't have his predecessor's talent for shaping Seattle sludge into molten-dread anthems, founder Jerry Cantrell's expressively torpid guitar steps up to become its own kind of lead voice.
  6. Q Magazine
    Jun 17, 2013
    60
    The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here falls from the same mould [as 1992's Dirt]. [Jul 2013, p.99]
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    59
    Dinosaurs is a testament to how 90s alt-rock angst can translate meaningfully to middle age.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. May 29, 2013
    10
    This album is absolutely amazing. It had the dark tone of AIC that we so love and yet a new dimension to their sound. Layne is gone now, butThis album is absolutely amazing. It had the dark tone of AIC that we so love and yet a new dimension to their sound. Layne is gone now, but they're keeping his legacy alive very well. Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Certainly nothing groundbreaking here but if you're familiar with AIC's past work, this won't come as a surprise. Their philosophy seems toCertainly nothing groundbreaking here but if you're familiar with AIC's past work, this won't come as a surprise. Their philosophy seems to be: if it ain't broke, why fix it?

    If you're not a fan of this band's earlier music then you almost certainly won't like this album. If you are a fan of their past work then you almost certainly will like this album. I love it...
    Expand
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    A great follow up album after the return of Alice in Chains. Fans of the band will not see anything unusual on this album. The iconic minorA great follow up album after the return of Alice in Chains. Fans of the band will not see anything unusual on this album. The iconic minor key tonality and dark lyrics return once again in this album. The first tracks on this album crank. Loud and in your face, and rock fan will appreciate these songs. Accompanied with a couple of more acoustic songs that could be off of Jerry's solo albums, there is more depth to the album than its predecessor Black Gives Way to Blue. The middle of the album is however the album's low point. These few songs are rather forgettable and seem to not go anywhere. They pale in comparison to the rest of the songs on the album. That's not to say that these songs are bad, one thing I personally see with Alice in Chains is that their songs grow on you. Perhaps with time these songs will as well. These songs are really the only reason this album does not get a ten. The rest of the album is fantastic and should not be missed by any rock fan. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    This sounds like the Alice in Chains I fell in love with as a teenager in the 90's. Great guitars riffs and booming bass lines. On firstThis sounds like the Alice in Chains I fell in love with as a teenager in the 90's. Great guitars riffs and booming bass lines. On first listen im hooked. nice work! Expand
  5. May 29, 2013
    8
    Jerry Jerry Jerry you are a genius. Alice has returned with their 2nd most amazing album yet (you all know what the 1st is). Heavy bass lines,Jerry Jerry Jerry you are a genius. Alice has returned with their 2nd most amazing album yet (you all know what the 1st is). Heavy bass lines, intelligent guitar tracks and unique harmonizing vocals make this one of the greatest rock albums of the year. My only complaint is the standard drum tracks and standard production. Which is strange because those two elements are from musicians that are known to be excellent in their field (Raskulinecz excellently produced One by One and the previous Alice outing Black Gives way to Blue). Besides that this is a great album from an amazing band. Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    Devil put Dinosaurs here is a good album, but many of the songs lack the harder, more metal side of Alice in Chains. The vocal work is good,Devil put Dinosaurs here is a good album, but many of the songs lack the harder, more metal side of Alice in Chains. The vocal work is good, but most tracks consist of a blend of both Cantrell's and Duvall's vocals, with Cantrell's being more dominant. Album would be better if Duvall sang on his own a bit more. Overall, still a good album, just not their best. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't find this album very original, but there are several good songs on it. Only worth listening to if you are already a fan. There is a lot of better Alice In Chains stuff to check out. Black Gives Way to Blue is better in my opinion, but its nothing to be ashamed of for a band this late in its career. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews