The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place - Explosions in the Sky
The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place Image

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This five-song album is the second release from the Austin, Texas instrumental quartet known for their fierce live shows.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The feeling I'm left with, after 'Your Hand In Mine' ebbs away, is that I may never need another instrumental album like this again. The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place has already provided what may be the ideal version. And for that, it is absolutely essential.
  2. It seems like ideal film-soundtrack music, except that its gargantuan beauty would probably overwhelm any image you'd match it to. [Listen 2 This supplement, Dec 2003, p.18]
  3. With some guitar plucks and stuttering drums, the group is able to be more emotionally resonant and inspired than most other bands’ yelping front men can.
  4. Explosions in the Sky doesn't shift as suddenly or jarringly on Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place; the quartet has applied more structural predictability this time out, but is still quick about setting the sad butterflies in your stomach to fluttering.
  5. Most of all, though, what we find ourselves thinking of when enjoying 'The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place' - and, rest assured, readers, it's an enjoyable experience right the way through - is the magical spangliness that elevated the Cocteau Twins from absolutely all of their more ghettoised contemporaries way back when.
  6. One of the most impressive aspects of The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place is that it feels constantly in flux, growing and transforming with every note.
  7. 40
    The quartet fills out the album by executing almost eactly the same formula [as the first track] four more times... and the dramatic shock wears off quickly. [Jan 2004, p.103]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. jamesl
    Feb 25, 2007
  2. juniorb
    Nov 18, 2005
    description: post rock with the distinguished calm to explosion guitar and drum sections. This is an amazing, emotional, introspective, powerful, and hopefilled album. EITS just has an epic sense of music and feeling. JUST GET IT! Expand
  3. MikeC
    Jan 20, 2010
    An incredible accomplishment, every song on the album is gold. It all just flows so perfectly.
  4. JérômeR
    Jun 15, 2009
    Few have succeeded so completely in telling stories throughout music without lyrics such as Explosions in the Sky in The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place. The sound suggests, the vision comes, First Breath After Coma is really a post rock masterpiece. I especially like the drummer. Expand
  5. RyanB
    Mar 28, 2006
    at times Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place is relaxing enough and beautiful enough to let me look at my life objectively and be absolutely content. At other times it gets so powerful i can't sit still. i don't know whether to run down the street or fall to my knees. it's like the 5 song soundtrack to the most important 46 minutes of my life. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2013
    This record really means a lot to me. It's a whole movie, a whole story without any words. Every time you listen, another movie unfolds. It's incredible, believe me. Expand
  7. CodyD
    Jun 29, 2006
    There's not even any words! How crappy is this.

See all 38 User Reviews