The Fame Monster

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1289 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FaytH.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    The darker side of Gaga is definetly compelling but lacked in depth, but she sure knows how to crank up tunes that most pop stars can only dream of. With standouts like 'Telephone', 'Bad Romance' and 'Teeth', this album will please both new and old fans. Now ... let's redefine the length of a 'studio album' shall we?!
  2. RodH
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    She out-did herself!!
  3. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    I love her work, it's so marvelous. She continues her work wonderfully and this is even better that The Fame. She's getting better day by day. I can't even pick a favorite song on this album, I love them all!
  4. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite album. The best dance/electronic album ever made. It has catchy dance club songs (Bad Romance, Alejandro, Telephone), so as deep lyrics (Speechless, Dance In The Dark).
  5. Sam
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    The Fame Monster by Lady GaGa is an example of how Pop music should be. Each song is different from the last and shows that she does all sorts of music well. 8 great new songs as well as a CD with all songs from her debut album "The Fame" as well. A definite buy for near anyone.
  6. BrennanL
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Perfection. lady gaga inspires new things on the fame. her music is much richer. you can tell shes grown as an artist over the past year that she rose to fame. this is an amazing album!
  7. GregF.
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    Ultra-catchy hooks, dancefloor anthems, solid production and solid water-tight lyrics can be heard throughout the entirety of "The Fame Monster". The one and only flaw with the record, besides the incredbly short length, is that some of the songs sound a tab bit samey to Monster's predecessor "The Fame" for instance the lead single "Bad Romance" sounds like a re-upped version of Ultra-catchy hooks, dancefloor anthems, solid production and solid water-tight lyrics can be heard throughout the entirety of "The Fame Monster". The one and only flaw with the record, besides the incredbly short length, is that some of the songs sound a tab bit samey to Monster's predecessor "The Fame" for instance the lead single "Bad Romance" sounds like a re-upped version of GaGa's hit single "Poker Face" But Lady GaGa does show the listeners that she is evolving her signature euro-dance-pop style with tracks like the more urban track "Telephone" with Beyonce, the crazy romping sexually driven "Teeth" or the 70's rock derived ballad "Speechless. Monster is definitely a great listen and has many potential future singles on it! Expand
  8. FolaG
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    The only reason this album did not get a ten, is i'm not sure about the track "Teeth". It's too all over the place. Otherwise, this album is AMAZING. Every other song, including the extra song "No Way". "Monster" is an amazingly catchy club-banger... I cannot stop listening to it ."Telephone" is the perfect collaboration between two pop-icons. Love "Dance in the Dark" and "So The only reason this album did not get a ten, is i'm not sure about the track "Teeth". It's too all over the place. Otherwise, this album is AMAZING. Every other song, including the extra song "No Way". "Monster" is an amazingly catchy club-banger... I cannot stop listening to it ."Telephone" is the perfect collaboration between two pop-icons. Love "Dance in the Dark" and "So Happy I Could Die". "Alejandro" and "Bad Romance" are equally amazing. Also, "Speechless" is Gaga's best ballad, yet. She proves to everyone that she truly can sing--very well. It's got lovely lyrics and is one of my favorites of the album. This is a must buy! Expand
  9. UhOh
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    PERFECT. She's a genius and stands out from the rest. Creates songs that are radio worthy and artistic. And she can sing. The song "Monster" is my favorite and "Dance in the Dark" is the most creative. "Telephone" is catchy and "So Happy I Could Die" is addicting. Her voice sounds incredible on "Speechless" and "Alejandro" has an awesome beat. Buy it !
  10. SebB
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Amazing album that completes The Fame era, Telephone will be the Poker Face of the album and a worldwide #1 success. Dance in the Dark is Marilyn Manson meets Madonna. 7/8 songs are truly worthy of being singles and add to Lady Gaga's talent.
  11. JustinY
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    Yes, she is a Madonna rip-off, but Maddie had it easier with the shock factor and music back in the 80s. I think both The Fame and Monster are great, the latter actually sounds like a pre-Fame recording. I mean, the girl can write and sing.
  12. GG
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Strange how most reviews seem to praise Gaga yet none give the album a higher score than 80. The Fame slowly became a near perfect album for me and The Fame Monster, albeit very different in sound, mood and character, sounds extremely infectious and has some genuine gem moments. The girl is a pop genius and i pity those who say she is merely a copy of Madonna or whatever cause that is pure BS.
  13. Anonymous
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    A very worthy album; Here she evolves into a self aware celebrity, exploring the darker side of the Fame while incorporating new styles of music into the equation. On the surface she's just another pop star, but underneath all that, when you listen closely to the lyrics - particularly in "Speechless", and 'Dance in the Dark", you will find the talented Lady behind the GaGa. A very worthy album; Here she evolves into a self aware celebrity, exploring the darker side of the Fame while incorporating new styles of music into the equation. On the surface she's just another pop star, but underneath all that, when you listen closely to the lyrics - particularly in "Speechless", and 'Dance in the Dark", you will find the talented Lady behind the GaGa. There are 8 songs on this album, and none are bad. Highly recommended to listen to, and buy. Expand
  14. TimK
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Fantastic followup to the Fame. Several different styles and influences represented from gothic to 80s dance, from Bowie and Queen to ABBA and Madonna. Standout tracks include: Bad Romance, Monster, Telephone and Dance in the Dark.
  15. PeterQ
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    Lady gaga keeps it coming with 8 amazing new songs, each different, as well as catchy. they are also based on severeral different "monsters" she discovered while on tour. telephone is, by far, the most catchy song, followed by Bad romance and speechless. Overall, the album is worth the 8 dollars on itunes.
  16. DarkT
    Nov 29, 2009
    8
    More ambitious than her first album, Can't wait what's in store for us next.
  17. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This is actually better than her previous album. I can see what she is doing, "The Fame" was about the good things she expected about being famous, her aspirations to become famous etc. and "The Fame Monster" was about the bad things about fame which happened to her after becoming famous; every rose has its thorn :P

    The lead single, "Bad Romance", followed by other awesome tracks such
    This is actually better than her previous album. I can see what she is doing, "The Fame" was about the good things she expected about being famous, her aspirations to become famous etc. and "The Fame Monster" was about the bad things about fame which happened to her after becoming famous; every rose has its thorn :P

    The lead single, "Bad Romance", followed by other awesome tracks such as "Alejandro", "Monster", "Dance in The Dark" are all catchy and fit the album very well. This album has changed the mindsets of some of the people who bashed on her previous album, it even turned her haters into her fans, albeit, some people are still incorrigible and will hate mainstream music regardless.
    Expand
  18. Aug 16, 2010
    9
    So much more creative than her debut album, The Fame Monster is a masterful 2nd album. My personal favourite is 'Dance in The Dark'. An eery dance track which has a large madonna influence. 'Bad Romance' signals a change of emphasis to darker themes and sounds. This album sees Gaga expand and improve on the Fame. It's the best pop for a while and leads me to be excited by what her 2011So much more creative than her debut album, The Fame Monster is a masterful 2nd album. My personal favourite is 'Dance in The Dark'. An eery dance track which has a large madonna influence. 'Bad Romance' signals a change of emphasis to darker themes and sounds. This album sees Gaga expand and improve on the Fame. It's the best pop for a while and leads me to be excited by what her 2011 album might promise. Expand
  19. Sep 12, 2010
    9
    I don't need to say much, this is a highly enjoyable album and those that hate it are just haters with nothing to do. Bad Romance, Telephone, Alejandro, Monster, Dance In The Dark and Teeth are awesome, Speechless proves that Lady Gaga just isn't suitable to sing ballad and So Happy I Could Die is... well, disposable. What I love about her is her freshness, her creativity to createI don't need to say much, this is a highly enjoyable album and those that hate it are just haters with nothing to do. Bad Romance, Telephone, Alejandro, Monster, Dance In The Dark and Teeth are awesome, Speechless proves that Lady Gaga just isn't suitable to sing ballad and So Happy I Could Die is... well, disposable. What I love about her is her freshness, her creativity to create insanely catchy hooks and surprisingly good lyrics. Those that dismiss her as just another pop act are clearly mistaken,cause she will be her... for a really long time. Expand
  20. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    This is much more of what I was expecting from an artist even much higher above cookie-cutter-pop-stuff. This album shows a different and more intimate side of Lady Gaga than ever before, especially in her debut album, The Fame. "Dance in the Dark", & "Telephone" are amazing. The rest are also very good. This will probably be one of the best albums the Fame Monster will ever make.
  21. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    This album is one of those rare cases where popularity and fame ACTUALLY helps a music artist. While some songs defianitly outshine others, every song is at least worth a 5th or 6th listen on your iPod.
  22. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    A nice album. My only complaint is her ballads, because I believe her voice is more suited to dance/pop songs. She's the only decent pop star today, and the only one trying out new things, as Michael Jackson and Madonna did back in the 80s (though I wouldn't say Gaga is as good as them). Way better than Bieber, Swift, or Kesha.
  23. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    I loved this album soo much, my favourite song on the album has to be teeth, it has such a dirty beat that makes everyone want to get up and march! The whole album has an creepy, eery aura, completely different to that of The Fame
  24. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    "The Fame Monster" is GaGa's best work yet. "The Fame" really helped her to become a worldwide superstar, but it was "The Fame Monster" that established her as a pop artist. From "Bad Romance" to "Teeth" this is one of the greatest pop music creations I had heard in a long time. The dark, electronic beats , the self-written lyrics, the meaning of each song ("the eight fears")... everything"The Fame Monster" is GaGa's best work yet. "The Fame" really helped her to become a worldwide superstar, but it was "The Fame Monster" that established her as a pop artist. From "Bad Romance" to "Teeth" this is one of the greatest pop music creations I had heard in a long time. The dark, electronic beats , the self-written lyrics, the meaning of each song ("the eight fears")... everything fits perfectly into her concept and it will probably be the standout of her career, the moment were she is the most successful singer of the world, and the moment were her music is liked the most. The album features some of the best RedOne productions yet (and judging by his later works, I think they will keep that title), and one of the most special GaGa songs: Dance in the Dark. I don't think this song would've been very successful, but it is very unique, and has a very beautiful message. "Bad Romance" is probably the most iconic and successful GaGa song, and Speechless shows that she can also make ballads, even if they are on a GaGa way. I think she is capable of topping this album, but we will have to wait and see, as she doesn't seem to be willing to repeat herself. Maybe with a different sound, but I just hope she delivers this level of quality again.

    Highlights: Bad Romance, Dance in the Dark, Speechless
    Expand
  25. kollok
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    This is a great album with some great vocals.
  26. ChrisF.
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Lady GaGa is by far the most creative, inventive artist in pop culture today. She has found a way to reinvent pop music and make it interesting again. I LOVE her.
  27. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    An impressive, creative, original piece of work. There may be only 8 songs, but I think they're ALL brilliant - especially Bad Romance, Monster, and Dance In The Dark. Good work, GaGa!
  28. JoshP
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Lady Gaga has more quality material on this album than many pop stars who have come out the past five years, she has a star quality and a raw talent in vocals and songwriting which can compare to Pop Royals Madonna and the late Michael Jackson with an artistic flare not seen since brit Art-Rock star Kate Bush! The Fame Monster boasts sheer brilliance with 8 sensationally epic songs Lady Gaga has more quality material on this album than many pop stars who have come out the past five years, she has a star quality and a raw talent in vocals and songwriting which can compare to Pop Royals Madonna and the late Michael Jackson with an artistic flare not seen since brit Art-Rock star Kate Bush! The Fame Monster boasts sheer brilliance with 8 sensationally epic songs including-Bad Romance,Dance In the dark,Teeth,Telephone,Monster,So Happy I Could Die,Alejandro and the epic rock ballad SPEECHLESS! one of the best albums of the decade from a star in the making! Expand
  29. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    Overall, the E.P is really strong and the standouts are the 3 singles: Bad Romance, Telephone, Alejandro and Monster. The only 2 tracks I find a bit below my expectations are Teeth and Dance In The Dark. Overall, The Fame Monster is enjoyable and is a great follow up to The Fame.
  30. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    I don't want to start off by saying it is the best album ever, but it is. I can listen to The Fame (also an amazing album) and into The Fame Monster loving every song. While The Fame Monster addition has a different feel than The Fame release, I like it's difference and oddness. The entire track list is fun and amazing. I'd like to mention that I have seen adverseness toward "Teeth", whileI don't want to start off by saying it is the best album ever, but it is. I can listen to The Fame (also an amazing album) and into The Fame Monster loving every song. While The Fame Monster addition has a different feel than The Fame release, I like it's difference and oddness. The entire track list is fun and amazing. I'd like to mention that I have seen adverseness toward "Teeth", while I would have agreed in the beginning; it grew on me., and now I love the song. Its weird but hard and different making it a great track. "Telephone" is my number one song off the album, while they are all great. Hope she can keep up the great work and keep the hits coming with "Born This Way", regardless of the public, her fans will love it. Expand
  31. Alicia
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    This album includes the great pop beat songs from the fame but also incorporates the more rich tracks like Teeth ,Monster ,So happy I could DIe and even her own ballad Speechless.
  32. JaredA
    Jan 20, 2010
    7
    I do enjoy and love dance music, so naturally, Lady Gaga is a guilty pleasure of mine. Her music easily lights up any club it is played in; however, it is nothing groundbreaking. She has quite a unique public persona and crafts well-executed and functional dance music. Her music does not push any sort of boundaries, though; in fact, there are more talented electronic acts, the only I do enjoy and love dance music, so naturally, Lady Gaga is a guilty pleasure of mine. Her music easily lights up any club it is played in; however, it is nothing groundbreaking. She has quite a unique public persona and crafts well-executed and functional dance music. Her music does not push any sort of boundaries, though; in fact, there are more talented electronic acts, the only difference being that they have not be absorbed into the mainstream music culture. I did enjoy this ep and repeat it a lot throughout the year; however, with all the other outstanding releases throughout the year--Phoenix, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Royksopp, Girls, Mastodon, The xx, Animal Collective, Grizzly Bear, Neko Case, Sonic Youth, Bat for Lashes, Assemblage 23, Angelspit, Rotersand, Rammstein, just to name a few--it is quite difficult for me to say this is even remotely close to being one of the best releases of the year. If you are a Lady Gaga fan like I am, then you already know what to expect and probably purchased it the week it came out like I did. The ep does feature a few standout and memorable tracks; "Bad Romance," with its Hitchcockian theme, and "Telephone," with its appearance by Beyonce and four-on-the-floor beats. Expand
  33. BelfordH.
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    There are some amazing songs on this album. Dance in the dark, bad romance and monster. Not to mention telephone. also there's the rather strange tune of allejadro overall i'd give it a 10 but is't just lacking the wow factor.
  34. RayR
    Nov 26, 2009
    7
    Good follow-up to The Fame but she should have added more tracks and released it as her second album. The standouts are Dance in the Dark and Telephone which pairs her with Beyonce. There is definitely a darker theme here. Speechless fails to show her soft side and Teeth is a letdown. Otherwise, a solid mini-album for Lady Gaga. Listen to: Dance in the Dark Skip: Speechless
  35. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    Is a very good album, all the songs would be singles in an album of another artist. The best songs are Telephone and Dance in the Dark. However, all songs are great, there are only two somewhat weak: Teeth and So Happy I Could Die. But the best thing of the album is that Gaga just doesn't know to do dance and electronic songs. Speechless is by far, the best ballad of the year. Is a greatIs a very good album, all the songs would be singles in an album of another artist. The best songs are Telephone and Dance in the Dark. However, all songs are great, there are only two somewhat weak: Teeth and So Happy I Could Die. But the best thing of the album is that Gaga just doesn't know to do dance and electronic songs. Speechless is by far, the best ballad of the year. Is a great album that, if you like pop, you should buy. Expand
  36. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    O melhor álbum da mulher que conseguiu dominar o mundo tão rapidamente. Incrível como ela conseguiu produzir algo tão grandioso. The Fame Monster marcará gerações.
  37. Feb 16, 2011
    7
    While most people are going Gaga on this EP, i must admit that i was a bit disappointed on this EP. The tracks are too long with sick beats and hooks. Although, the songs are really good but it did not satisfy me like what her debut did. Her voice is not good but she can sing. The EP is artistic but she is better in the futuristic one.
  38. Dec 5, 2010
    8
    Funny that it was given a 3 elsewhere on here. Only a few listens and it's totally magnetic. Bad Romance is possibly her best song to date - the point where the chorus kicks in just takes my breath away. That and the hypnotic Abba'esque Alejandro, make this worth the price alone.

    Maybe some are out-takes, but man. this is is just stunning!
  39. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    Her first album was nothing more than Gaga capitalizing on a sound that had been popular in Europe for ages. She does the same thing with The Fame Monster, except she reaches back a little further, and a little more underground, and comes up with a sound that still isn't original, but is definitely more mature. There is nothing groundbreaking about this album but it's a short, sweetHer first album was nothing more than Gaga capitalizing on a sound that had been popular in Europe for ages. She does the same thing with The Fame Monster, except she reaches back a little further, and a little more underground, and comes up with a sound that still isn't original, but is definitely more mature. There is nothing groundbreaking about this album but it's a short, sweet collection of some great industrial pop music. Expand
  40. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    Lady Gaga's finest moment as a recording artist thus far. The eclecticism Gaga shows on this superb EP really does give her a sense of credibility as a pop artist, enabling herself to go from powerful, heart-broken rock ballads like 'Speechless', back to her more "traditional" dance tracks like 'Dance in the Dark', all the way out to tracks like 'Alejandro' that give Gaga a sense ofLady Gaga's finest moment as a recording artist thus far. The eclecticism Gaga shows on this superb EP really does give her a sense of credibility as a pop artist, enabling herself to go from powerful, heart-broken rock ballads like 'Speechless', back to her more "traditional" dance tracks like 'Dance in the Dark', all the way out to tracks like 'Alejandro' that give Gaga a sense of relatable vulnerability. Lovely. Expand
  41. May 24, 2011
    8
    Dance In The Dark and Telephone keep this EP from falling on its head with dud's like Alejandro and So Happy I Could Die. Bad Romance is an example of what Lady Gaga does best - lets the music speak and actually shuts up a bit.
  42. May 20, 2011
    8
    Love this album. Gaga is amazing. Only eight songs but all eight songs are hit songs. Amazing song writing on all songs. Track by track you don't get tired of it. One of the best EP album. The Fame was an amazing album and she came back with the Fame Monster another hitmaker album. Her style from the fame change but still and electro pop rock album.
  43. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    Whether you're a fan of GaGa's "very" crazy lifestyle or not, you gotta note the girl's creativity. The Fame Monster is not God's gift to pop music, but it certainly is one of the genre's most flattering attempts. "Bad Romance" is the album's highly addictive lead single that heavily borrows from gothic industrial. "Alejandro", "Monster", and "Dance in the Dark" are no doubt, some of theWhether you're a fan of GaGa's "very" crazy lifestyle or not, you gotta note the girl's creativity. The Fame Monster is not God's gift to pop music, but it certainly is one of the genre's most flattering attempts. "Bad Romance" is the album's highly addictive lead single that heavily borrows from gothic industrial. "Alejandro", "Monster", and "Dance in the Dark" are no doubt, some of the greatest entries in GaGa's career. "Speechless" is a bit overrated, but it is definitely a flattering power ballad that spotlights GaGa's powerful vocal chords and piano skills. "So Happy I Could Die" and "Teeth" are the album's weaker tracks, being less creative than the previous tracks. So while The Fame Monster is not the greatest pop album, it certainly gives us an idea of who Lady GaGa exactly is, and keeps us interested in what's coming next. Expand
  44. May 31, 2011
    8
    The Fame Monster isn't perfect, but it's arguably one of the finest pop albums in recent years. It's certainly more handsomely produced, varied, and even darker than The Fame; influences ranging between '80s dance pop to Gothic industrial. Every track has its own unique twists and are undeniably catchy at that. Its standout tracks are "Bad Romance" and "Dance In The Dark", which bothThe Fame Monster isn't perfect, but it's arguably one of the finest pop albums in recent years. It's certainly more handsomely produced, varied, and even darker than The Fame; influences ranging between '80s dance pop to Gothic industrial. Every track has its own unique twists and are undeniably catchy at that. Its standout tracks are "Bad Romance" and "Dance In The Dark", which both heavily rely on industrial. However, its weakest track is its outro, "Teeth", which is just dull and uninspiring altogether, unlike the rest of the tracks. Expand
  45. Oct 8, 2011
    8
    Lady Gaga's surprisingly quick ascent to the top of the pop charts was followed shortly thereafter with the release of "The Fame Monster" an EP that is sold as a standalone 8-track CD or in the Deluxe version which packs in the original "The Fame" album.

    The whole point of this album, as Gaga explained it, was to address her fears. With that in mind, it's a wonder that the album is
    Lady Gaga's surprisingly quick ascent to the top of the pop charts was followed shortly thereafter with the release of "The Fame Monster" an EP that is sold as a standalone 8-track CD or in the Deluxe version which packs in the original "The Fame" album.

    The whole point of this album, as Gaga explained it, was to address her fears. With that in mind, it's a wonder that the album is overall very upbeat and dance-oriented. A fear of being in love fashions itself into the killer lead single, "Bad Romance", while fears of sex and abuse manifested into "Alejandro" and the Eurodisco sounds of "Dance in the Dark", respectively. Produced and co-written almost exclusively with RedOne, the tracks focus more on synths and programmed instruments than the last album did. However, fans of the older sound are in for a treat when it comes to "Speechless". Gaga wrote this track for her father to convince him to get an open-heart surgery, and she wrote it as a fear of losing the one she loves to the cruel fate of death.

    "The Fame Monster" does a decent job of eliminating what might be considered filler material, but that doesn't stop "Teeth" from awkwardly Southern-foot-stomping the album to a hault with its repetitive strums and melody-lacking lyrics.

    Overall, it's a welcome addition to "The Fame" although having a few more tracks (and axing "Teeth") would have made it all the more welcome.
    Expand
  46. May 25, 2012
    7
    This is better than her first album. The songs in this album has impact, which I want to have in her songs. The songs are very catchy just like her first album. A great album, overall.
  47. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    This is Gaga's best album to date. Other than "Monster", which is poorly written, and "Speechless", which is just simply boring, every song is a winner. "Alejandro" became my favorite song of hers the first time I heard it, before it was even announced as a single.
  48. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    I am a Lady Gaga fan and I enjoyed this album. But, there could of been more songs on there. It only takes about a little less than twenty minutes to listen to all the songs. And sometimes I feel disapointed because a lot of her lyrics are just dark profanity.
  49. Aug 11, 2011
    8
    You could look at THE FAME MONSTER as an extended re-do of Gaga's debut THE FAME or an entirely stand-alone extended play. Either way, it's Lady Gaga's best work yet.
  50. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    Here we see Lady Gaga in new light as opposed to "The Fame". Where "The Fame" highlighted on a fun, pop sound. "The Fame Monster" EP gives a new perspective on the reality of "The Fame". Drawing inspirations from different styles and melodies, she reminds us that not all catchy music has to be cliche. Lyrically, the EP has a grotesque atmosphere that combines well with the darker toneHere we see Lady Gaga in new light as opposed to "The Fame". Where "The Fame" highlighted on a fun, pop sound. "The Fame Monster" EP gives a new perspective on the reality of "The Fame". Drawing inspirations from different styles and melodies, she reminds us that not all catchy music has to be cliche. Lyrically, the EP has a grotesque atmosphere that combines well with the darker tone while keeping an attractive sound. Where at a few points it may lack depth, it still triumphs over many other modern pop sensations. Expand
  51. Dec 13, 2015
    10
    Um dos melhores albuns pop da história sem dúvidas, brilhante, extremamente bem produzido e escrito, é um resumo completo do por quê Lady Gaga é a melhor e mais talentosa de sua geração, destaque para: Bad Romance, Speechless, Monster e Dance in The Dark
  52. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    *UPDATED REVIEW* Lady's Gaga's The Fame Monster is filled with dark and catchy mainstream pop tunes filled with originality and always a joy to listen to.
  53. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    The best thing about this is that it sounds like the fame. 5 out of the 8 tracks follow in bad romance's footsteps in being danceable and addictive. Dance in the dark is ok but the other two, speech and teeth are rubbish in my opinion but I suppose they are right up the 'little monsters' street. If you loved the fame then you will love this. Another great record from Gaga.
  54. Sep 22, 2016
    10
    After sitting and listening to this record for the 7485th time, I must say I believe it is one of the best pop records ever. Songs with a heartbeat. Hard to find nowadays in music. Especially pop. Bravo Gaga.
    SONGS DISLIKED: 0
    SONGS IDK ABOUT: 0
    SONGS LIKED: 8 (favs: Speechless, Dance in the Dark, So Happy I Could Die, Bad Romance)
  55. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    This album sounds great and is good! It's not innovative or revolutionary, but is good and fresh.
    Speechless and So Happy I Could Die are great! The best of Lady gaga
  56. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    I liked this album a lot more than her first one, the only big complaint I have is I wish she would've have put more songs on this album. I felt it was way too short. Again, she made great dance/pop songs. No other complaints.
  57. Feb 6, 2017
    9
    Com 8 faixas, o LP "The Fame Monster" seria inicialmente apenas o relançamento de uma edição de luxo do seu bem sucedido "The Fame", mas desde o início Lady Gaga fez questão que o trabalho fosse levado como o seu segundo disco de estúdio. Com pouco mais de 30 minutos de duração, Gaga consegue usar o tempo a seu favor, fazendo deste trabalho um disco com muito mais coesão e a concisão acabaCom 8 faixas, o LP "The Fame Monster" seria inicialmente apenas o relançamento de uma edição de luxo do seu bem sucedido "The Fame", mas desde o início Lady Gaga fez questão que o trabalho fosse levado como o seu segundo disco de estúdio. Com pouco mais de 30 minutos de duração, Gaga consegue usar o tempo a seu favor, fazendo deste trabalho um disco com muito mais coesão e a concisão acaba por ser um elemento que a impede de tropeçar dentro de clichês do gênero.
    Com letras feitas para dominar as pistas e um dance pop conceitual influenciado nitidamente por gigantes como Madonna, Prince, Michael Jackson e David Bowie, Lady Gaga aqui traz letras pessoais e passagens sobre moda e o esteriótipo da fama como algo atroz. A artista que chegou na música pop em meados de 2008 e em 2009 dominava tudo como um furação, tem aqui em seu ápice o despertar, mesmo que em primeiro momento em incerteza e desdém, de o nascimento de uma estrela tão extravagante quanto os seus looks feitos pelo "Haus of Gaga". Com muito mais poder criativo e visão artística que qualquer concorrente da época, ela podia até dividir os charts com as mesmas, mas era de longe a artista mais influente e marcante do pop de sua geração.
    Mesmo que acusada por alguns de copiar o estilo de alguma das estrelas anteriormente citadas, Gaga tem em "The Fame Monster" o poder de intrigar e de unir com o seu produtor RedOne um som bastante original pra época e manter o lado visual do pop que estava apagado há algum tempo (exemplo disso são seus videoclipes que excedem a barreira comum da época dos 3 ou 4 minutos).
    O EP funciona praticamente bem por inteiro e tudo soaria facilmente como um potencial hit número #1 das paradas. Os destaques ficam pela ótima "Bad Romance" que engole todos os singles de trabalho do "The Fame", além de "Speechless" inspirada pelo rock de seus ídolos Bowie e Queen, "Dance in the Dark" inspirada por "Vogue" da Madonna e "Telephone" que contém a participação muito bem colocada de Beyoncé.
    Expand
  58. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    A great follow-up to The Fame, Gaga has improved everything that was wrong with the first album. The popcorn songs were exchanged for still catchy tunes but with more meaningful lyrics and somber tones, instead of wasting time riding disco sticks and repeating over and over again "Paparazzi".
    The 8 additional songs to The Fame do not exactly engage perfectly with the previous album, but
    A great follow-up to The Fame, Gaga has improved everything that was wrong with the first album. The popcorn songs were exchanged for still catchy tunes but with more meaningful lyrics and somber tones, instead of wasting time riding disco sticks and repeating over and over again "Paparazzi".
    The 8 additional songs to The Fame do not exactly engage perfectly with the previous album, but it is amaziing to see how much the artist developed. The songs aren't exactly lyrical or musical gems (Just dancing tunes with lots of 80s remixes, notable in the song "Dance In The Dark", the best of the bunch) but are definite improvements. "Bad Romance" is an instant classic, "Alejandro" a fun twisted version of Abba's "Fernando", "Monster" an eclectic love song, "Speechless" a Nancy Sinatra homage that works perfectly, "Telephone" an amazing collaboration with Beyoncé (Less exotic but more rythmic than "Video Phone"), and the last two songs, "So Happy I Could Die" and "Teeth" fit perfectly as creepy, disgusting and fantastic songs.
    An improvement, for sure. An album so dark with so many layers of techno-infused pop nostalgia that you are forced to listen again and again, besides its short duration.
    Expand
  59. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Yo compre este album y bueno es menor que su antecesor , pero combina muy bien los sonidos electro, rock y pop. Ademas su contenido lirico de te ha entender los miedos de Gaga y el amor por su musica.
  60. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Lady Gaga returned with her first and Grammy-winning extended play containing hit songs such as "Bad Romance," "Telephone" and "Alejandro." Clearly one of the best EP's I've ever listened to.
  61. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    Beginning with the Gothic industrial dance-pop camp known worldwide as "Bad Romance" ("You and me could write a Bad Romance") and ending with the blasphemous combination of gospel music and S&M-styled double entendre of "Teeth", The Fame Monster has Gaga at her most comfortable: glam pop + lyricism so fool of itself, it's genius ("And in the silence of the night/Through all the tears/AndBeginning with the Gothic industrial dance-pop camp known worldwide as "Bad Romance" ("You and me could write a Bad Romance") and ending with the blasphemous combination of gospel music and S&M-styled double entendre of "Teeth", The Fame Monster has Gaga at her most comfortable: glam pop + lyricism so fool of itself, it's genius ("And in the silence of the night/Through all the tears/And all the lies/I touch myself and it's alright"). Though it's no Like a Prayer by any means or measure, Lady Gaga settles her bare feet in the sands of a moody mixture of electropop and '80s vintage darkwave decorated with half-smart lyricism -- Mother Monster herself describes each song as having its own 'Monster' metaphor for the dark side of fame.

    Besides highlights such as its lead single, the Queen B-featured earworm of a second single "Telephone", and the underrated dance-pop masterpiece "Dance in the Dark", which has a word spoken verse that pays respect to everyone from Judy Garland to Jesus Christ, The Fame Monster overall had the opportunity of having a hit on 7 out of the 8 songs on the EP/mini-album (something tells me "Teeth" wouldn't stand a chance at making it to any radio friendly charts. In my opinion, Born This Way is sonically her greatest album to date, however, The Fame Monster could stand as her safest and most iconic.
    Expand
  62. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    Changing the game with each album. Definitely a darker side to The Fame as what she have described. The Album perfectly comply the title THE FAME MONSTER. It would be difficult to understand in first listen but if we venture into lyrics and the order of the song, the album is near perfection. Just a small step
  63. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Gaga brings out her dark side in "The Fame Monster". The album feature lush and well produced tracks and collaborations. Despite this only being an EP, the quality of each song makes it a fully realized album.
  64. Oct 27, 2016
    10
    Lady Gaga is no cookie cutter plastic pop star in the likes that mainstream is so used to seeing. Her image is edgy and the music on this album is heavy brilliant innovative pop with dark lyrics and powerful messages. Whether at a party or a club, one can't ignore how fast dance floors fill when Gaga's songs come on, but the thing that I love the most about these powerful dance floorLady Gaga is no cookie cutter plastic pop star in the likes that mainstream is so used to seeing. Her image is edgy and the music on this album is heavy brilliant innovative pop with dark lyrics and powerful messages. Whether at a party or a club, one can't ignore how fast dance floors fill when Gaga's songs come on, but the thing that I love the most about these powerful dance floor anthems are the thought process and the meanings behind them. Expand
  65. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Gaga improved with this album since her debut moment. "The Fame Monster" certainly reflects the dark side of fame without making it be nasty. Most recommended songs are "Bad Romance", "Alejandro" and "Dance In The Dark".
  66. Sep 6, 2014
    8
    The Fame Monster é um dos melhores EPs que já existiram. As melodias e as letras são excelentes, tanto que um EP fez um sucesso enorme. É muito criativo e divertido, com músicas que vão ser lembradas para toda a história da música Pop.
  67. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    This album is thirty-five minutes of sheer pop perfection. Dark, original, catchy, and inventive, The Fame Monster was Lady Gaga at her absolute best.
  68. Mar 16, 2015
    7
    Track by track review:
    1. Bad Romance 8.5/10
    2. Alejandro 10/10
    3. Monster 10/10
    4. Speechless 4/10
    5. Dance in the Dark 0.5/10
    6. Telephone 6/10
    7. So Happy I Could Die 10/10
    8. Teeth 10/10

    Highlights: So Happy I Could Die, Monster, Teeth, Alejandro, Bad Romance.
    Potential singles: Bad Romance, Dance in the Dark, Monster, Telephone.
  69. May 10, 2015
    10
    As radio is still spinning "Paparazzi" from The Fame (2008), The Fame Monster released in Oct. 2009, is another step for Gaga towards super-stardom. On this album, shows a very dark side of Gaga we did not know with the opening of the big hit "Bad Romance". Overall combined with The Fame, it is one of the best albums of All time! Other than "Bad Romance", standout tracks includeAs radio is still spinning "Paparazzi" from The Fame (2008), The Fame Monster released in Oct. 2009, is another step for Gaga towards super-stardom. On this album, shows a very dark side of Gaga we did not know with the opening of the big hit "Bad Romance". Overall combined with The Fame, it is one of the best albums of All time! Other than "Bad Romance", standout tracks include "Alejandro", "Telephone", "Dance in the Dark", "So Happy I Could Die", "Monster" and "Teeth". Expand
  70. Apr 3, 2015
    8
    Easily Lady Gaga's best album. Lady Gaga was way more artistic on this album than she was on The Fame. The production is more creative and Lady Gaga's artistic side is shown more. The lyrics have also improved greatly. This album is an overall B+. Highlights: "Monster", "Telephone", "Dance in the Dark". Worst song: "Alejandro"
  71. Dec 24, 2015
    10
    A qualidade do álbum é inegável. O som está totalmente diferente do álbum debut ''The Fame(que é mais puxado para o lado POP/ELETRÔNICO)''. Aqui, em TFM, experimentamos um som mais pop, Gaga inovou na produção das músicas tanto quanto na letra das mesmas.
    Explorando seus maiores medos, Gaga conseguiu criar um dos álbuns mais relevantes da década.
    BEST SONGS: Alejandro, Telephone, So
    A qualidade do álbum é inegável. O som está totalmente diferente do álbum debut ''The Fame(que é mais puxado para o lado POP/ELETRÔNICO)''. Aqui, em TFM, experimentamos um som mais pop, Gaga inovou na produção das músicas tanto quanto na letra das mesmas.
    Explorando seus maiores medos, Gaga conseguiu criar um dos álbuns mais relevantes da década.

    BEST SONGS: Alejandro, Telephone, So Happy I Could Die
    Expand
  72. Mar 26, 2017
    7
    Dance in the Dark, Bad Romance and So Happy I Could Die are great pop songs, they carry this EP.

    The rest of it is just okay, nothing outstanding, just generic pop music with generic lyrics.
  73. Aug 2, 2015
    7
    No doubt it is a good job. Gaga I managed to follow the quality that I leave you with The Fame, the only downside of this album is that half of the songs are quite commercial and its quality is very loose but very rhythmic.
  74. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    One of the best pop albums of all time, and one of the best albums of the 21st century! The record really benefits from its short length, and Gaga's catchy, sometimes sad and sometimes insidious songwriting really just grabs me, as they did to many more others before. The Fame Monster is a perfect album; a pop album that is artful sans pretentiousness or filler tracks.

    BUY THIS ALBUM
    One of the best pop albums of all time, and one of the best albums of the 21st century! The record really benefits from its short length, and Gaga's catchy, sometimes sad and sometimes insidious songwriting really just grabs me, as they did to many more others before. The Fame Monster is a perfect album; a pop album that is artful sans pretentiousness or filler tracks.

    BUY THIS ALBUM RIGHT NOW! IT IS A MUST HAVE!
    Expand
  75. Oct 10, 2015
    9
    this is the best Lady Gaga's record so far (Oct 2015), it is very dark with great lyrics that experiment with the monsters of fame, relationships, sex, friends, etc,.
    Bad Romance is a 10/10 the dark synth/electro/pop beat is amazing so is the chorus & lyrics
    Alejandro 8/10 dark and catchy Monster 9/10 Speechless 10/10 pop/rock ballad and wow Gaga's voice Dance In the Dark 10/10
    this is the best Lady Gaga's record so far (Oct 2015), it is very dark with great lyrics that experiment with the monsters of fame, relationships, sex, friends, etc,.
    Bad Romance is a 10/10 the dark synth/electro/pop beat is amazing so is the chorus & lyrics
    Alejandro 8/10 dark and catchy
    Monster 9/10
    Speechless 10/10 pop/rock ballad and wow Gaga's voice
    Dance In the Dark 10/10 fearless & timeless song, really dark dance song should be single.
    Telephone 8/10 video of the decade? yeah.
    So Happy I Could Die 8/10 amazing beats
    Teeth 8/10
    Expand
  76. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    This album is undoubtedly one of the best of Lady Gaga, it demonstrates how talented she is . The Fame Monster is an epic album with great songs like Bad Romance, Dance In The Dark, Alejandro and others.
  77. Nov 8, 2015
    10
    MELHOR ALBUM JÁ FEITO EM TODOS OS TEMPOS, GAGA RAINHA E DESTROI TODAS AS SUAS FAVS A,K,A GODDESS OF THE WORLD E SE TA ACHANO RUIM VAI OUVIR O LIXO DO TEENAGE DREAM
  78. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    I love this album because of course, I am a huge fan of Lady Gaga. I love all of the songs on the album. I like "Bad Romance", "Dance in the Dark", "Telephone", "Monster", and all the other songs. I also love The Fame and Artpop.
  79. Dec 28, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Fame Monster é um EP excelente. Aqui, Gaga mostra o "monstro da fama", com as 7 primeiras músicas espetaculares. A oitava aka Teeth é bem ruim, mas não distoa a qualidade do material. Provavelmente o melhor trabalho da Lady Gaga.

    Pontos altos: Telephone, Monster, Spechless
    Ponto baixo: Teeth
    Expand
  80. Jan 29, 2016
    10
    Just 8 songs but everyone wonderful representing one kind of fear. Absolutely better than the first one 'The Fame'
    The best songs Bad Romance, Speechless, Dance In The Dark
  81. Sep 3, 2016
    10
    The Pop definition on itself. The best album of the genre in this century. The songs are so catchy and the lyrics are beyond meaningful and metaphorical. Just the Hitchcock's references in the Iconic Ultra Hit Bad romance are art on words. The Fame Monster is more than worth to listen to, but enjoyable and a trip to the dark and adorable of what Pop Music can give to us. Gaga Rocks!!!
  82. Feb 6, 2016
    10
    this is a bible this is a bible this is a bible this is a bible this is a bible this is a bible this is a bible this is a bible this is a bible this is a bible
  83. Feb 29, 2016
    10
    One of the most innovative and impressive albums to come out in this era of music. No musician has been able to capture all our attention and impress us with such interesting lyricism and bold vocals. Bad Romance is the most popular song on the album and the best.
  84. Apr 4, 2016
    9
    To this day, the endlessly catchy hooks and at times deep, cutting lyrics run effortlessly through my mind. A true modern pop classic that earned its place in music history and truly managed to define the transition of the decades into the new era.
  85. Apr 27, 2016
    8
    Her second album after the "welcome to the pop" scene with The Fame. Great songs, infectious melodies, really pop music. Gaga proved she has come to stay.
  86. May 6, 2016
    9
    The Fame Monster is Lady Gaga's best album to date. Each song is unique, the production and the writing are great and you cannot help but to sing along to these iconic hits, like Bad Romance or Telephone.
    Her contemporaries should take notes. This is music. This is art.
  87. Nov 27, 2016
    10
    Biggest pop masterpiece of 2000s, it's still undeniable after seven years. Also Bad Romance is still the biggest pop song of this decade. I still listen to TFM, it's never old-fashioned.
  88. Sep 11, 2016
    9
    amazing,strong,quality,powerful and the fame that describes that album, hits like bad romance, alejandro,papparazi and telephone makes this a masterpiece her best album ever and so far
  89. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    This album redefined pop culture forever, truly an iconic/classic timeless album & will remain one of Gaga's most critically acclaimed albums! The way she ran the industry with this album is impressing.
  90. Sep 17, 2016
    10
    Gaga Reinveta el Pop con este álbum, sin duda esta chica a dejado un legado con pistas bailables las cuales te hacen experimentar un sin fin de emociones si eres admirador de la buena música pop.
  91. Oct 19, 2016
    10
    The Fame Monster was the focal point in Lady Gaga's career. Bad Romance is one of the best songs in HISTORY, and it made history too when it became the first DIAMOND certified song by a female artist ever! Highlights of this album are Alejandro, Telephone, Dance In The Dark, Monster, and of course, Bad Romance. An astounding album, 10/10.
  92. Oct 24, 2016
    10
    A wonderful album! A wonderful artist! Every album released, his talent and his legacy growing and most respected. This only tends to grow. Each person chooses his own Queen, Lady Gaga for me is the true queen of pop.
  93. Oct 22, 2016
    10
    It is a very strong album and very very good vocals. I'm in love with this album and Lady Gaga.I mean she changed the pop music standarts. She is a living legend I adore her.
  94. Oct 23, 2016
    10
    Com certeza esse álbum foi um dos melhores que o pop teve prazer em conhecer, peca um pouco na profundidade das letras, mas mesmo assim, Lady Gaga com apenas 1 ano de estouro, traz inúmeras insinuações e metáforas. Com uma música de abertura PERFEITA, que junta criatividade, vocais, efeitos e até marketing em uma música só, Bad Romance é digno de um 11, sozinha. Dance in the Dark, um popCom certeza esse álbum foi um dos melhores que o pop teve prazer em conhecer, peca um pouco na profundidade das letras, mas mesmo assim, Lady Gaga com apenas 1 ano de estouro, traz inúmeras insinuações e metáforas. Com uma música de abertura PERFEITA, que junta criatividade, vocais, efeitos e até marketing em uma música só, Bad Romance é digno de um 11, sozinha. Dance in the Dark, um pop marcado pela influência das outras décadas, indicado ao Grammy, uma das maiores faixas do álbum. Lady Gaga mesmo arriscando em Teeth, ainda deixa com aquela sensação gostosa. Muito bom, muito 10!!! Expand
  95. Oct 24, 2016
    9
    The greatest album in history, all the songs are a masterpiece. Bad Romance is the millenium hit and I love it, thanks for create it, thanks for make me brave
  96. Oct 25, 2016
    10
    It may be quite short, but its quality is beyond amazing!!! With songs like "Bad Romance", "Alejandro" and "So Happy I Could Die", this is one of the greatest albums of all time!
  97. Oct 25, 2016
    10
    Bible of pop music.Its one of the best albums of the decade and the most crazy and soulful projects in pop music. I cant think of party without thinking about of some ofthe hits this albums has
  98. Feb 6, 2017
    10
    This is a pop masterpiece containing probably the best pop songs of the decade. You got "Bad Romance" that drives the whole world crazy. A duet with Beyonce "Telephone" and the gem "Alejandro". "Monster" is also a strong cut on this LP. Only in this EP, she does not include any filler and every song is worthwhile listening to. 10.
  99. Feb 15, 2017
    10
    Not for nothing this jewel is considered a Bible of the Pop !!! With this album Gaga came to revolutionize an industry and genre that since 2006 was dying, The Fame was his coming and The Fame Monster his word.

    Not only the way to do Pop music, but also the message you give in songs, music videos, presentations. That's The Fame Monster, how to get back to Pop something with soul, sense,
    Not for nothing this jewel is considered a Bible of the Pop !!! With this album Gaga came to revolutionize an industry and genre that since 2006 was dying, The Fame was his coming and The Fame Monster his word.

    Not only the way to do Pop music, but also the message you give in songs, music videos, presentations. That's The Fame Monster, how to get back to Pop something with soul, sense, art, make it yours.
    Expand
  100. Feb 23, 2017
    10
    lol amazing.............................................................................................................................................
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 88
    Not only does this new song cycle retain the Euro-tastic sheen of its predecessor, it outdoes it in sheer dance-floor whump.
  2. Only after being overwhelmed by the sheer visibility of her warp-speed relaunch did I realize how enjoyable and inescapable her hooks and snatches had turned out to be.
  3. In her music videos and live shows over the past year, Gaga has worked hard to demonstrate her creative ambition and stylistic range, and that project continues on The Fame Monster.