The Inspiration

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Dec 12, 2006
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnDoe
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    I think that this cd is rockin all cars,houses and clubs. It dont matter what song on his cd i can relate to it cuz what he is saying on any song is real.I think he is a mastermind at punchlines 2. The beats r a bump u b rockin ya head to i say atleast, 13/16 songs.If yall think jeezy sucks then go cop the album, listen to it, then u try to make a cd were the people of the USA be feelin I think that this cd is rockin all cars,houses and clubs. It dont matter what song on his cd i can relate to it cuz what he is saying on any song is real.I think he is a mastermind at punchlines 2. The beats r a bump u b rockin ya head to i say atleast, 13/16 songs.If yall think jeezy sucks then go cop the album, listen to it, then u try to make a cd were the people of the USA be feelin 16/16 songs. Expand
  2. cHRISg
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    indeed it's as hard as the first one. and whoever rated that shit 6.9 need to go listen to that shit again and smack they damn self, then apologize for not having a better reason to hate..(well there's realy no justification for doing that shit either) See Gutta...Raleigh North Carolina.. Hit me on myspace Jeezy...send ya boi See Gutta a shoutout nigga!!!!
  3. DeSeanJ.
    Dec 26, 2006
    7
    This album is tite! Me and my cal boys bump our heads to this song! Gotta lov tha beat and tha production on this gangstz album! As for me, I am on metacritic now bees, so I promise not to drop any mo' passes cuz I'm game gonna get tite! Lov Jeezy's prodo. If I do drop passes, I just might transfer but I won't cuz I get playing tiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiime! I ain't This album is tite! Me and my cal boys bump our heads to this song! Gotta lov tha beat and tha production on this gangstz album! As for me, I am on metacritic now bees, so I promise not to drop any mo' passes cuz I'm game gonna get tite! Lov Jeezy's prodo. If I do drop passes, I just might transfer but I won't cuz I get playing tiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiime! I ain't no Freddie Mitchell, and I won't hatin' on USC anymore cuz I score touchdowns while I wait for Longshore's bitch ass to throw me the ball! Expand
  4. NickL
    Jan 1, 2007
    8
    I wouldn't call it a great album by any means but it is very good. The songs are catchy, the beats are out of control and the lyrics are as clever as always.
  5. DennisT
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    This is probably one of the best albums jeezy is going to. Not the best but one of the best.
  6. jabrouid
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Jeezy misses the sophmore jinx!!!!! The album is hott. Better than the 1t
  7. VictoraB
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    This shit was excilent!!!!!!
  8. xaviers
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    Jeezy shows alot of maturity on this album!!! Yeeeeahhhhhhh, AAAAyyyyyyeee!!!!
  9. MichaelK
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    Jeezy certainly has matured, all of you that gave him a 0 have no respect for Southern Rap. That having been said, I'm from the east coast. Go buy some G u Not sht.
  10. theboss
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    this album is the best so all u hatin on jeezy need 2 back off!! ya dig!!!
  11. jasinr
    Jan 23, 2007
    9
    the inspiration is great album from jeezy..i liked it so much beacause he really focused on his personal life and not a bunch of b.s. his deepest songs coming from 'the realest' and 'bury me a g' and a personal one with 'dreamin'..some people may complain that he only had 16 songs..it was about his whole life so 16 songs is more than enough..one thing is he the inspiration is great album from jeezy..i liked it so much beacause he really focused on his personal life and not a bunch of b.s. his deepest songs coming from 'the realest' and 'bury me a g' and a personal one with 'dreamin'..some people may complain that he only had 16 songs..it was about his whole life so 16 songs is more than enough..one thing is he talked about being a little gagster in about every song on the album, about his mothers drug problems, him selling drugs, etc. but if i had that upbrining and made it out.hell i would talk about 24/7 HAHA great album jeezy Expand
  12. BrettS.
    Dec 26, 2006
    7
    You know, Jeezy must be pretty good. He keeps real simple, and can inspire with the best of them while partying it up. It is very danceable and I can dance to it! And my brain doesn't have to pay attention to any of the lyrics. Gooooo Jeezy!
  13. JeromeT
    Dec 26, 2006
    8
    The dude is a good artist. I like his flow, message, and he speaks from the heart. He tries, and he's better than most of the rappers out there. I'm not hating on a brotha for trying to make a lil money, and he is a real dude who speaks from the heart. He is okay in my book.
  14. KevinP.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    This album is hot! I love it.
  15. JustinM
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    I love this album!
  16. Sep 21, 2016
    8
    Another good album by Young Jeezy who definitely is a trap star, the beats are dope, the LP is consistant and cohesive and Young Jeezy's gruff voice and dope dealing rhymes are as good as they can be. He is definitely not a lyricist but his charisma, baritone voice and excellent trap beats make this album a must have for trap fans.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Jeezy has a competent flow, good breath control, plenty of hot beats and all-star guests, and yet this album really is a sequel to "101" in all but name because it picks up where the last one left off without even trying to differentiate between the two.
  2. Jeezy does little to make this disc different from Let's Get It.
  3. Billboard
    70
    His lyrics have matured past coke-slinging to the drug's effect on his life. [16 Dec 2006]