User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 502 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 502

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2011
    3
    How far can a great band fall? I must have listened to The Bends hundreds of times and OK Computer, thousands. Since those two strokes of brilliance, Radiohead has slowly descended into a melody-free, experimental, electronic haze that not only fails to rock but fails to amuse. I just looked at how many songs I've kept (did not delete) from their last five albums: 6,5,5,4,3,0). Most of those are tracks I rarely listen to. Well, Thom and company have just notched another zero. This album, like the last few is a lazy, soulless, electronic mess. Buzzes, clicks, digital bass lines and sparse clicks that don't amount to music. If you loved the band I once did, don't listen to this. Save your memories of better times. If you want to hear the mood Radiohead is going for done musically, Listen to PJ Harvey's new album, Let England Shake. I miss you, Radiohead. RIP. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    3
    To be quite frank, this album doesn't deserve the scores its getting. The only reason it's getting such high scores is because of the name the band has. Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of the band. My favorite albums easily include OK Computer and The Bends. But honestly, this album is pretty much crap. The first seconds of Bloom was interesting and melodic, but that's where all the good stuff ended. The rest of the album is filled with hipster experimental electronica, and stupidly mumbled vocals such as "Good Morning Mr. Magpie, how are we today." There's no soul, no melody, no groove, no feeling or emotion. Someone hipster might say "you don't get the music man" but trust me: I do. This is easily Radiohead's worst album. If another band besides Radiohead came out with the same exact album, it would get much lower ratings, and thats the truth. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    2
    Upon listening to the album in its entirety 6-7 times now, i can place my hand on my heart and say that this album is now worse than Pablo Honey. Too short, too one dimensional and tedious. Its fine to have this sound for a couple of tracks but 8 tracks, too much. I lost interest in the album by the time it ended. I feel ripped off with this album. Just hoping there's a Part 2.
  4. Feb 19, 2011
    0
    There's NO hint of underlying melody buried beneath the rubble of inanimate production behind, in front, and to the sides of "The King of Limbs": it's an aimless series of soulless, tacky, lounge ambience - at it's best, recalling ambient-era Moby ("Bloom"). The rhythm section cannot be the combined effort and participation of humans - it sounds way too stupid and clunky - there are steady, obvious climbs and falls in the bass and drums, and African beats; resonating nothing. The only songs worth mention, "Little by Little," "Codex," and "Give Up the Ghost," are slight, near good accomplishments of some structured fashion. "Give Up the Ghost" is warm - tinged with a subtle 70's AM pop easiness - almost folky. "Codex" is the nicely written, if not the best song here - invoking some pleasant imagery, and a dynamic mood, with the slight bit of melancholy. "Codex" could serve easily as a b-side to "Pyramid Song." "In Rainbows" was the embodiment of Radiohead's pursuit of cerebral alternative rock in a minimalist, hyper-melodic, 3-minute structure.They've depreciated since, if not forever. I've listened to this album intimately - in my room, for six hours straight - hoping to God I hear it - I've yet to register a thing. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It doesn't sound like a Radiohead album it sounds more like Thom Yorke as soloist, the result is boring, predictable, their weakest album since Pablo Honey Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    1
    I have every Radiohead album and this is easily the most disappointing. I guess I'm a fan of their earlier stuff because I miss the sound of Pablo Honey, OK Computer and The Bends. Everything after the first three became very unemotional and lifeless to me. I hate wasting money on music I can't even enjoy listening to.
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    3
    If this were a Thom Yorke project, I'd say it's his most accomplished work to date. As a Radiohead album, however, it ranks just above "Pablo Honey." Flabby, indulgent stuff.
  8. Feb 19, 2011
    2
    Codex and Lotus are average at best, the rest of the album sounds like filler for a solo album. Musically its a side step for a band capable of offering so much more. This album leaves most fans thirsty and hungry for more. Whilst disappointing to have only 8 tracks Radiohead maybe holding a trick up its sleeve (Part 2???), however, as we are learning Radiohead are wanting to be different. Only for die hard fans who'd think the sound of Thom Yorke blowing his nose would class this offering as a masterpiece. Expand
  9. Feb 22, 2011
    3
    Why do they feel the need of constant radical innovation, instead of building upon what they have already achieved and work for perfection, with some gradual incorporation of new ideas? Why not build on the phenomenal OK, Computer and stand tall and strong instead of being shaky and confused in unchartered waters with each new album?

    Experiments in sound-sculpting, texturing,
    sound-scapes, mixing all types of musical styles -- from Penderecki and Terry Reilly to Krautrock to Post-rock and god knows what else -- all that and even more, but no, not much music in this album, nothing expressive (except for endless gloom), nothing that matters. Reminds of Kid A and Amnesiac (which I love) but doesn't even get close to those. A side experiment, a joke maybe, a teaser... No, no, and no. Expand
  10. Feb 22, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Disappointing album, to much influence by flying lotus, where´s the rock? if you have to listen "The Kings Of Limbs" several times to like it, it´s not a very good sign to consider a good album. The same sound of the last couples of radiohead´s albums. Expand
  11. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    If there was ever an album that was created to cure insomnia, this would be it. A soulless effort from a band that has so many talents, too bad it was wasted on incessant beats. A great disappointment.
  12. Feb 25, 2011
    1
    Nausea-inducing trash that people force themselves like just because its radiohead. This is yet another step in the wrong direction for band that was evolving quite well up until the last few albums. I've already seen some people who genuinely hated this album after first listen, but have slowly but surely changed their minds based on critics' overrating of this album.
  13. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    AWFUL Album!!! For a band called by critics revolutionary, Radiohead became very repetitive in the last 4 records. Any review of this new album could be used for the previews ones. The drum-n-beat is the same. The dark mood is the same. The lack of creativity is the same. For a band that gave us "The Bends", "OK Computer" and "Amnesiac", this album is extremely disapointing and must be inserted as a b-sides collection. If a had a chance to tell them I will say "It´s time to renovate or Radiohead will be live in the shadows of the past". Expand
  14. Feb 26, 2011
    4
    On first listen I quite enjoyed this album. However, it really doesn't hold up well on repeated listens. What i shocking for me that there is really only one track- Codex - that induces or even attempts to induce a strong EMOTIONAL response from the listener. This from the band that gave as the emotional tour de forces of OK Computer, The Bends, and even Kid A/In Rainbows.

    I give it
    four stars as I can appreciate the technical elements of the music. And there are some interesting sounds and rhythmic structures going on in some of the songs. But art such as this, that elicits purely an intellectual response, is not really art at all. I like the Radiohead that writes music that makes you feel alive with anger, sadness or even hope. This doesn't need to "safe" music. No surprises, Paranoid Android, Lucky etc, were not safe, unoriginal songs. But they were great songs. Nothing on here compares. Expand
  15. Mar 4, 2011
    3
    Ok, guys, where's the real album you've kept so many of us waiting for many years??? In a couple of months, you'll release the innovative, mind bending, musical masterpiece and this whole "King of Limbs" business will just be a prank played on devoted listeners, right? Please tell me this underachieving pile of musical and lyrical mediocrity (mediocre for Radiohead) is just a mirage in the shape of a Fourtet of Flying Lotuses. Anyone who rates this a 10 is putting this album up with their best. Please don't do that. Expand
  16. Mar 4, 2011
    2
    I'm surprised so many people like this album. It doesn't sound like it was made or recorded as (or even by) a full band. Fragmented ideas layered together by somewhat interesting rhythms but unfortunately lacking in all other areas, especially in melody. They can't all be gems I suppose.
  17. Mar 10, 2011
    1
    Ok, Look, This record sucks and I love Radiohead, I loved In Rainbows, Kid A, Ok Comp and even Amnesiac & Hail to the thief had it's moments. I didn't care for Pablo Honey but's that's the only one until now. This sounds like a delux edition Amnesiac with 8 bonus never released tracks. I promise & I mean promise 97% of you will NOT be listening to this say 2 or more months from and not a damn one of are going to put this even near the top of your Favorite RH records. This seems like a Thom only record with a few helping hands from the rest of the band. What a shame. Expand
  18. Oct 3, 2011
    4
    I cannot write this review without using the word â
  19. Apr 7, 2011
    3
    Radiohead's creative process on this infuriatingly anemic album: 1. Have our fans liked this before? If yes, cut it. 2. Melody has to be either terrible or absent on at least half the album. 3. It should sound like a single, kind of like Airbag, but without any single. Just B-sides. 4. The average number of band members present on any given song should be 1.6, and drummer-boy doesn't even need to show up since we're going to digitize it. 5. Speaking of digital, we can put half the songs on repeat after 8 seconds of taps and ticks. 6. Taps and ticks are still awesome, even though we were talking in that language years ago. 7. Whereas 'Kid A' sounded like it was 10 years ahead of its time, this should sound like the filler we deleted from 'Kid A'. 8. Love the "Don't hurt me / Don't haunt me" part. Let's put it on repeat so the song sounds less beautiful sooner. 9. We usually close an album with a killer song. Let's stop that. 10. Oh good call. Let's stop making killer songs altogether. This is audio anorexia! Expand
  20. Apr 5, 2011
    4
    Radiohead keeps moving farther and farther away from mainstream music, but in my opinion they went a little too far this time. Its hard to find a chorus never mind something you can hum along to. In fact its hard to determine when they are even mumbling about because the instruments are too loud. As a causul fan The King of Limbs is a disappointment.
  21. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    This album is so bad its unlistenable. Once is enough for me and i love Radiohead but then again, i dont listen to KId A either. Crap is crap people. If its good i will come back for more. Until then im donating this CD to the salvation army for some poor unsuspecting punter to try and figure out what the hell is going on through his headphones.
  22. Mar 27, 2011
    3
    Extremely disappointing IMO. Separator is a great song and by far superior to any of the others songs. I'm a big fan of just about everything they have created, but most of the album sounds like leftovers from In-Rainbows.
  23. Apr 4, 2011
    2
    After a slow slow from OK Computer, one of the great albums of all time, I thought Radiohead got back on track with Rainbows. Unfortunately, the slide has turned into a dull head over heals tumble. This album is a soulless dirge. I never thought I'd say this of a Radiohead album, but I hated this album.
  24. Apr 8, 2011
    4
    I'm still waiting for a Radiohead album I can listen to in it's entirety without getting bored. King of Limbs is not that album. I can appreciate that the band wants to be non-commercial and experimental, but that doesn't really translate into easy listening.
    The first few songs are tolerable, listenable, but with the exception of Lotus Flower none of it really moves me
  25. Jun 6, 2011
    4
    there seems to be 2 opposing sides to this album. 1. "like the bends, this is crap" 2."i think other people dont understand art, this is genius" im here to represent side three i like ALL radiohead albums. i get the strange ones well enough amnesiac is probably my favourite one!!! its jawdropping after that being said.. this is quite a poor effort.. u cant compare this one seriously to any radiohead album and say this is better! excluding pablo honey of course...
    but its probably the same level as pablo honey.. albeit being utterly different
    its dull, too minimalist. uneventfull. and half of the songs are not new at all!
    it sounds like radiohead are at the end of their creativity... im sorry. but its true
    Expand
  26. May 22, 2011
    2
    It always feel like an eternity waiting for the next Radiohead album. One of my favorite bands in the last 10 years. Upon listening to this album, I'm sad to report the wait was not worth it. Sometimes albums from them like Kid A, Amnesiac, ect. Take several listens, and eventually I love them. I fear this album will never grow on me. As most people have said this has got to be more of a solo effort then one coming from a great band. Some great ideas half baked like Lotus Flower. Oh well they can't all be gold. Expand
  27. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    It's rich with layering of different very intriguing sounds, and Thom Yorke is back here with some of his most stellar vocals to date, but this is one of the most repetitive albums ever... ever. Come on Radiohead. We get this thing after In Rainbows?
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    80
    There's just incredible depth to The King Of Limbs, and if you're impatient, you'll miss it.
  2. May 24, 2011
    80
    It's been a long time since Radiohead made records with an eye toward anything more than satisfying the band's own creative impulses, if it ever did. Those who are prepared to stick it out, though, may well find The King of Limbs worth the wait.
  3. May 16, 2011
    60
    They've delivered their biggest surprise to date. A record that falls short for its constituent parts. [May 2011, p.100]