The King of Limbs

  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2011
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 668 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 668

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Radiohead, under the gun of expectation, have not disappointed with their eighth studio album "The King of Limbs." The title itself is provocative of something large, and even the album cover hints as well. The King of Limbs is very drum heavy, which is somewhat of a step away from their usual routine, but still manages to resonate the true Radiohead frequencies. One thing that sticks outRadiohead, under the gun of expectation, have not disappointed with their eighth studio album "The King of Limbs." The title itself is provocative of something large, and even the album cover hints as well. The King of Limbs is very drum heavy, which is somewhat of a step away from their usual routine, but still manages to resonate the true Radiohead frequencies. One thing that sticks out is the evident direction with which Radiohead seems to be tending. This album leans toward a modern classical direction. This may be due to leader Thom Yorke's infatuation with dubstep and certain electronic music. On the other hand, the band still keeps its grounding, with Johnny Greenwood's haunting keyboards, and Colin's bass driving the beats of Phil Selway's lathered drum section. The King of Limbs is very beat heavy, with Thom using his voice to complement the aura surrounding the left and right that make up the production of Nigel Godrich. There is a different Radiohead in every one of the eight songs on The King of Limbs, with the majority of the tunes relating back to the second set of songs on In Rainbows. Lotus Flower, which has a brilliant video concurrently released today, is the awe-inspiring track to The King of Limbs. It contains hints of dubstep, but also plays fairly close to Idioteque. Thom Yorke's vocals on this album as a whole reach high and low, as expected from Radiohead nearly twenty years now. One prolific aspect of this album is the ability Yorke encompasses during his "sliding" of vocals. Yorke, now in his forties, still has the power he had back in 2000's Kid A, and continues to create new avenues to hone and elaborate his use of vocals. Radiohead never ceases to disappoint, and certainly do not do so here. The album is just under forty minutes in length, which is a true disappointment, but I hope the "Newspaper" edition that comes out will contain bonus songs or something of the sort. Radiohead's eighth album The King of Limbs is a knocker with power, force, and a soul to reckon with, the only inhibition the album may experience is its length-challenged state. But this may also be a strength. It may cause a desire for more! Keep the people guessing. They have been keeping the public guessing since way back in September, why stop now? I would also like to strike a chord with the lyric substance in the album. The album contains parts, in its minute state, with little lyrical substance, which, in my opinion, can be disappointing. I will say it now that, the length and lyrical shortcomings may cause a negative stir among the Radiohead fan base. But if you ask me, this album is In Rainbow's antagonist. It takes In Rainbows, and flips it on its side. A new world of music, but keeps the Radiohead vibrations resonating. This album is brilliant. It is no surprise nor expectation fulfilled. It is Radiohead without being typical or predictable. Expand
  2. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    The top gets an 8 and the bottom a 10.

    Sorry for the high score, Radiohead.

    Sorry because I'm pretty sure the band is elated. They know they released an excellent record, meanwhile confounding many of their listeners. Thom et al. now get some respite from the artistically dangerous ass-kissing and groveling.

    Thus, sorry. Your latest rocks, Radiohead.
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    I honestly don't understand the people despairing of a lack of musical hooks in this album... it's chock full of rhythm and melody. If you are after the climactic kind of noise they pulled off in earlier work, then maybe I'd understand your disappointment that is, I'd understand it if this wasn't the same band that released Kid A back in 2000. Radiohead have been a much mellower and moreI honestly don't understand the people despairing of a lack of musical hooks in this album... it's chock full of rhythm and melody. If you are after the climactic kind of noise they pulled off in earlier work, then maybe I'd understand your disappointment that is, I'd understand it if this wasn't the same band that released Kid A back in 2000. Radiohead have been a much mellower and more experimental band for more than a decade now, and they continue down the same avenue of sonic exploration here and it's awesome. The subtle guitars, the electronic wizardry, the bass, and the layers of vocals all contain a wealth of strong, beautiful intertwining melodies; the rhythm section is frequently wonderfully creative and energetic; and the whole album is brought together with a bunch of weird, schizophrenic sonic oddities which are brilliantly encapsulated by the spectral album art. The album does not feel to short; I'd much rather have an album densely packed with great tracks than something sprawling with filler like Hail to the Thief. "Good Morning Mr. Magpie", "Little By Little", "Lotus Flower", and "Give Up The Ghost" are top notch Radiohead tracks; and "Codex" may be among their very best work. I have honestly never been so moved by a song before. As long as you're not allergic to anything which isn't a rock anthem, you'll love this. Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2012
    8
    I stumbled upon this album by accident. It's not one of my favourite genres, but hell, I love it!
    I don't know, something about it is really dark, which I really enjoy. It's nice and light, what with it being under 40 minutes.
    This album and Biophilia are certainly at the top of the Experimental Rock Albums of 2011.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    It's one of their best albums to date, as always, they deliver excellent rock music with their alternative and yet unexpected sounds; not as flawed as "In Rainbows" but surely TKOL deserves its place as the best album from the 2011
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Eerie, dark, and mysterious. This album, as a concept, is fantastic. Picture yourself in a forest, full moon seeping through the tree cover with shadows playing tricks in the corner of your eye. They are still using Pixies influenced loud/quiet dynamics as good as ever, adding layers that you can't hear through a poor quality speaker. You definately need to turn up the volume to understandEerie, dark, and mysterious. This album, as a concept, is fantastic. Picture yourself in a forest, full moon seeping through the tree cover with shadows playing tricks in the corner of your eye. They are still using Pixies influenced loud/quiet dynamics as good as ever, adding layers that you can't hear through a poor quality speaker. You definately need to turn up the volume to understand what they are trying to do with the subtle stabs of jolted sounds and echoed feedback, which accounts for a stunning leveled soundscape. Simply amazing. Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    I'll be honest, I liked The King Of Limbs. It's Radiohead's shortest album to date, and is the least accessible. While The King Of Limbs doesn't tune up at all to "In Rainbows" or "Kid A", it's a great record for dedicated fans. The King Of Limbs is more experimental, and more electronic than it's predecessor. While it doesn't live up to all of it's expectations, The King Of Limbs is stillI'll be honest, I liked The King Of Limbs. It's Radiohead's shortest album to date, and is the least accessible. While The King Of Limbs doesn't tune up at all to "In Rainbows" or "Kid A", it's a great record for dedicated fans. The King Of Limbs is more experimental, and more electronic than it's predecessor. While it doesn't live up to all of it's expectations, The King Of Limbs is still deep, beautiful, and sometimes catchy. Radiohead's new direction in their sound isn't mediocre, but isn't very applicable to newer listeners. Expand
  8. May 16, 2015
    7
    Certainly not the best album they released. It still manages to entertain enough to not classify it as a "bad album", something that Radiohead has never done, but lacks some details that make it a masterpiece.. and not even comparable to even In Rainbows, its predecessor. It feels like there isn't a distinct type of sound that distinguish and characterizes the songs in this new record andCertainly not the best album they released. It still manages to entertain enough to not classify it as a "bad album", something that Radiohead has never done, but lacks some details that make it a masterpiece.. and not even comparable to even In Rainbows, its predecessor. It feels like there isn't a distinct type of sound that distinguish and characterizes the songs in this new record and aside from some tracks (Lotus Flower, Morning Mr.Magpie, Codex) there aren't many memorable tunes that make it stand out. Honestly, despite being still a more than acceptable LP, it's the worst they've put out since their debut Pablo Honey. Expand
  9. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I listened to it once. I wasn't convinced.
    I listened to it twice and I got to track 2 "Morning. Mr Magpie" and I played it about 5 times over before I could even change the song and after listening to it over and over, it became clear.
    Radiohead aren't there to please people they're there to challenge you musically, to test you and this is where there genius is: Every time it's amazing,
    I listened to it once. I wasn't convinced.
    I listened to it twice and I got to track 2 "Morning. Mr Magpie" and I played it about 5 times over before I could even change the song and after listening to it over and over, it became clear.
    Radiohead aren't there to please people they're there to challenge you musically, to test you
    and this is where there genius is: Every time it's amazing, after OK Computer they bought out KID A and it challenged people, but now its ranked next to OK Computer in greatness.
    The King Of Limbs challenged me, but, in the end it won.

    BRILLIANT ALBUM 9/10
    Expand
  10. Apr 17, 2012
    8
    I was originally very disappointed with this but the more I listen to this the more I hear. The TKOL live from the basement recording gave me a different perspective on this record and definitely helped me enjoy it more and has just helped it scrape an 8 instead of a 7. In general, this album suffers a little from the fact that its creators are one of the great bands of theI was originally very disappointed with this but the more I listen to this the more I hear. The TKOL live from the basement recording gave me a different perspective on this record and definitely helped me enjoy it more and has just helped it scrape an 8 instead of a 7. In general, this album suffers a little from the fact that its creators are one of the great bands of the last 20 years and therefore expectations are always high. I still think 8 tracks was too short - but if your going for 8 tracks each one has to be very strong. Here we're looking at 5 top quality tracks, 2 good and 1 filler track (Feral, like Hunting Bears on Amnesiac - wouldn't touch anything else the band have done). In my opinion of course. It would have been nice if we could have got another 2 or 3 tracks, especially as the band have released a handful of other tracks on line since the albums release. The inclusion of those tracks would have made all the difference Expand
  11. Feb 24, 2011
    8
    Slightly melancholy and insightful with interesting hooks (yes, I think there are hooks). If you aren't into melancholy/interesting, you will be disappointed. You'll also be disappointed if you expect Radiohead to make your favorite Radiohead album again. Their albums each have a distinct personality, and this is no exception; in this case, the personality might rub you the wrong way,Slightly melancholy and insightful with interesting hooks (yes, I think there are hooks). If you aren't into melancholy/interesting, you will be disappointed. You'll also be disappointed if you expect Radiohead to make your favorite Radiohead album again. Their albums each have a distinct personality, and this is no exception; in this case, the personality might rub you the wrong way, and that's okay. The more I listen carefully to the tracks the more I appreciate this album's personality. Expand
  12. May 5, 2012
    10
    The best album from Radiohead. Simply AMAZING. It gives you such amazing feelings. The album art is the perfect compliment to the music, which is eerie, driving, colorful, diverse, intense, and powerful all at the time. I can't get enough of this. I love it. Believe it or not, this is the album that got me into Radiohead! I love it dearly. A true gift from the best band there has ever beenThe best album from Radiohead. Simply AMAZING. It gives you such amazing feelings. The album art is the perfect compliment to the music, which is eerie, driving, colorful, diverse, intense, and powerful all at the time. I can't get enough of this. I love it. Believe it or not, this is the album that got me into Radiohead! I love it dearly. A true gift from the best band there has ever been on earth. Expand
  13. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Upon my first listen, i was strangely disappointed. I've stayed up all night listening to it over and over again, and i can now say that it is one of my favorite albums I have heard in a few years. Crooning, emotional and utterly brilliant. As always, their soundscape is as large as the solar system, and it is gorgeous. It is short, sweet and satisfying. worth a few dozen listens. itsUpon my first listen, i was strangely disappointed. I've stayed up all night listening to it over and over again, and i can now say that it is one of my favorite albums I have heard in a few years. Crooning, emotional and utterly brilliant. As always, their soundscape is as large as the solar system, and it is gorgeous. It is short, sweet and satisfying. worth a few dozen listens. its weird, in some ways like kid a, but just like kid a in that its f***ing awesome. Expand
  14. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    It covers familiar ground, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing at all. One of people's major complaints with The King of Limbs is the length, but that's probably my favorite part. By the looks of things, I'm the only person who thinks this, but albums that are more than 45 minutes generally lose my attention, so this 37 minute album keeps me enthralled.
  15. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For most bands, an album like TKOL would be a career high. For Radiohead, it was a friday. It's not an accessible album, like it's predecessor In Rainbows, and is sonically dense. Layers upon layers are carefully peeled back each time you listen through to slowly reveal the true heart of the songs, more of their mystery is unravelled in the accompanying remix album, and even then, months later, some tiny detail that skipped your attention will suddenly become a vital part of the song. I don't expect it to become a general favourite, but for those who are into this kind of thing it is a stunning odyssey through a forest of sonic experimentation, produced carefully enough to hear the individual leaves. Taking that metaphor even further, the album is as varied as the forest itself can be. "Bloom" emerges into a lost world of intricate rhythms and trills of melody, the strange creatures of the woods looking on as you stumble through their world. "Morning Mr Magpie" is a frantic chase through the undergrowth, antagonistic and acussatory. "Little by Little" is far out of sight of civilization, almost leaving behind those "routines and shedules, a drug that kills you" in exchange for the freedom to roam through the ancient trunks and twisted branches of its domain. "Feral" is what trees do at night when you're not looking. As the small hours of the night approach, "Lotus Flower" cavorts in secret glades under moonlight, promising all of nature's secrets. If there is indeed an "empty space inside [your] heart where the weeds take root" then this has the power to "set you free". As the moon sets, the forest lies still and there's "no one around". "Codex" is a slow introspective walk through the trees, reflecting on these secrets. Dawn approaches, and birds in the branches above flit back and forth between branches, oblivious to your presence. Here is where you "Give up the Ghost" and become part of this forest. "Separator" finally burst out from the trunks into full daylight, like waking up from a "long and vivid dream". Retreat into nature is the heart of The King of Limbs and is an interesting counterpoint to earlier albums which dealt with the isolation of life in a high speed urban world. Over the course of their career, they have left this urban paranoia, journeyed through endless suburbia, and finally emerged, free, into the forest. Radiohead sound happy on this album, specifically in closing track "Separator" where Yorke sings "If you think this is over then you're wrong" with guileless joy. Expand
  16. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Its definitely a grower, like all Radioheads album. I found it to be disappointing at first listen, but maybe i was isnt expecting something else. I kept on listening time and time again, and i found that it had a different feel to it. And to be honest, now i will keep on playing it...I just loved it, Lotus flowers and Thom Yorke's dance was futuristic and loveable
  17. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    When the dust finally settles after the metaphorical whirlwind of its release, the 'King of Limbs' will retroactively rearrange the coordinates by which one will come to judge Radiohead's previous work! Many people are trying to make sense of this quite unique record by comparing it with what has gone before. Some have drawn an analogy with 'Amnesiac' (quite reasonably) or Kid AWhen the dust finally settles after the metaphorical whirlwind of its release, the 'King of Limbs' will retroactively rearrange the coordinates by which one will come to judge Radiohead's previous work! Many people are trying to make sense of this quite unique record by comparing it with what has gone before. Some have drawn an analogy with 'Amnesiac' (quite reasonably) or Kid A (understandably), others have seen it as a logical continuation of 'In Rainbows' (a little less understandable) and some others still ( quite inexplicably) have drawn a comparison with 'Hail to the Thief'--quite why, I do not know. This general strategy is an obvious reaction, for it is only through comparing and contrasting what is new against the backdrop of what already circulates that we begin to understand and form opinions. But ultimately, any such endeavour will do violence to what is a quite singular record, with its own peculiar cadence and texture. I advise anyone approaching this record to erase all memory of what has passed and encounter 'The King of Limbs' on its own terms, in the hic et nunc. Once one has allowed each syncopated beat, every pulsating bass note to permeate deep in the consciousness, perhaps then one might, a little more judiciously, be able to evaluate how this record relates to its predecessors. For what it's worth (and I am only on my 7th listen), I think that in the cases of 'Lotus Flower', 'Codex', 'Feral' and 'Separator', we have four songs, for which others exist already within the band's existing corpus, but none of which are as beautifully rendered as on this record. To give two examples. Personally, 'Codex' supplants 'Pyramid Song', 'Sail to the Moon', 'How to Disappear Completely', 'Nude', 'Exit Music (From a Film) as the most achingly gorgeous composition the band has ever put to Stanza. In the example of 'Feral' we have a song which, musically, is far more poised and, existentially, more neurotically charged than say 'Climbing up the Walls', 'The Gloaming' or 'Idioteque'.

    All things considered, 'The King of Limbs', in a subtle and understated way, is a work of refinement, and in this lies its revolutionary appeal. Extraordinary stuff.
    Expand
  18. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    Radiohead have done it again, just like with Kid A, they have managed to piss off a a lot of fans and extend their music to a new sound and almost a new genre. Their new album is dominated by Thom's lyrics and Phil's heavy drum beats and varying electronic effects, with almost no dominant guitar. It sounds much more modern, much more bleak than their other music. But, like all ofRadiohead have done it again, just like with Kid A, they have managed to piss off a a lot of fans and extend their music to a new sound and almost a new genre. Their new album is dominated by Thom's lyrics and Phil's heavy drum beats and varying electronic effects, with almost no dominant guitar. It sounds much more modern, much more bleak than their other music. But, like all of Radiohead's music, its incredibly complex and beautiful. Its a completely new style that you'll be hard pressed to classify but its no worse than their other albums, just different. Expand
  19. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    At a short run time and only 8 tracks, Radiohead has found itself on the middle of a tightrope. They're coming off the heels of the remarkably successful "In Rainbows," cryptically revealing new material that hearkens back to albums prior, and having fans just in reach of having any new material at all. Does that mean that by reaching the end of the tightrope they'll be able to achieve theAt a short run time and only 8 tracks, Radiohead has found itself on the middle of a tightrope. They're coming off the heels of the remarkably successful "In Rainbows," cryptically revealing new material that hearkens back to albums prior, and having fans just in reach of having any new material at all. Does that mean that by reaching the end of the tightrope they'll be able to achieve the fan base they've created? Absolutely not.

    I seem to recall a similar album that had the challenging job to overcome the hugely successful "OK Computer," and wound up in a place of personal reflection and exploration. It was not an album that achieved notoriety upon release and took a good amount of time to realize the intimacy that was "Kid A." Readers, "The King of Limbs" is in the same vein - more experience than normal listening.

    Like the song titles imply, beginning with the magnificently clouded "Bloom," the album tinkers the idea of growth, as I'm sure the album will likely grow upon the listener. With a first half textured with electronic drum beats and soundscapes that sound oftentimes lonely and lost, Radiohead seems to have aimed in a direction of truly finding oneself within the sounds, that is until reaching "Lotus Flower," which is by far the most accessible song on the album. The groove is representative to efforts on "Hail to the Thief," presenting the last half of the album with a greater sense of being found. I wouldn't necessarily call this a concept album, but if there was any way to discover what it is that Radiohead is driving, they've certainly made me want to spend the time searching.

    Radiohead's latest is one that will most certainly be challenging, considering it has to live up to the remarkably successful "In Rainbows." Yet "The King of Limbs" excels in pursuing intimacy in the vein of "Kid A," another album trying to find its voice amidst the huge success of "OK Computer." I'm certainly "The King of Limbs" will find the limbs it needs to grow and become one of Radiohead's considerably better efforts.
    Expand
  20. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    This is a really beautiful album. It ebbs and flows with beautiful melodies and intricate counter rhythms. I've listened to the album twice and as a veteran Radiohead fan, it will take me at least 20 more listens to fully grasp this short, but very interested album. I love their use of horns, which I haven't heard so prevalent since Kid A. I guarantee that 8 tracks isn't the end, I'm sureThis is a really beautiful album. It ebbs and flows with beautiful melodies and intricate counter rhythms. I've listened to the album twice and as a veteran Radiohead fan, it will take me at least 20 more listens to fully grasp this short, but very interested album. I love their use of horns, which I haven't heard so prevalent since Kid A. I guarantee that 8 tracks isn't the end, I'm sure we will hear another 6 to 8 tracks to book-end this well crafted album. To all the quick to judge haters...yes, we know The Bends and OK Computer were AMAZING albums, but they are 17 and 14 years old. Bands change and have to evolve their sounds. Just listen, don't judge. This isn't the **** Rolling Stones, they can't just keep kicking out guitar jams for 40+ years. Expand
  21. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Great Album, grows on you the more you listen to it. I liked Lotus Flower, Give up the Ghost the most. Has a nice haunting flow about it. Thom Yorke as one of the most distinct voices in rock music
  22. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Really like the new album. Been listening to it for the last two days. It opens up little secrets every time you listen to it. For a band continuing with this quality i hope they´ll never stop!
  23. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Great, great album! "The King of Limbs" is unique in comparison with anything else that the band has ever done. The album gets better with every listen, and at this point, is among my favorite Radiohead albums!
  24. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Since user " football !=! " has already said it all I'll just make this short. This is a perfect album coming from a perfect band (in my opinion). I think that Radiohead outdone themselves and the album confirms it. All the songs are brilliantly peaced together, containing brilliant lyrics , and the album itself is just one of the best albums you'll hear in this year (ISince user " football !=! " has already said it all I'll just make this short. This is a perfect album coming from a perfect band (in my opinion). I think that Radiohead outdone themselves and the album confirms it. All the songs are brilliantly peaced together, containing brilliant lyrics , and the album itself is just one of the best albums you'll hear in this year (I hope). To finish this rather short review I say this: "Listen to this album and if you don't like what you're hearing,.... you my son are either deaf, or you've gone completely insane (in a bad way). ;) Expand
  25. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although it feels more like an experiment than an album, it's still Radiohead. Which means it is still made by one of the best bands around. This album just makes me more excited for the next one while being an interesting experiment and a great album all at the same some. In short, Thom Yorke, Johnny Greenwood, and the rest have knocked it out of the park again. Expand
  26. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    While this album did not wow me after a long break the way Kid A did, it had brilliant moments. Codex took my breath away and the rhythmic structure of Lotus is just fun. This album feels like a less melodic continuation of In Rainbows in the same way Amnesiac felt like (and in many senses actually was) a continuation of Kid A. It felt to me, also sort of like Amnesiac, like aWhile this album did not wow me after a long break the way Kid A did, it had brilliant moments. Codex took my breath away and the rhythmic structure of Lotus is just fun. This album feels like a less melodic continuation of In Rainbows in the same way Amnesiac felt like (and in many senses actually was) a continuation of Kid A. It felt to me, also sort of like Amnesiac, like a transitional album. Here, we are moving from the narcotized dreamscapes of In Rainbows to something with a little more bite and muscle. If we can use the history of the band as a guide, these sorts of transitional albums lead to brilliant synthesis albums like Hail to the Thief. I wouldn't be surprised if there was a new album in the next two years that, like Hail to the Thief, smoothly blended the plethora of sounds. I'm betting that that will be the album that changes music in a substantial way. I'm only sorry it wasn't this one. Expand
  27. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Couldn't have at all predicted how this was going to sound, but it sounds beautiful. Strangely organic and electronic. The level of music tech brilliance that's been put into this record is astounding. On a badass pair of speakers it sounds blissful. I've listened to it only a handful of times, but by the second listen through I always already in love. The first song sets the mood for aCouldn't have at all predicted how this was going to sound, but it sounds beautiful. Strangely organic and electronic. The level of music tech brilliance that's been put into this record is astounding. On a badass pair of speakers it sounds blissful. I've listened to it only a handful of times, but by the second listen through I always already in love. The first song sets the mood for a beautiful trip of an album. The last four tracks are pretty amazing, at the moment I can't choose between Codex and Give up the Ghost as my favourite. They never fail to surprise me. If I'm honest I can't see me loving this record (or any other record) as much as In Rainbows, but this is still a great work. Hopefully the fact that this record is so short will mean that another release might not be far off. Could this be a Kid A- Amnesiac type affair? I hope so. When I heard it was only 8 tracks I was a bit disappointed. Nevertheless, it's a very good album. Colin Greenwood seems to be one of the standout features of the album, which is something that hasn't been the case in any of the other albums :L Expand
  28. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Radioheads latest album, "The King of Limbs", is similar to their previous ones, in that it takes several listens to fully appreciate. The first listen reveals that the album, while still quite experimental, isn't the genre redefining "The Bends", "OK Computer", or "Kid A". They instead continue to explore their own musical niche, as they had on their previous two albums, "Hail to theRadioheads latest album, "The King of Limbs", is similar to their previous ones, in that it takes several listens to fully appreciate. The first listen reveals that the album, while still quite experimental, isn't the genre redefining "The Bends", "OK Computer", or "Kid A". They instead continue to explore their own musical niche, as they had on their previous two albums, "Hail to the Thief" and "In Rainbows". The album only contains eight tracks, far less music than fans were hoping for after a four year drought. Yet all of the songs are superbly written, and while some don't strike as all that great at first, they each sound better with each additional listen. In the end, "The King of Limbs" is an excellent addition to the Radiohead canon, but eight tracks doesn't quite quench the thirst of their devoted fans. Expand
  29. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Surprisingly accessible upon first listen, The King of Limbs is another masterpiece from English band Radiohead. The last two tracks close out the album beautifully.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    80
    There's just incredible depth to The King Of Limbs, and if you're impatient, you'll miss it.
  2. May 24, 2011
    80
    It's been a long time since Radiohead made records with an eye toward anything more than satisfying the band's own creative impulses, if it ever did. Those who are prepared to stick it out, though, may well find The King of Limbs worth the wait.
  3. Mojo
    May 16, 2011
    60
    They've delivered their biggest surprise to date. A record that falls short for its constituent parts. [May 2011, p.100]