The King of Limbs

  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2011
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 670 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 670

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    8
    I was originally very disappointed with this but the more I listen to this the more I hear. The TKOL live from the basement recording gave me a different perspective on this record and definitely helped me enjoy it more and has just helped it scrape an 8 instead of a 7. In general, this album suffers a little from the fact that its creators are one of the great bands of theI was originally very disappointed with this but the more I listen to this the more I hear. The TKOL live from the basement recording gave me a different perspective on this record and definitely helped me enjoy it more and has just helped it scrape an 8 instead of a 7. In general, this album suffers a little from the fact that its creators are one of the great bands of the last 20 years and therefore expectations are always high. I still think 8 tracks was too short - but if your going for 8 tracks each one has to be very strong. Here we're looking at 5 top quality tracks, 2 good and 1 filler track (Feral, like Hunting Bears on Amnesiac - wouldn't touch anything else the band have done). In my opinion of course. It would have been nice if we could have got another 2 or 3 tracks, especially as the band have released a handful of other tracks on line since the albums release. The inclusion of those tracks would have made all the difference Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    The King Of Limbs was a bit disappointing the first listen. But I gradually picked up on it a few listens later. I'm not saying this album is a masterpiece like most other Radiohead albums, because it Isn't, but it is nevertheless a good album. It has a few really great tracks and a few not so great. The opener "Bloom" is a not so great song but songs like "Lotus Flower" is a RadioheadThe King Of Limbs was a bit disappointing the first listen. But I gradually picked up on it a few listens later. I'm not saying this album is a masterpiece like most other Radiohead albums, because it Isn't, but it is nevertheless a good album. It has a few really great tracks and a few not so great. The opener "Bloom" is a not so great song but songs like "Lotus Flower" is a Radiohead masterpiece. It's an album you'll either love it or hate it. I personally think Radiohead could've done so much better. It's still a good album though. B Expand
  3. j30
    Jul 20, 2011
    8
    It's a good album from a great band. Probably a disappointment for fans expecting something to branch off In Rainbows. That's just how Radiohead is, they keep you on your toes. You don't know what quite to expect from them. The album will isolate fans like Kid A did (this album is not nearly as good as Kid A). I do recommend giving The Butcher and Staircase a listen, both b-sides from theIt's a good album from a great band. Probably a disappointment for fans expecting something to branch off In Rainbows. That's just how Radiohead is, they keep you on your toes. You don't know what quite to expect from them. The album will isolate fans like Kid A did (this album is not nearly as good as Kid A). I do recommend giving The Butcher and Staircase a listen, both b-sides from the album. It's unfortunate because these tracks didn't make the cut. They could have added some needed depth to the album. Also check out the King of Limbs From the Basement sessions online. It gives you an idea of how these tracks will translate live and it actually made me like the whole album better. Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2015
    7
    This is certainly not my favorite Radiohead album, but I really do appreciate what they're doing here nonetheless. The music is a lot more subtle and less immediate than on their other albums, but it's still interesting and different. Not quite as memorable as some of their other stuff though.
  5. Oct 3, 2011
    4
    I cannot write this review without using the word â
  6. May 10, 2016
    7
    At this point Radiohead's sound gets quite a bit redundant as they again mix odd beats, guitars and jam-session lyrics. "The King of Limbs" sounds like a paranoid soundtrack that leaves something to be desired. Die-Hard fans will love it. Download: Lotus Flower, Bloom, Little By Little.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    6
    Well... this album is hard to review... it isn't a masterpiece and takes a few listens to grasp the idea of it. I wasn't sure what to think of this album before it came out, but after listening to it, I am very underwhelmed. It is quite disappointing. There isn't that much to listen to on this 8 track album. No attention grabbers, no surprises, no "wow" effect. The few songs that are goodWell... this album is hard to review... it isn't a masterpiece and takes a few listens to grasp the idea of it. I wasn't sure what to think of this album before it came out, but after listening to it, I am very underwhelmed. It is quite disappointing. There isn't that much to listen to on this 8 track album. No attention grabbers, no surprises, no "wow" effect. The few songs that are good are "Morning Mr. Magpie", "Lotus Flower", and "Codex". If you are a die-hard Radiohead fan, sure, take a listen and enjoy. If Radiohead is a whole new concept to you, start off with "OK Computer" or "Kid A" and slowly make it to this album. Expand
  8. Mar 21, 2011
    6
    Unfortunately, "The King Of Limbs" leaves one wondering where the level of developmental inspiration got lost. Thom Yorke and company have enough positive credit in the bank to get away with this half hearted effort, which in forthcoming years will be acquainted alongside "Pablo Honey" in the list of top Radiohead long players. http://hackskeptic.com
  9. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    It's rich with layering of different very intriguing sounds, and Thom Yorke is back here with some of his most stellar vocals to date, but this is one of the most repetitive albums ever... ever. Come on Radiohead. We get this thing after In Rainbows?
  10. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    I'll be honest, I liked The King Of Limbs. It's Radiohead's shortest album to date, and is the least accessible. While The King Of Limbs doesn't tune up at all to "In Rainbows" or "Kid A", it's a great record for dedicated fans. The King Of Limbs is more experimental, and more electronic than it's predecessor. While it doesn't live up to all of it's expectations, The King Of Limbs is stillI'll be honest, I liked The King Of Limbs. It's Radiohead's shortest album to date, and is the least accessible. While The King Of Limbs doesn't tune up at all to "In Rainbows" or "Kid A", it's a great record for dedicated fans. The King Of Limbs is more experimental, and more electronic than it's predecessor. While it doesn't live up to all of it's expectations, The King Of Limbs is still deep, beautiful, and sometimes catchy. Radiohead's new direction in their sound isn't mediocre, but isn't very applicable to newer listeners. Expand
  11. Feb 12, 2017
    7
    The King of Limbs is a bizarre, spacy album full of drum beats. Just drum beats. A lot of the time there's just nothing but drum beats... and Thom Yorke. The problem with that is you have to get a good beat behind the song if that's your main idea behind the whole album, and, well it doesn't really work here a lot of the time. There's also good bass in many songs. I think that the songThe King of Limbs is a bizarre, spacy album full of drum beats. Just drum beats. A lot of the time there's just nothing but drum beats... and Thom Yorke. The problem with that is you have to get a good beat behind the song if that's your main idea behind the whole album, and, well it doesn't really work here a lot of the time. There's also good bass in many songs. I think that the song Lotus Flower is basically what the whole of this album should've been, in that it had more weird sounds everywhere, and had more of a point. That song alone makes this album a strong 7 instead of a strong 6. Expand
  12. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Surprisingly accessible upon first listen, The King of Limbs is another masterpiece from English band Radiohead. The last two tracks close out the album beautifully.
  13. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    Whilst I can appreciate the direction Radiohead wanted to take with rhythm-led samples and electronics. The first 4 tracks suffer a little from being just a little too quick, not allowing the listener much chance to really settle into the arrangements. Phil Selway's drums and the electronic beats seem a bit too busy. From Lotus Flower onwards at track 5 the pace slows down and the songsWhilst I can appreciate the direction Radiohead wanted to take with rhythm-led samples and electronics. The first 4 tracks suffer a little from being just a little too quick, not allowing the listener much chance to really settle into the arrangements. Phil Selway's drums and the electronic beats seem a bit too busy. From Lotus Flower onwards at track 5 the pace slows down and the songs become more minimalistic, and I enjoyed it more, with more straight melodies. It does improve with multiple listens but it feels, to me, like a disappointment even to this day. Expand
  14. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Radiohead's 8th album leaves me very satisfied. I'm glad they're trading in conventional guitar hooks, breaking off and making nebulous, groove-laden, eerie music. When I first heard the album, I liked it a lot, and thought "it sounds so cohesive as to be one long song". But I knew the songs would differentiate themselves in time, and after a few listens, the personality of each songRadiohead's 8th album leaves me very satisfied. I'm glad they're trading in conventional guitar hooks, breaking off and making nebulous, groove-laden, eerie music. When I first heard the album, I liked it a lot, and thought "it sounds so cohesive as to be one long song". But I knew the songs would differentiate themselves in time, and after a few listens, the personality of each song revealed itself. This album makes In Rainbows sound like a collection of songs, and a very good collection at that. But this is an artistic statement in the sense that it flows perfectly from beginning to end. Awesome. Expand
  15. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    The top gets an 8 and the bottom a 10.

    Sorry for the high score, Radiohead.

    Sorry because I'm pretty sure the band is elated. They know they released an excellent record, meanwhile confounding many of their listeners. Thom et al. now get some respite from the artistically dangerous ass-kissing and groveling.

    Thus, sorry. Your latest rocks, Radiohead.
  16. May 25, 2011
    7
    It seems empty at first, but everything's there, Radiohead just makes you find it. Admittedly, I did miss Johnny on this record.
  17. May 6, 2016
    7
    It's an odd duck of a record. Some of my favorite Radiohead tunes of all time are on this album--but 3 of my least favorites on there too, and they come right in the middle of the album. It feels very disjointed to me--even to this day.
  18. May 16, 2015
    7
    Certainly not the best album they released. It still manages to entertain enough to not classify it as a "bad album", something that Radiohead has never done, but lacks some details that make it a masterpiece.. and not even comparable to even In Rainbows, its predecessor. It feels like there isn't a distinct type of sound that distinguish and characterizes the songs in this new record andCertainly not the best album they released. It still manages to entertain enough to not classify it as a "bad album", something that Radiohead has never done, but lacks some details that make it a masterpiece.. and not even comparable to even In Rainbows, its predecessor. It feels like there isn't a distinct type of sound that distinguish and characterizes the songs in this new record and aside from some tracks (Lotus Flower, Morning Mr.Magpie, Codex) there aren't many memorable tunes that make it stand out. Honestly, despite being still a more than acceptable LP, it's the worst they've put out since their debut Pablo Honey. Expand
  19. May 2, 2011
    9
    A quirky album, to be sure, more in the vein of "Amnesiac" than "In Rainbows". This isn't "Eraser 2" as many has tried to compare it to: it has much more warmth and you can hear the group dynamic that was almost completely missing from Yorke's solo effort. I was a bit disappointed with the album's brief length, but there still a lot of good music here, particularly "Lotus Flower" "Codex"A quirky album, to be sure, more in the vein of "Amnesiac" than "In Rainbows". This isn't "Eraser 2" as many has tried to compare it to: it has much more warmth and you can hear the group dynamic that was almost completely missing from Yorke's solo effort. I was a bit disappointed with the album's brief length, but there still a lot of good music here, particularly "Lotus Flower" "Codex" and "Give Up The Ghost" for me. Those looking for another album like In Rainbows will certainly be disappointed, as we see a return to the more distant and electronic sound of "Hail To The Thief" here. Expand
  20. Sep 20, 2012
    6
    Good album, but it's not their best: "Lotus Flower" is great, but many of the other songs get boring after some listenings. I hope in a better album next time!
  21. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    An exceptional album, The King of Limbs strives to keep up with the changing times, allowing technology to lead Radiohead away from the safe sound which they have established over the years. This bold move allowed the creation of a fantastic album, whilst still retaining some original sound.
  22. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    Of all the Radiohead albums, King of Limbs feels the least Radiohead-like since Pablo Honey, but it's still a great list of tracks. Bloom - Radiohead also knows how to start and end an album. Bloom definitely lives up to an expectation you may have. Lovely vocals, of course. 8/10.
    Morning Mr. Magpie - It took me two listens, but definitely a fulfilling track once you get the hang of it. An
    Of all the Radiohead albums, King of Limbs feels the least Radiohead-like since Pablo Honey, but it's still a great list of tracks. Bloom - Radiohead also knows how to start and end an album. Bloom definitely lives up to an expectation you may have. Lovely vocals, of course. 8/10.
    Morning Mr. Magpie - It took me two listens, but definitely a fulfilling track once you get the hang of it. An incredible revamped version of the b-side "Morning Me Lord." 8/10
    Little By Little - Nice to listen to every once in a while, but there's something about Yorke's falsetto singing "Little by Little," that both intrigues me and annoys me. 7/10
    Feral - Amazing mix. Very dark-gray sounding. Love it! It sort of feels like Yorke's supplemented intermission form his vocals in the record. 8/10
    Lotus Flower - The single, and definitely one of the highlights of the record. An amazing structure. 10/10.
    Codex - The slowest song on the album, but it's an instant classic. Very dark, dramatic. I always visualize a man standing on top of the grand canyon at sun set jumping into a clear-blue lake (very much like the lyrics describing of course). 9/10
    Give Up the Ghost - I became so used to the live recording of this song, that it took me a few listens to understand what Thom Yorke was really trying to do on stage. I honestly prefer the live version, but this track lives up to it. 9/10
    Separator - Like Lotus Flower, an extremely addictive song to listen to. Radiohead always knows how to end an album, and this track feels like an open-ended interpretation of the conclusion. Amazing! "If you think this over, then you're wrong," rung in my head for weeks after listening to this the first few times. 10/10.
    Expand
  23. Sep 29, 2012
    5
    Asides from Codex and Separator, the rest of the album is tedious. The repetitive rythms guide you nowhere. I know how many albums are growers. Kid A took me probably 4 listens, and after that, every song blowed me away. This album, however, didn't get me the same feeling.
  24. Jan 23, 2017
    9
    Quite the surprise of an album and typical of Radiohead to not have much of a lead up to the announcement and drop it on their website, this did not disappoint. I seriously don't think this I could rate a Radiohead album less than 8 and I sure hope they never change.
  25. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Since user " football !=! " has already said it all I'll just make this short. This is a perfect album coming from a perfect band (in my opinion). I think that Radiohead outdone themselves and the album confirms it. All the songs are brilliantly peaced together, containing brilliant lyrics , and the album itself is just one of the best albums you'll hear in this year (ISince user " football !=! " has already said it all I'll just make this short. This is a perfect album coming from a perfect band (in my opinion). I think that Radiohead outdone themselves and the album confirms it. All the songs are brilliantly peaced together, containing brilliant lyrics , and the album itself is just one of the best albums you'll hear in this year (I hope). To finish this rather short review I say this: "Listen to this album and if you don't like what you're hearing,.... you my son are either deaf, or you've gone completely insane (in a bad way). ;) Expand
  26. Feb 22, 2011
    5
    I'm sorry, Radiohead has had more time to come up with more than 8 semi-ambient and climax-less tracks wrapped up in a pretentious (therefore meaningless) package. Where's "The tourist"? Where's "Pyramid Song?" Usually with difficult-to-listen-to-Radiohead albums, there's something that invites me to come in. Not this time. It was just two years ago when In Rainbows opened up with thatI'm sorry, Radiohead has had more time to come up with more than 8 semi-ambient and climax-less tracks wrapped up in a pretentious (therefore meaningless) package. Where's "The tourist"? Where's "Pyramid Song?" Usually with difficult-to-listen-to-Radiohead albums, there's something that invites me to come in. Not this time. It was just two years ago when In Rainbows opened up with that crazy beat in 5, and this is a melange of songs in 4 that pass by without being remembered, even on second and third listens. I tried, guys. I just feel sorry for those who're going to pay fifty bucks for the newspaper. Expand
  27. Feb 18, 2011
    2
    Upon listening to the album in its entirety 6-7 times now, i can place my hand on my heart and say that this album is now worse than Pablo Honey. Too short, too one dimensional and tedious. Its fine to have this sound for a couple of tracks but 8 tracks, too much. I lost interest in the album by the time it ended. I feel ripped off with this album. Just hoping there's a Part 2.
  28. Jun 6, 2011
    4
    there seems to be 2 opposing sides to this album. 1. "like the bends, this is crap"
    2."i think other people dont understand art, this is genius"
    im here to represent side three i like ALL radiohead albums. i get the strange ones well enough amnesiac is probably my favourite one!!! its jawdropping after that being said.. this is quite a poor effort.. u cant compare this one seriously to any
    there seems to be 2 opposing sides to this album. 1. "like the bends, this is crap"
    2."i think other people dont understand art, this is genius"
    im here to represent side three
    i like ALL radiohead albums. i get the strange ones well enough
    amnesiac is probably my favourite one!!! its jawdropping
    after that being said.. this is quite a poor effort.. u cant compare this one seriously to any radiohead album and say this is better! excluding pablo honey of course...
    but its probably the same level as pablo honey.. albeit being utterly different
    its dull, too minimalist. uneventfull. and half of the songs are not new at all!
    it sounds like radiohead are at the end of their creativity... im sorry. but its true
    Expand
  29. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    The best electronica album ever!!! 10/10, and I wish I could give it 11 to make up for the lukewarm reviews it's got. The sounds and melodies are rivaled only by that of Kid A, and where Kid A failed this one succeeds. One of my top 4 Radiohead albums. Here's my track by track (Note: My scores are in context to the album- a 4 on here might be a 5 on a different LP- so my 10/10 isThe best electronica album ever!!! 10/10, and I wish I could give it 11 to make up for the lukewarm reviews it's got. The sounds and melodies are rivaled only by that of Kid A, and where Kid A failed this one succeeds. One of my top 4 Radiohead albums. Here's my track by track (Note: My scores are in context to the album- a 4 on here might be a 5 on a different LP- so my 10/10 is justified).
    Bloom 4.5/5
    A great opener! Like Enya meets Aphex Twin. It really captures the organic vs. electronic mood of the album, and makes you wonder why anybody would dismiss this as "lifeless ear candy".
    Morning Mr. Magpie 3.5/5
    It's a little less sonically interesting than Bloom, and meanders a little, but it's a great transitional track with a great melody line. The foreign undertones of this album are quite visible here.
    Little by Little 4/5
    A catchy/sinister return to the customs of previous Radiohead, though not the highlight of the album for me. I love the winding melody line of the chorus, and it proves that their songwriting is still up to snuff.
    Feral 4/5
    Sure it's an instrumental, but it's a darn good instrumental, and it sure doesn't feel like filler. Like chill complex dubstep. It's probably my favorite Radiohead instrumental to date.
    Lotus Flower 5/5
    A great side opener this sparkles with sexy poetry, catchy melodies and a killer beat. One of my top 20 Radiohead songs it's got you dancing just like Feral. You won't be dancing long.
    Codex 5/5
    The fun ends here. A bleak ballad in the spirit of "Videotape", it shows just how varied The King of Limbs really is. It slowly builds and in the end you're wondering "Why is Thom Yorke so sad?"
    Give up the Ghost 4.5/5
    The first acoustic instrument on the album, this is opened with a chugging acoustic guitar melody. It sounds like a campfire tune, and after the wasteland of Codex it's refreshing while quite haunting.
    Separator 4/5
    While at first it seems like a simplistic jumble of un-focused melodies, it soon evolves (in the fashion of Ideoteque) into a round-like chant. It reminds you of Bloom, and represents something of a cycle.
    Supercollider/The Butcher 5/5
    Yes, I'm counting them as one song. Yes I'm counting them at all. Because truthfully they feel like the finish, and they make i 10 songs. I like the album as it is, I just wanted to rate them.
    Expand
  30. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Basic Short sentence summary: 3rd best album behind ok computer and the bends. Best album to wander to around a city park, forest, in seclusion, mind, etc. It feels nearly a shame not to give this album a perfect score. The only nagging point being a strange almost lack of structure of the first half of the album. But to everyone out there who has seen a mixed or negative review of thisBasic Short sentence summary: 3rd best album behind ok computer and the bends. Best album to wander to around a city park, forest, in seclusion, mind, etc. It feels nearly a shame not to give this album a perfect score. The only nagging point being a strange almost lack of structure of the first half of the album. But to everyone out there who has seen a mixed or negative review of this album is incorrect. Every song is both a look back at one of the past 4 albums (and Thom Yorke's solo work to include) and at the same time a whole new original piece of Art from the greatest band of all time. Yorke, O'Brien, Selway, and the greenwood's release a great use of all their talents and skills to combine into the shortest, but maybe the best "modern" (Post Ok computer work) Album.
    I believe the best songs would have to be the 2nd half of the Album. Especially Lotus F Lower and Give up the ghost, I cant decide your opinion for you, but its worth listening to the whole thing over and over and over until your heart stops beating. But by then, These geniuses would have released in a lifetime more of masterpieces.
    Expand
  31. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    it's not love @ first sight for sho', but that's aight, i'm not gay anyway... And so isnt that LP.
    Long live the king, parse all of those that stayed 17 years ago, climbing up the walls; well, i guess it takes some time to...
  32. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This is one of Radiohead's most masterfully realized albums. Along with Kid A, OK Computer, and In Rainbows - The King of Limbs creates a beautiful cohesive world to get lost in over and over again. In terms of both song craft and production, the album sizzles and awards the careful listener greatly. Highly recommended.
  33. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Clearly, Radiohead did not try to make their most accessible album. However, this album is absolutely brilliant! Every song is so well orchestrated and seems as it has been pulled apart and put back together again. Throughout the album, I felt the first four tracks ask, "Radiohead, where have you been? Oh! Well, this is terrifying." Then as the album continues into the last half I feel theClearly, Radiohead did not try to make their most accessible album. However, this album is absolutely brilliant! Every song is so well orchestrated and seems as it has been pulled apart and put back together again. Throughout the album, I felt the first four tracks ask, "Radiohead, where have you been? Oh! Well, this is terrifying." Then as the album continues into the last half I feel the songs say, "It'll be okay. Wake up." I think this is one of those albums where you'll love it or hate it. If ya hate it... hey! give it a second chance. Expand
  34. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    King Of Limbs is definitely a grower, that much is for sure, but if you let TKOL grow on you, you will find Radioheads most detailed and complex album yet. TKOL begins with bloom, the bands best opener since well, ever in my opinion. morning mr magpie is tough to get ahold of but when you do it becomes a captivating listen. Little by little is the closest thing to a rock song and i use theKing Of Limbs is definitely a grower, that much is for sure, but if you let TKOL grow on you, you will find Radioheads most detailed and complex album yet. TKOL begins with bloom, the bands best opener since well, ever in my opinion. morning mr magpie is tough to get ahold of but when you do it becomes a captivating listen. Little by little is the closest thing to a rock song and i use the term loosely. Little by little is a great song that demands you to move your body. It is followed by their best all electronic song since idioteque, in feral. Feral clicks and whirrs and the vocal effects are completely haunting. Lotus flower, the first single is one of the bands best songs in recent memory, but Codex is the best. Codex is strikingly gorgeous and surpassed my expectations completely. Give up the ghost and separator close out the album beautifully, giving us another perfect 10 radiohead album. its not for everyone, but if you appreciate Radioheads new direction it is in a class of its own Expand
  35. Jun 23, 2011
    6
    meh, pretty much sums it up. There are a few bright spots on this album but mostly it just bleeds into one big digital sample. I mean its radiohead, and I am a fan, so I am pleased. Just not that much. This ranks up there with Thom's solo album. Definitely not their best work.
  36. May 5, 2012
    10
    The best album from Radiohead. Simply AMAZING. It gives you such amazing feelings. The album art is the perfect compliment to the music, which is eerie, driving, colorful, diverse, intense, and powerful all at the time. I can't get enough of this. I love it. Believe it or not, this is the album that got me into Radiohead! I love it dearly. A true gift from the best band there has ever beenThe best album from Radiohead. Simply AMAZING. It gives you such amazing feelings. The album art is the perfect compliment to the music, which is eerie, driving, colorful, diverse, intense, and powerful all at the time. I can't get enough of this. I love it. Believe it or not, this is the album that got me into Radiohead! I love it dearly. A true gift from the best band there has ever been on earth. Expand
  37. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I listened to it once. I wasn't convinced.
    I listened to it twice and I got to track 2 "Morning. Mr Magpie" and I played it about 5 times over before I could even change the song and after listening to it over and over, it became clear.
    Radiohead aren't there to please people they're there to challenge you musically, to test you and this is where there genius is: Every time it's amazing,
    I listened to it once. I wasn't convinced.
    I listened to it twice and I got to track 2 "Morning. Mr Magpie" and I played it about 5 times over before I could even change the song and after listening to it over and over, it became clear.
    Radiohead aren't there to please people they're there to challenge you musically, to test you
    and this is where there genius is: Every time it's amazing, after OK Computer they bought out KID A and it challenged people, but now its ranked next to OK Computer in greatness.
    The King Of Limbs challenged me, but, in the end it won.

    BRILLIANT ALBUM 9/10
    Expand
  38. Feb 23, 2011
    8
    Probably the bands most elusive record to date. I was not disappointed and find myself strangely drawn to it. I've listened to it more times in the first few days then any other Radiohead album. I found it most similar to Amnesiac, but it really is quite different than anything else they've released. To me the vocals were most interesting and immediately stood out, and Thom dominatesProbably the bands most elusive record to date. I was not disappointed and find myself strangely drawn to it. I've listened to it more times in the first few days then any other Radiohead album. I found it most similar to Amnesiac, but it really is quite different than anything else they've released. To me the vocals were most interesting and immediately stood out, and Thom dominates on many of the tracks. I can see why people are comparing it to his solo work in that sense, but this album is much better than Eraser.

    The music and vocals are densely layered and the album feels more like a single soundscape rather than a collection of songs. It meanders along, draws you in slowly, and keeps you coming back for more. There is really a lot here to digest and some songs sounded completely different to me after repeated listens. On that note, it's difficult to pick standout tracks. I think I like Morning Mr. Magpie and Give Up the Ghost best, but that could easily change in the next few days.
    Expand
  39. Aug 8, 2015
    0
    I had heard great things about this album, but when I came to listen to it I have to say it is probably the worst album I've ever heard. The production, writing, and vocals are all absolutely terrible. I listened to all the tracks and there wasn't a single one where I could find something to compliment. Absolute disappointment, unless you are a die-hard Radiohead fan. Whatever you do don'tI had heard great things about this album, but when I came to listen to it I have to say it is probably the worst album I've ever heard. The production, writing, and vocals are all absolutely terrible. I listened to all the tracks and there wasn't a single one where I could find something to compliment. Absolute disappointment, unless you are a die-hard Radiohead fan. Whatever you do don't waste your time listening to this album. Expand
  40. Feb 26, 2011
    8
    So it is not as good as In Rainbows. This much is true. However, it is one really good Radiohead album once again. The second half of the album is brilliant. My favorite and standout is "Codex" where a simple piano distortion and Yorke's vocals hit a desolate melancholy. "No one gets hurt/No one around" Great stuff. The album is short,yet it is an album that you can throw on withoutSo it is not as good as In Rainbows. This much is true. However, it is one really good Radiohead album once again. The second half of the album is brilliant. My favorite and standout is "Codex" where a simple piano distortion and Yorke's vocals hit a desolate melancholy. "No one gets hurt/No one around" Great stuff. The album is short,yet it is an album that you can throw on without investing too much (at like 38 min) No earth shattering stuff here but a very solid effort. If you got 8 really good songs why not just cut the crap and make that an album? Expand
  41. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Radiohead, under the gun of expectation, have not disappointed with their eighth studio album "The King of Limbs." The title itself is provocative of something large, and even the album cover hints as well. The King of Limbs is very drum heavy, which is somewhat of a step away from their usual routine, but still manages to resonate the true Radiohead frequencies. One thing that sticks outRadiohead, under the gun of expectation, have not disappointed with their eighth studio album "The King of Limbs." The title itself is provocative of something large, and even the album cover hints as well. The King of Limbs is very drum heavy, which is somewhat of a step away from their usual routine, but still manages to resonate the true Radiohead frequencies. One thing that sticks out is the evident direction with which Radiohead seems to be tending. This album leans toward a modern classical direction. This may be due to leader Thom Yorke's infatuation with dubstep and certain electronic music. On the other hand, the band still keeps its grounding, with Johnny Greenwood's haunting keyboards, and Colin's bass driving the beats of Phil Selway's lathered drum section. The King of Limbs is very beat heavy, with Thom using his voice to complement the aura surrounding the left and right that make up the production of Nigel Godrich. There is a different Radiohead in every one of the eight songs on The King of Limbs, with the majority of the tunes relating back to the second set of songs on In Rainbows. Lotus Flower, which has a brilliant video concurrently released today, is the awe-inspiring track to The King of Limbs. It contains hints of dubstep, but also plays fairly close to Idioteque. Thom Yorke's vocals on this album as a whole reach high and low, as expected from Radiohead nearly twenty years now. One prolific aspect of this album is the ability Yorke encompasses during his "sliding" of vocals. Yorke, now in his forties, still has the power he had back in 2000's Kid A, and continues to create new avenues to hone and elaborate his use of vocals. Radiohead never ceases to disappoint, and certainly do not do so here. The album is just under forty minutes in length, which is a true disappointment, but I hope the "Newspaper" edition that comes out will contain bonus songs or something of the sort. Radiohead's eighth album The King of Limbs is a knocker with power, force, and a soul to reckon with, the only inhibition the album may experience is its length-challenged state. But this may also be a strength. It may cause a desire for more! Keep the people guessing. They have been keeping the public guessing since way back in September, why stop now? I would also like to strike a chord with the lyric substance in the album. The album contains parts, in its minute state, with little lyrical substance, which, in my opinion, can be disappointing. I will say it now that, the length and lyrical shortcomings may cause a negative stir among the Radiohead fan base. But if you ask me, this album is In Rainbow's antagonist. It takes In Rainbows, and flips it on its side. A new world of music, but keeps the Radiohead vibrations resonating. This album is brilliant. It is no surprise nor expectation fulfilled. It is Radiohead without being typical or predictable. Expand
  42. Jun 11, 2011
    7
    Thom Yorkes vocals have never been stronger than on this LP. He is simply stunning on this. What you want from a Radiohead album is for it to test you, and have an overwhelming atmosphere that takes a while to 'become one with'. I really like every song on the album, they are all well put together and structured as you'd expect from Radiohead. It has this mystic quality that I am a realThom Yorkes vocals have never been stronger than on this LP. He is simply stunning on this. What you want from a Radiohead album is for it to test you, and have an overwhelming atmosphere that takes a while to 'become one with'. I really like every song on the album, they are all well put together and structured as you'd expect from Radiohead. It has this mystic quality that I am a real big fan of. Though in the end this is just missing atmosphere, innovation and maybe a little more influence from Mr J.Greenwood. Sadly, underwhelming. Expand
  43. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Initially, I thought this album was a huge step down from their previous effort, "In Rainbows". But then I realized: this is a band that constantly changes their style for the sake of being unique. However, although it all sounds great, it may actually be too unique. My point being, it's not really brilliant or revolutionary; it's more of what I've heard from them before, all combine.Initially, I thought this album was a huge step down from their previous effort, "In Rainbows". But then I realized: this is a band that constantly changes their style for the sake of being unique. However, although it all sounds great, it may actually be too unique. My point being, it's not really brilliant or revolutionary; it's more of what I've heard from them before, all combine. That's about all that is flawed though. This is a spectacular album overall. Expand
  44. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's hardly an album like they used to consider it perfect. But it's still brilliant to hear that Thom and his unpredictable band, can do with music. Expand
  45. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    I actually believe this is a complete album, despite the rumors that there's a 'part 2' on the way. Yes, it's short, but it feels complete to me. The first half of the album is dense and complicated, and then it breaks free into a second half that is beautiful and liberating. "Separator" is, in my opinion, the most emotionally satisfying closer Radiohead have pulled off since "The Tourist"I actually believe this is a complete album, despite the rumors that there's a 'part 2' on the way. Yes, it's short, but it feels complete to me. The first half of the album is dense and complicated, and then it breaks free into a second half that is beautiful and liberating. "Separator" is, in my opinion, the most emotionally satisfying closer Radiohead have pulled off since "The Tourist" from OK Computer. Expand
  46. May 6, 2011
    8
    Bloom, Lotus Flower, Codex, Separator, all good songs. The others, not just as good.
    I see The King of Limbs as a fine tuning of what Radiohead began with Kid A and Amnesiac, and although it has some of the most interesting chords and melodies, it just seems to be lacking something.
    Bloom's opening minute is the best by far, with amazing lyrics Morning Mr Magpie is okay, but nothing
    Bloom, Lotus Flower, Codex, Separator, all good songs. The others, not just as good.
    I see The King of Limbs as a fine tuning of what Radiohead began with Kid A and Amnesiac, and although it has some of the most interesting chords and melodies, it just seems to be lacking something.
    Bloom's opening minute is the best by far, with amazing lyrics
    Morning Mr Magpie is okay, but nothing particularly significant
    Little By Little contains a great piece of music at 2:21, but apart from that, average
    Feral can get boring, I would prefer it much more if I could actually hear lyrics from Thom Yorke
    Lotus Flower is a very well written song, but maybe just off single material
    Codex is one of the best songs from this album, with an almost restrained feel to it
    Give Up The Ghost is quite good, but not Radiohead's best from this album
    Separator is a completely different story. The first half is good, but it is the second half which really defines this song. An amazing ending to the album.
    On another note, if you enjoy The King of Limbs, I recommend their B-sides Supercollider and The Butcher.
    Expand
  47. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    After almost two decades of music from this band, I am embarrassed to say I have missed most of it. However, when I first heard 'Lotus Flower,' it instantly attracted me. It is fitting, then, that this track is the focal point of this album. I have to say that I am a bit stunned by the Radiohead 'fans' who have posted negative reactions to this album; I am not sure what they areAfter almost two decades of music from this band, I am embarrassed to say I have missed most of it. However, when I first heard 'Lotus Flower,' it instantly attracted me. It is fitting, then, that this track is the focal point of this album. I have to say that I am a bit stunned by the Radiohead 'fans' who have posted negative reactions to this album; I am not sure what they are expecting. People change and hopefully evolve, and we should expect no less from artists. This entire album is a stunning and complex beauty, clearly made from a place of confidence and maturity. I now find myself delving into the Radiohead catalogue. I haven't felt this way about music in some time; it just doesn't get much better than this. Expand
  48. May 14, 2012
    10
    it's kinda busy, it's really short, it's experimental, it's inaccessible, and i love it. i've heard a lot of negative reactions and criticism against this album, but it's right up there with ok computer, kid a, all hail to the thief and in rainbows for their best work.
  49. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    Radiohead's eighth borrows elements from previous catalog - the abstract electronic found in Kid A, the funky beats from Amnesiac, and the beauty from In Rainbows. It's also influenced by Thomâ
  50. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    It's definitely solid, but I'm afraid King Of Limbs doesn't have the same wow-factor that In Rainbows, Kid A, OK Computer et al brought with them; it's exactly what we've come to expect from Radiohead and, even worse, where once they pioneered new trends and ideas in the music world they seem to have run out of originality here and are instead pillaging the recent dubstep/glitch trends ofIt's definitely solid, but I'm afraid King Of Limbs doesn't have the same wow-factor that In Rainbows, Kid A, OK Computer et al brought with them; it's exactly what we've come to expect from Radiohead and, even worse, where once they pioneered new trends and ideas in the music world they seem to have run out of originality here and are instead pillaging the recent dubstep/glitch trends of the likes of FlyLo and Jon Hopkins. However, the songs are very good I have to admit, particularly Lotus Flower; Give Up The Ghost and Separator are both standouts too; and while the first half is easily the more 'difficult', it's also the most profoundly growing (Morning Mr Magpie is becoming a clear favourite for me). But my problem is the lack of that one song that really makes me go, Wow, they've done it again, the one that stays with me for years. Fake Plastic Trees, Exit Music, How To Disappear Completely, Pyramid Song, There There, Nude. King Of Limbs has nothing to follow that string of greats, and for that reason it will always seem a lesser album to me, because even though the overall quality of Hail To The Thief and Amnesiac is less they are at least redeemed by the offerings that really rise above the pack. I love Radiohead, but I wish they'd had the courage to do something more original and less (seemingly) intentionally provocative - maybe next time. Expand
  51. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    Neither here nor there. Radiohead treading water at the high plateau of their career? A band would be damned lucky to debut with this LP. As it is, Radiohead have had it carte blanche for so long, they scarcely resemble their origins, but their direction hasn't lead them to an evolutionary dead end either. King of Limbs is a highly competent album, born from very very talented musicians,Neither here nor there. Radiohead treading water at the high plateau of their career? A band would be damned lucky to debut with this LP. As it is, Radiohead have had it carte blanche for so long, they scarcely resemble their origins, but their direction hasn't lead them to an evolutionary dead end either. King of Limbs is a highly competent album, born from very very talented musicians, exploring their own curiosities in a very unindulgent and disciplined way. It feels almost calculated. Music and the world have changed dramatically since the Bends and OK Computer, and Radiohead has kept pace, but lost the initiative. They no longer push innovation, but who does in this nebulous industry anymore anyway? Those who miss those particular records will rejoice in the undying banality of acts like Cold Play. Now that I have sufficiently prefaced my unqualified opinion, I will finish by saying this album is just on the high end of okay, neither great nor terrible, and certainly rewarding a little diligence. Expand
  52. Feb 24, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A solid effort, which is weird coming from Radiohead. I'm used to being blown away by this band, and this time it didn't happen. At first, I hated this album. The I've listened to it more, gave it a chance and now I just like it. Lotus Flower is a fantastic song, and so is Morning Mr. Magpie. This isn't a rock album by any means of the word, it's an electronica album, and you can have to accept it, and in my opinion that's what keeps it from becoming a great album. It doesn't seem like a complete effort from the whole album. Seems like it should be York's second solo album. They have 3 great guitarists and there's hardly any guitar used in it. The computerized drumming is just repulsive, and so is some of the other electronic effects used on the album. I wishing for something different, but instead I got this; a so-so album from one of the best bands in the last two decades. Expand
  53. Apr 7, 2011
    3
    Radiohead's creative process on this infuriatingly anemic album: 1. Have our fans liked this before? If yes, cut it. 2. Melody has to be either terrible or absent on at least half the album. 3. It should sound like a single, kind of like Airbag, but without any single. Just B-sides. 4. The average number of band members present on any given song should be 1.6, and drummer-boy doesn'tRadiohead's creative process on this infuriatingly anemic album: 1. Have our fans liked this before? If yes, cut it. 2. Melody has to be either terrible or absent on at least half the album. 3. It should sound like a single, kind of like Airbag, but without any single. Just B-sides. 4. The average number of band members present on any given song should be 1.6, and drummer-boy doesn't even need to show up since we're going to digitize it. 5. Speaking of digital, we can put half the songs on repeat after 8 seconds of taps and ticks. 6. Taps and ticks are still awesome, even though we were talking in that language years ago. 7. Whereas 'Kid A' sounded like it was 10 years ahead of its time, this should sound like the filler we deleted from 'Kid A'. 8. Love the "Don't hurt me / Don't haunt me" part. Let's put it on repeat so the song sounds less beautiful sooner. 9. We usually close an album with a killer song. Let's stop that. 10. Oh good call. Let's stop making killer songs altogether. This is audio anorexia! Expand
  54. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    This album wasn't made for hits. It was created to evoke a mood, crafted quite successfully. A perfect fit for the end of what has seemed to be a long cold winter in Middle America. After about four to five plays through this album, I don't think there's a song on it as good as "15 Step," "Bodysnatchers,"Weird Fishes," or "All I Need." But I don't think that was their goal. RadioheadThis album wasn't made for hits. It was created to evoke a mood, crafted quite successfully. A perfect fit for the end of what has seemed to be a long cold winter in Middle America. After about four to five plays through this album, I don't think there's a song on it as good as "15 Step," "Bodysnatchers,"Weird Fishes," or "All I Need." But I don't think that was their goal. Radiohead had something in mind for this record, and I would guess they did exactly what they set out to do. Do you really think, at this stage in their evolution, Radiohead really needs to make a hit record? Expand
  55. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    When you can say the biggest problem with an album is that it is too short you know you have a keeper. TKOL represents Radiohead at their most adventurous with fantastic drum beats throughout. Personally the first half is my favorite when they didn't sprinkle much melody in the music but still there is no denying the power of Codex or Give Up the Ghost.
  56. Dec 24, 2012
    8
    I stumbled upon this album by accident. It's not one of my favourite genres, but hell, I love it!
    I don't know, something about it is really dark, which I really enjoy. It's nice and light, what with it being under 40 minutes.
    This album and Biophilia are certainly at the top of the Experimental Rock Albums of 2011.
  57. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    It's one of their best albums to date, as always, they deliver excellent rock music with their alternative and yet unexpected sounds; not as flawed as "In Rainbows" but surely TKOL deserves its place as the best album from the 2011
  58. Feb 19, 2011
    0
    There's NO hint of underlying melody buried beneath the rubble of inanimate production behind, in front, and to the sides of "The King of Limbs": it's an aimless series of soulless, tacky, lounge ambience - at it's best, recalling ambient-era Moby ("Bloom"). The rhythm section cannot be the combined effort and participation of humans - it sounds way too stupid and clunky - there areThere's NO hint of underlying melody buried beneath the rubble of inanimate production behind, in front, and to the sides of "The King of Limbs": it's an aimless series of soulless, tacky, lounge ambience - at it's best, recalling ambient-era Moby ("Bloom"). The rhythm section cannot be the combined effort and participation of humans - it sounds way too stupid and clunky - there are steady, obvious climbs and falls in the bass and drums, and African beats; resonating nothing. The only songs worth mention, "Little by Little," "Codex," and "Give Up the Ghost," are slight, near good accomplishments of some structured fashion. "Give Up the Ghost" is warm - tinged with a subtle 70's AM pop easiness - almost folky. "Codex" is the nicely written, if not the best song here - invoking some pleasant imagery, and a dynamic mood, with the slight bit of melancholy. "Codex" could serve easily as a b-side to "Pyramid Song." "In Rainbows" was the embodiment of Radiohead's pursuit of cerebral alternative rock in a minimalist, hyper-melodic, 3-minute structure.They've depreciated since, if not forever. I've listened to this album intimately - in my room, for six hours straight - hoping to God I hear it - I've yet to register a thing. Expand
  59. Feb 22, 2011
    3
    Why do they feel the need of constant radical innovation, instead of building upon what they have already achieved and work for perfection, with some gradual incorporation of new ideas? Why not build on the phenomenal OK, Computer and stand tall and strong instead of being shaky and confused in unchartered waters with each new album?

    Experiments in sound-sculpting, texturing,
    Why do they feel the need of constant radical innovation, instead of building upon what they have already achieved and work for perfection, with some gradual incorporation of new ideas? Why not build on the phenomenal OK, Computer and stand tall and strong instead of being shaky and confused in unchartered waters with each new album?

    Experiments in sound-sculpting, texturing, sound-scapes, mixing all types of musical styles -- from Penderecki and Terry Reilly to Krautrock to Post-rock and god knows what else -- all that and even more, but no, not much music in this album, nothing expressive (except for endless gloom), nothing that matters. Reminds of Kid A and Amnesiac (which I love) but doesn't even get close to those. A side experiment, a joke maybe, a teaser... No, no, and no.
    Expand
  60. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    It's not the weirdest or best thing they've put out, but it's great for repeated listens. I would rank this album amongst "Amnesiac" and "Kid A" since the electronic and atmospheric sound is similar to those albums. As far as how good it is, I'd say it's number 6 on my Radiohead album rank. There are some really good songs here like "Bloom", "Lotus Flower", "Give Up the Ghost", and myIt's not the weirdest or best thing they've put out, but it's great for repeated listens. I would rank this album amongst "Amnesiac" and "Kid A" since the electronic and atmospheric sound is similar to those albums. As far as how good it is, I'd say it's number 6 on my Radiohead album rank. There are some really good songs here like "Bloom", "Lotus Flower", "Give Up the Ghost", and my favorite track "Separator". Radiohead really know how to end an album, and how to make one. They haven't let us down yet and I don't think they possibly could. Expand
  61. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    Radiohead have done it again, just like with Kid A, they have managed to piss off a a lot of fans and extend their music to a new sound and almost a new genre. Their new album is dominated by Thom's lyrics and Phil's heavy drum beats and varying electronic effects, with almost no dominant guitar. It sounds much more modern, much more bleak than their other music. But, like all ofRadiohead have done it again, just like with Kid A, they have managed to piss off a a lot of fans and extend their music to a new sound and almost a new genre. Their new album is dominated by Thom's lyrics and Phil's heavy drum beats and varying electronic effects, with almost no dominant guitar. It sounds much more modern, much more bleak than their other music. But, like all of Radiohead's music, its incredibly complex and beautiful. Its a completely new style that you'll be hard pressed to classify but its no worse than their other albums, just different. Expand
  62. Feb 23, 2011
    7
    The problem that most 20 year old bands have is continuing to make new and interesting music. Radiohead does not have this problem. Though this album is not their best, it is still unique and beautiful. The King of Limbs is most importantly pointing them in a new direction.
  63. Feb 18, 2011
    7
    It sounds like a DJ remix of the real album, but where is the real album? Radiohead's weakest album, but I'm still giving it a 7 while I wait to see if this really is the real thing.
  64. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Couldn't have at all predicted how this was going to sound, but it sounds beautiful. Strangely organic and electronic. The level of music tech brilliance that's been put into this record is astounding. On a badass pair of speakers it sounds blissful. I've listened to it only a handful of times, but by the second listen through I always already in love. The first song sets the mood for aCouldn't have at all predicted how this was going to sound, but it sounds beautiful. Strangely organic and electronic. The level of music tech brilliance that's been put into this record is astounding. On a badass pair of speakers it sounds blissful. I've listened to it only a handful of times, but by the second listen through I always already in love. The first song sets the mood for a beautiful trip of an album. The last four tracks are pretty amazing, at the moment I can't choose between Codex and Give up the Ghost as my favourite. They never fail to surprise me. If I'm honest I can't see me loving this record (or any other record) as much as In Rainbows, but this is still a great work. Hopefully the fact that this record is so short will mean that another release might not be far off. Could this be a Kid A- Amnesiac type affair? I hope so. When I heard it was only 8 tracks I was a bit disappointed. Nevertheless, it's a very good album. Colin Greenwood seems to be one of the standout features of the album, which is something that hasn't been the case in any of the other albums :L Expand
  65. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    this album starts where "push pull revolving door" ends. its a beautiful, complex and, most of all, grown album by a band that does not cease to amaze. it wont fit the "computer fans" - u all can go listen to muse. on the start of "bloom", the albums first track, thom yorke shouts "open your mouth wide" cause this wont be easy to swallow. true, this is not an easy album but thom and co owethis album starts where "push pull revolving door" ends. its a beautiful, complex and, most of all, grown album by a band that does not cease to amaze. it wont fit the "computer fans" - u all can go listen to muse. on the start of "bloom", the albums first track, thom yorke shouts "open your mouth wide" cause this wont be easy to swallow. true, this is not an easy album but thom and co owe nothing to no one...and that's why their music continue to evolve and "push/pull" our minds. this album will grow on u if u like it or not, the beats will eventually be your heart beats, thoms vocals will itch and scratch ur skin and in 8 years u will say its album of the decade. Expand
  66. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    8 songs, 6 of which are good. Not really any TRULY great tracks, but just 4-5 solid ones. Giving up the ghost is quite bad, 'House of Cards bad', and the last song is wishy-washy by radiohead standards. i think with eight songs, it should be tighter to be considered a 9 or 10/10 as some people have reviewed. i haven't decided yet, but this album seems to be on par with In Rainbows. I still8 songs, 6 of which are good. Not really any TRULY great tracks, but just 4-5 solid ones. Giving up the ghost is quite bad, 'House of Cards bad', and the last song is wishy-washy by radiohead standards. i think with eight songs, it should be tighter to be considered a 9 or 10/10 as some people have reviewed. i haven't decided yet, but this album seems to be on par with In Rainbows. I still consider Ok Computer, Kid A, and Amnesiac their 3 best works. By radiohead standards, this is amongst their weakest efforts, still it is an OK album. Expand
  67. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    As a fan of Radiohead, I think this album sits between Amnesiac and Thom York's solo album The Eraser. I think it will be hard for new fans to embrace this as much as they could other albums, including In Rainbows. But still, they never disappoint. I hope through their download ventures we continue to get a steady flow of production from them.
  68. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    This ones a grower. Let it happen people; don't judge it immediately based off reviews and what your friends told you. Don't let the hipster **** grow through your ears, and keep you from developing your own idea. I feel sonic walls of sound and a transy, melodic vibe. I feel good rhythms, good ideas, twisting lyrics. Thom hasn't gotten any older; any greyer in my ears. It just feelsThis ones a grower. Let it happen people; don't judge it immediately based off reviews and what your friends told you. Don't let the hipster **** grow through your ears, and keep you from developing your own idea. I feel sonic walls of sound and a transy, melodic vibe. I feel good rhythms, good ideas, twisting lyrics. Thom hasn't gotten any older; any greyer in my ears. It just feels softer. sandy. a little opaque. But then again, this album wasn't meant to please a human being. This album was released to please Radiohead. I'm proud to be able to find the vibe coming off of this album- once again, it's something that you find yourself. But once you catch it, it frees you from being one of the miserable suckers slagging this album because of all it lacks, rather than what it has given off in order to find that perfect balance of lack. And if you question my choice of description, just know that I am talking with the feel of the words, rather than the words themselves. Expand
  69. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    This album is something truly beautiful. I've read through comments where people are whining about "incessant beats" and a lack of melody and yes, this is not the Radiohead us die hard fans are used to. The songs start off rhythmic in the first half of the album but by the end of the thirty seven minutes have turned into a woozy sounding, peaceful and organic finale. Give Up The GhostThis album is something truly beautiful. I've read through comments where people are whining about "incessant beats" and a lack of melody and yes, this is not the Radiohead us die hard fans are used to. The songs start off rhythmic in the first half of the album but by the end of the thirty seven minutes have turned into a woozy sounding, peaceful and organic finale. Give Up The Ghost sounds like a peaceful death for the album... It's obvious this album from the start was made to be remixed. Kieron Hebdan fans should love this, in fact so should he! The songs hold less of a structure than previous albums, and are more layered. Although Radiohead are firmly going down the Electronica route, none of the songs are what you'd call conventional, with chewed-up drum loops of natural sounding percussion. There's a great depth to this thing. The album takes about five listens to grow on you, and even after that I can almost guarantee you won't love it in the same way you loved In Rainbows, or Hail To The Thief. There aren't many epic guitar parts by Jonny, or melodies that are the kind you'd sing along to. For me, in my mind I don't even consider it Radiohead. It's something new... A new direction from Thom Yorke and Co, and one that I thoroughly enjoy. If you don't think this lives up to Radiohead's great reputation then stop thinking of it as Radiohead. This is a band reincarnated, and that's something rather impressive for a group of men in their forties. Therefore, this song doesn't deserve to be compared to In Rainbows or any other past Radiohead album because it's a whole other sound, a whole other attitude. Let's not forget Kid A, which was mainly hated when it came out. (Coincidentally TKOL really compliments Kid A.) So to all you Radiohead fans out there, you need to take a look at your attitude to your favourite band. I get the impression from most Radiohead comments on YouTube videos that all Radiohead are 'educated', very middle class people who look down on every other genre of music. It would sicken Thom Yorke to know what kind of people followed his work, as he's often said how he believes music should be something you hear on the radio, not something you sit and drink wine to in an art gallery. I have a feeling all the higher ratings for TKOL are by fans who love the reputation more than the album. Accept it for what it is... A great little collection of songs. A snippet of a new direction. Follow me (00dore) on Twitter if you are bored and would like to hear the (very) occasional video of something any Radiohead fan should also love. Expand
  70. Apr 12, 2017
    10
    This album happens to be my favorite Radiohead album to the dismay of many of my friends. I feel like the use of electronic as derogatory term to describe this album is kinda wrong and listening to it makes me feel this way even more. This album is the way radiohead should be. innovative
  71. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    The thing about OK Computer is that it was made by a guitar heavy band. in a vein akin to the pixes, Nirvana and Muse, to name a few.
    King of Limbs is much closer to the work that Bjork is producing. I mean, I've had it for years now and I just re-bought the CD after the old one kicked it. to me TKOL represents England, both mythologically and politically in some way. It is so alive, it's
    The thing about OK Computer is that it was made by a guitar heavy band. in a vein akin to the pixes, Nirvana and Muse, to name a few.
    King of Limbs is much closer to the work that Bjork is producing. I mean, I've had it for years now and I just re-bought the CD after the old one kicked it. to me TKOL represents England, both mythologically and politically in some way. It is so alive, it's the sound of landscapes, both the sedate forest and the city. I honestly cannot say enough good things about this album. it is perhaps slightly over full at times but that's me being super picky, Its layered drum beats and textured sounds that make it so vital to start with. Its a journey I think. for best results listen whilst travelling, walking or otherwise, and make sure you're outside. it mirrors landscapes so brilliantly.
    Expand
  72. Nov 14, 2016
    8
    The 8th Radiohead release is admittedly their least ambitious in over a decade, and therefore faced a certain apathetic reaction upon it's release 2011. King Of Limbs finds Radiohead in a contemplative state, experimenting through the simplicity of looped beats and hook repetition. On reflection, while it may not be the world changing feat that fans have come to expect, TKOL resonates withThe 8th Radiohead release is admittedly their least ambitious in over a decade, and therefore faced a certain apathetic reaction upon it's release 2011. King Of Limbs finds Radiohead in a contemplative state, experimenting through the simplicity of looped beats and hook repetition. On reflection, while it may not be the world changing feat that fans have come to expect, TKOL resonates with the listener deeper after each listen and its provocative, otherworldly glow is a unique aspect in the band's catalogue, a triumph to be celebrated in itself. Expand
  73. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    It covers familiar ground, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing at all. One of people's major complaints with The King of Limbs is the length, but that's probably my favorite part. By the looks of things, I'm the only person who thinks this, but albums that are more than 45 minutes generally lose my attention, so this 37 minute album keeps me enthralled.
  74. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    It took some time to get into this album, but wow, just wow. So much brilliance, so much uniqueness, so much Radiohead. It's experimental, it's strange, it's art. Pick this up immediately and you will not be disappointed.
  75. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Once again, Radiohead have crafted an album that not only satisfies me, but surpasses my lofty expectations. This is the band that all others should aspire to be. Not in sound, but in creative evolution and consistent greatness. Radhiohead have just released their 7th masterpiece in a row, not only according to fans, not only according to critics, but both. I cannot think of another bandOnce again, Radiohead have crafted an album that not only satisfies me, but surpasses my lofty expectations. This is the band that all others should aspire to be. Not in sound, but in creative evolution and consistent greatness. Radhiohead have just released their 7th masterpiece in a row, not only according to fans, not only according to critics, but both. I cannot think of another band today (or in the past) that has had such consistent greatness. Each album evolves naturally from the last, and breaks new ground. These guys from Abingdon know what they're doing more than any other artist in music today. Expand
  76. Feb 21, 2011
    8
    Many thoughts rushed through my head upon first hearing this album. Track 1 seemed to be a mess. I found myself wondering "what happened to Jonny!?" and "Where's Phil!?" This album is definitely heavy on the electronic drums and sparse on Greenwood's electrifying riffs. I thought I was disappointed at first, but as many others have said, upon subsequent listening, each track has grown onMany thoughts rushed through my head upon first hearing this album. Track 1 seemed to be a mess. I found myself wondering "what happened to Jonny!?" and "Where's Phil!?" This album is definitely heavy on the electronic drums and sparse on Greenwood's electrifying riffs. I thought I was disappointed at first, but as many others have said, upon subsequent listening, each track has grown on me. I "get it" now. I didn't wait 3 years for Radiohead to release another "OK Computer" or "Kid A." I waited 3 years for Radiohead to release something DIFFERENT, something CHALLENGING. Something that is going to keep me coming back for more. Like a birthday gift that you have to unwrap one square inch at a time, your appreciation has grown beyond your expectations when you finally "open it up."
    Get it?
    This is not Radiohead's best album. But Radiohead are on a musical plateau so far removed from everything else that it doesn't matter. An '8' for Radiohead is an '800' for any other band. Hopefully that provides some perspective.
    Give it a listen, then listen again. You'll be glad you did.
    Expand
  77. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    At the moment this is the third review I have written for this album and I can now say that it is definitely not a bad album and eventually grows on you. While there is no doubt that it is not one of Radiohead's best albums it is still a good listen. The main disappointment with this album is how short it is. Only 37 minutes and 8 songs for $14 (I bought WAV version; $9 for lowerAt the moment this is the third review I have written for this album and I can now say that it is definitely not a bad album and eventually grows on you. While there is no doubt that it is not one of Radiohead's best albums it is still a good listen. The main disappointment with this album is how short it is. Only 37 minutes and 8 songs for $14 (I bought WAV version; $9 for lower quality MP3) is borderline $2 a song which is just way too much. I definitely feel like I have been ripped off a little by this album. I recommend getting the $9 MP3 version because I have tested the two versions and found that the audio quality is almost exactly the same, so save yourself the $5 (if you're considering buying the album). So this is my final verdict on The King of Limbs; a good album that doesn't necessarily live up to the Radiohead standard. Who knows, maybe they'll do what they did with Kid A (another short Radiohead album) and release a 19 song album (deluxe version of Amnesiac not including live performances) before the end of next year. Expand
  78. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I'll be honest; the first time I listened to this, I was half-asleep. My roommate woke up at 7 am on Friday, somehow discovered that the album had been released a day early and decided to play it in its entirety twice while I vacillated between sleep and excitement. But by my third time through the album, for one of which I was finally wholly awake, something struck me: this RadioheadI'll be honest; the first time I listened to this, I was half-asleep. My roommate woke up at 7 am on Friday, somehow discovered that the album had been released a day early and decided to play it in its entirety twice while I vacillated between sleep and excitement. But by my third time through the album, for one of which I was finally wholly awake, something struck me: this Radiohead album seemed too familiar. For a band defined by its redefinition with every album, Radiohead seemed disturbingly reminiscent, pulling far too many elements from previous work. A day later, and I would say that Radiohead has once again done exactly what they are best at: redefinition. For despite all of its reminiscence, â Expand
  79. Web
    Feb 20, 2011
    8
    It's a quality album, but a difficult album to place. In the context of evolution, I don't see it being very far beyond prior albums in a vertical sense, and not so different from prior albums in a horizontal sense. It lacks the emotional range of "In Rainbows," which was a more complete, more diverse album to my ear. "The King of Limbs" is rather an exploration and a refinement of aIt's a quality album, but a difficult album to place. In the context of evolution, I don't see it being very far beyond prior albums in a vertical sense, and not so different from prior albums in a horizontal sense. It lacks the emotional range of "In Rainbows," which was a more complete, more diverse album to my ear. "The King of Limbs" is rather an exploration and a refinement of a particular sound: intricate, cut and paste rhythms that mix acoustic and electronic percussion, layers of single note krautrock guitar lines, altered keyboards, crafty string and horn arrangements, bass lines that drift from the tonic note to give a song more motion, all crowned with Yorke's reverb soaked abstractions. It's an inimitable sound, and they seem to use the short space of this album to hone it the best they possibly can. But the majority of it's successes in the evolutionary sense are hidden from the casual listener, who cannot distinguish the subtleties as well as avid Radiohead listeners. Other critics have commented that the band has retreated back into its shell after the success of 'In Rainbows.' There is some truth to that sentiment. It's more introverted, less concerned with connecting us all or showing us something incredible; less triumphant in a word. At the same time, it's more intimate than most reviewers have given it the chance to be. They aren't turning giving us the cold shoulder. Check out the video to 'Lotus Flower.' That's a man bearing himself. Musically, the songs are well-composed, with all of the usual Radiohead trimmings and subtleties, perhaps more subtlety than any other album. Something that cannot be said enough about this band is that they are all fine musicians and that they never become content with being fine musicians only. They strive more than any other band, and it takes a very concentrated listen to glean everything they are offering. To touch on the lyrics, I'd say there is at least something to be desired, particularly after the excellent lyrics of "In Rainbows." I agree with most of the reviews I've read that the latter half of the album is stronger, and that 'Codex' is the finest song on the album, adding that it's, in my opinion, the most controlled song of their catalogue. 'Give Up The Ghost' is a gem as well, one that I predict many people will enjoy more as they hear it more. My main criticism of the album is that it's simply not enough given the four-year gap. I'm privy to the rumor that this may not be the entirety of what's to be released this year, and I can only say that it will elevate my feelings toward this album if I know it's not the complete product. How hard it is to meet expectations when you are the greatest band around I can only imagine, but this album is in no way a failure, if not a mind-blowing success. Expand
  80. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Great, great album! "The King of Limbs" is unique in comparison with anything else that the band has ever done. The album gets better with every listen, and at this point, is among my favorite Radiohead albums!
  81. Feb 23, 2011
    3
    To be quite frank, this album doesn't deserve the scores its getting. The only reason it's getting such high scores is because of the name the band has. Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of the band. My favorite albums easily include OK Computer and The Bends. But honestly, this album is pretty much crap. The first seconds of Bloom was interesting and melodic, but that's where all the goodTo be quite frank, this album doesn't deserve the scores its getting. The only reason it's getting such high scores is because of the name the band has. Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of the band. My favorite albums easily include OK Computer and The Bends. But honestly, this album is pretty much crap. The first seconds of Bloom was interesting and melodic, but that's where all the good stuff ended. The rest of the album is filled with hipster experimental electronica, and stupidly mumbled vocals such as "Good Morning Mr. Magpie, how are we today." There's no soul, no melody, no groove, no feeling or emotion. Someone hipster might say "you don't get the music man" but trust me: I do. This is easily Radiohead's worst album. If another band besides Radiohead came out with the same exact album, it would get much lower ratings, and thats the truth. Expand
  82. Feb 26, 2011
    4
    On first listen I quite enjoyed this album. However, it really doesn't hold up well on repeated listens. What i shocking for me that there is really only one track- Codex - that induces or even attempts to induce a strong EMOTIONAL response from the listener. This from the band that gave as the emotional tour de forces of OK Computer, The Bends, and even Kid A/In Rainbows.

    I give it
    On first listen I quite enjoyed this album. However, it really doesn't hold up well on repeated listens. What i shocking for me that there is really only one track- Codex - that induces or even attempts to induce a strong EMOTIONAL response from the listener. This from the band that gave as the emotional tour de forces of OK Computer, The Bends, and even Kid A/In Rainbows.

    I give it four stars as I can appreciate the technical elements of the music. And there are some interesting sounds and rhythmic structures going on in some of the songs. But art such as this, that elicits purely an intellectual response, is not really art at all. I like the Radiohead that writes music that makes you feel alive with anger, sadness or even hope. This doesn't need to "safe" music. No surprises, Paranoid Android, Lucky etc, were not safe, unoriginal songs. But they were great songs. Nothing on here compares.
    Expand
  83. Mar 27, 2011
    3
    Extremely disappointing IMO. Separator is a great song and by far superior to any of the others songs. I'm a big fan of just about everything they have created, but most of the album sounds like leftovers from In-Rainbows.
  84. May 18, 2011
    9
    This is a fine album, that continues the expected work that they were doing after hail to the thief, and back to that similar line after going somewhere off to the more sentimental side with in rainbows.
    I don't actually understand or comprehend most the criticisms made- no, sorry i do, the reviewers seem to have their head up their pretensious arses. such as saying thom is the only
    This is a fine album, that continues the expected work that they were doing after hail to the thief, and back to that similar line after going somewhere off to the more sentimental side with in rainbows.
    I don't actually understand or comprehend most the criticisms made- no, sorry i do, the reviewers seem to have their head up their pretensious arses. such as saying thom is the only musician, or its eraser mark two can only really be answered with 'are you deaf'? there is no other response to that because its clearly not. The eraser even had radiohead members on most the tracks.
    That it fails to rock, is an idea ten years in the past before kid a. and anyone describing it as minimalistic or avante-garde it seems has never listened to either of those genres. .. its simply not...
    sorry i had to defend negative ignorant criticism rather than marking the positives.
    i gave it a 9 because its very occasionally dissonant in harmonies, although that is part of the structure.
    and that it lacks by only a few strokes a radiohead signature of the melancholy and sentimental song that seem to be loved by inrainbows and okc lovers.
    a strange gothic and pagan work, a masterpiece? unsure about that i don't tend to put anything on a pedestal, to be let down. perhaps that#s the problem- that some expected a master piece sensation and instead just got a very good album that lasts for only the listening experience of the album length and doesn't try to be anything more.
    Expand
  85. May 23, 2014
    7
    After giving the album a good number of listens I am still not really convinced. It is enjoyable, sometimes. It is beautiful, sometimes. It does a lot of things very well. Everything sounds clear and lush, the singing by Yorke is fantastic whichever way you would look at it and the album feels like an album. But there remains something missing. In all Radiohead's previous ventures intoAfter giving the album a good number of listens I am still not really convinced. It is enjoyable, sometimes. It is beautiful, sometimes. It does a lot of things very well. Everything sounds clear and lush, the singing by Yorke is fantastic whichever way you would look at it and the album feels like an album. But there remains something missing. In all Radiohead's previous ventures into minimalism they remained a rock band. They looked for the dynamics, for the pathos, for the pop. This is no longer there, which results in a number of songs that simply plod along doing not much at all. It is rather boring when not much is happening and it is not expected of Radiohead. Now, is this bad? Is this a reason to give a lower mark? I think so. Expand
  86. Feb 22, 2011
    5
    this album is what being old probably feels like. it's so void of any signs of vitality, that it literally drained all energy out of me. endless loops with little to no variation, Yorke's dispassionate singing, lack of melody, harmony, and lyrics that develop and tell a story. that's not to say that the album doesn't have any positive sides to it. there are some beautiful moments withthis album is what being old probably feels like. it's so void of any signs of vitality, that it literally drained all energy out of me. endless loops with little to no variation, Yorke's dispassionate singing, lack of melody, harmony, and lyrics that develop and tell a story. that's not to say that the album doesn't have any positive sides to it. there are some beautiful moments with horns and strings and what not, but again, it's such cold dispassionate beauty void of any powerful human emotion. plus, it only takes one listen to anything from OK Computer to Hail to the Thief to demonstrate why the King of Limbs doesn't stand a chance in comparison. but it's not a bad album. it's just a disappointing radiohead album. Expand
  87. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    It seems to me that everyone expects every new Radiohead release to be the most groundbreaking album ever. That's the level the group are at. But every album that does fall short of 'a modern classic' status is still better than 95% of the average dross that is out there at the minute. It's a Radiohead album. Which means that once again it's different, challenging and thoroughly enjoyable.It seems to me that everyone expects every new Radiohead release to be the most groundbreaking album ever. That's the level the group are at. But every album that does fall short of 'a modern classic' status is still better than 95% of the average dross that is out there at the minute. It's a Radiohead album. Which means that once again it's different, challenging and thoroughly enjoyable. Especially to anyone who is sick of what passes for 'music' nowadays. Expand
  88. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    Trippy. It's no 'In Rainbows', but it's still really good. I don't understand why people are saying this is their worst album, though: I feel like 'Pablo Honey' is their worst.
  89. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    This is a very enjoyable album. They take a lot of elements from other bands and genre and create their own quite successfully. I assume the Wire Magazine and its ilk would have a plethora of music that would be better, but it is as it is.
  90. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Is this a long intro to something epic? Even if it isn't, the 8 tracks are all pretty sweet. I get the feeling I'm listening to the future of music. Some of it very complicated and unique. I'm particularly fond of "Codex," "Lotus Flower," and "Separator." In ways similar to PJ Harvey's newest release (Let England Shake), I get an eerie feeling listening to Radiohead's latest work thatIs this a long intro to something epic? Even if it isn't, the 8 tracks are all pretty sweet. I get the feeling I'm listening to the future of music. Some of it very complicated and unique. I'm particularly fond of "Codex," "Lotus Flower," and "Separator." In ways similar to PJ Harvey's newest release (Let England Shake), I get an eerie feeling listening to Radiohead's latest work that we could sit around a campfire as the apocalypse unfolds. At the same time, I do not believe this is all they intended to release. There is some mystery/surprise typical of Radiohead. Why do they have 2 10" vinyls being released with the first-ever "newspaper album" in late March? What is on those discs? Only 8 tracks? Perhaps, but I think we have not heard the last from Radiohead on this particular release. Expand
  91. Apr 5, 2011
    4
    Radiohead keeps moving farther and farther away from mainstream music, but in my opinion they went a little too far this time. Its hard to find a chorus never mind something you can hum along to. In fact its hard to determine when they are even mumbling about because the instruments are too loud. As a causul fan The King of Limbs is a disappointment.
  92. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Great Album, grows on you the more you listen to it. I liked Lotus Flower, Give up the Ghost the most. Has a nice haunting flow about it. Thom Yorke as one of the most distinct voices in rock music
  93. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Really like the new album. Been listening to it for the last two days. It opens up little secrets every time you listen to it. For a band continuing with this quality i hope they´ll never stop!
  94. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For most bands, an album like TKOL would be a career high. For Radiohead, it was a friday. It's not an accessible album, like it's predecessor In Rainbows, and is sonically dense. Layers upon layers are carefully peeled back each time you listen through to slowly reveal the true heart of the songs, more of their mystery is unravelled in the accompanying remix album, and even then, months later, some tiny detail that skipped your attention will suddenly become a vital part of the song. I don't expect it to become a general favourite, but for those who are into this kind of thing it is a stunning odyssey through a forest of sonic experimentation, produced carefully enough to hear the individual leaves. Taking that metaphor even further, the album is as varied as the forest itself can be. "Bloom" emerges into a lost world of intricate rhythms and trills of melody, the strange creatures of the woods looking on as you stumble through their world. "Morning Mr Magpie" is a frantic chase through the undergrowth, antagonistic and acussatory. "Little by Little" is far out of sight of civilization, almost leaving behind those "routines and shedules, a drug that kills you" in exchange for the freedom to roam through the ancient trunks and twisted branches of its domain. "Feral" is what trees do at night when you're not looking. As the small hours of the night approach, "Lotus Flower" cavorts in secret glades under moonlight, promising all of nature's secrets. If there is indeed an "empty space inside [your] heart where the weeds take root" then this has the power to "set you free". As the moon sets, the forest lies still and there's "no one around". "Codex" is a slow introspective walk through the trees, reflecting on these secrets. Dawn approaches, and birds in the branches above flit back and forth between branches, oblivious to your presence. Here is where you "Give up the Ghost" and become part of this forest. "Separator" finally burst out from the trunks into full daylight, like waking up from a "long and vivid dream". Retreat into nature is the heart of The King of Limbs and is an interesting counterpoint to earlier albums which dealt with the isolation of life in a high speed urban world. Over the course of their career, they have left this urban paranoia, journeyed through endless suburbia, and finally emerged, free, into the forest. Radiohead sound happy on this album, specifically in closing track "Separator" where Yorke sings "If you think this is over then you're wrong" with guileless joy. Expand
  95. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    Radiohead is hands down my favorite band of all time, and what I love about them is that the music never presents itself right away. It always unfolds over repeat listening and this cd is no exception. Something that can seem non-melodic can at times present little snippets that join together to form a melody and over time that's what takes over in your ears. They are never predictable,Radiohead is hands down my favorite band of all time, and what I love about them is that the music never presents itself right away. It always unfolds over repeat listening and this cd is no exception. Something that can seem non-melodic can at times present little snippets that join together to form a melody and over time that's what takes over in your ears. They are never predictable, and they are always challenging...as great music should be. I don't like this cd as much as OK Computer or In Rainbows, but I still like it better than pretty much anything else I've heard this year. And knowing how this music unfolds it very well may become a favorite 20 listens down the road. Codex is just an amazingly beautiful song, and worth the price of admission alone. Expand
  96. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    Perhaps the most percussive album, Phil Selway has his coming out party as one of the most inventive drummers in modern rock. Beginning chaotic and frantic, the album draws on it's more peaceful latter half to really blow you away. Some may ask, "where are the guitars?" but this is no The Bends. We are listening to a more mature and relaxed Radiohead that does not "want to go into thatPerhaps the most percussive album, Phil Selway has his coming out party as one of the most inventive drummers in modern rock. Beginning chaotic and frantic, the album draws on it's more peaceful latter half to really blow you away. Some may ask, "where are the guitars?" but this is no The Bends. We are listening to a more mature and relaxed Radiohead that does not "want to go into that creative hoo-ha of a long-play record again" as Yorke has said. I can see why this record may not pander to some fans but it is definitely beautiful music that should be put on repeat and enjoyed over and over. Expand
  97. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    If there was ever an album that was created to cure insomnia, this would be it. A soulless effort from a band that has so many talents, too bad it was wasted on incessant beats. A great disappointment.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    80
    There's just incredible depth to The King Of Limbs, and if you're impatient, you'll miss it.
  2. May 24, 2011
    80
    It's been a long time since Radiohead made records with an eye toward anything more than satisfying the band's own creative impulses, if it ever did. Those who are prepared to stick it out, though, may well find The King of Limbs worth the wait.
  3. Mojo
    May 16, 2011
    60
    They've delivered their biggest surprise to date. A record that falls short for its constituent parts. [May 2011, p.100]