The King of Limbs

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The King of Limbs Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 654 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Released a day earlier than expected as a digital download on February 18th, this is the eighth album from the epic, experimental UK five-piece.

Top Track

Lotus Flower
I will shape myself into your pocket Invisible Do what you want Do what you want I will shrink and I will disappear I will slip into the groove and... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Like every other album, there are the trademarks we've all come to grow and love from the band and by the end of this, all of the most loving adjectives one could shower on an album will be spread all over The King of Limbs.
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    As with anything that's trying to do something bigger and better, lessons of that magnitude can take more time to sink in, definitely longer than the handful of hours we've had to absorb what The King of Limbs might be all about. In that sense, the jury is still out on The King of Limbs and that's because there's always something more to Radiohead.
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    King Of Limbs is a subtle, muti-layered affair - surprisingly low-key in places, and it certainly won't win back any fans who checked out in the late '90s.
  4. May 24, 2011
    80
    It's been a long time since Radiohead made records with an eye toward anything more than satisfying the band's own creative impulses, if it ever did. Those who are prepared to stick it out, though, may well find The King of Limbs worth the wait.
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    70
    Masters of mood that they are, Radiohead digitally weave stuttering, glitchy loops of drums and guitars with real instruments, Thom Yorke's mournful moan and keening falsetto acting as a binding agent, creating an alluringly dour atmosphere.
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    69
    Last time around, on 2007's In Rainbows, the music was just as interesting as all of the hoopla surrounding the album's impromptu, pay-what-you-will release. The King of Limbs cannot boast the same.
  7. Feb 24, 2011
    40
    If this were purely an experimental electronic album, we'd overlook the lack of hooks, but even as such it's not particularly impressive.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 209
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Radiohead, under the gun of expectation, have not disappointed with their eighth studio album "The King of Limbs." The title itself isRadiohead, under the gun of expectation, have not disappointed with their eighth studio album "The King of Limbs." The title itself is provocative of something large, and even the album cover hints as well. The King of Limbs is very drum heavy, which is somewhat of a step away from their usual routine, but still manages to resonate the true Radiohead frequencies. One thing that sticks out is the evident direction with which Radiohead seems to be tending. This album leans toward a modern classical direction. This may be due to leader Thom Yorke's infatuation with dubstep and certain electronic music. On the other hand, the band still keeps its grounding, with Johnny Greenwood's haunting keyboards, and Colin's bass driving the beats of Phil Selway's lathered drum section. The King of Limbs is very beat heavy, with Thom using his voice to complement the aura surrounding the left and right that make up the production of Nigel Godrich. There is a different Radiohead in every one of the eight songs on The King of Limbs, with the majority of the tunes relating back to the second set of songs on In Rainbows. Lotus Flower, which has a brilliant video concurrently released today, is the awe-inspiring track to The King of Limbs. It contains hints of dubstep, but also plays fairly close to Idioteque. Thom Yorke's vocals on this album as a whole reach high and low, as expected from Radiohead nearly twenty years now. One prolific aspect of this album is the ability Yorke encompasses during his "sliding" of vocals. Yorke, now in his forties, still has the power he had back in 2000's Kid A, and continues to create new avenues to hone and elaborate his use of vocals. Radiohead never ceases to disappoint, and certainly do not do so here. The album is just under forty minutes in length, which is a true disappointment, but I hope the "Newspaper" edition that comes out will contain bonus songs or something of the sort. Radiohead's eighth album The King of Limbs is a knocker with power, force, and a soul to reckon with, the only inhibition the album may experience is its length-challenged state. But this may also be a strength. It may cause a desire for more! Keep the people guessing. They have been keeping the public guessing since way back in September, why stop now? I would also like to strike a chord with the lyric substance in the album. The album contains parts, in its minute state, with little lyrical substance, which, in my opinion, can be disappointing. I will say it now that, the length and lyrical shortcomings may cause a negative stir among the Radiohead fan base. But if you ask me, this album is In Rainbow's antagonist. It takes In Rainbows, and flips it on its side. A new world of music, but keeps the Radiohead vibrations resonating. This album is brilliant. It is no surprise nor expectation fulfilled. It is Radiohead without being typical or predictable. Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Radiohead mercilessly melt faces again! Each song- Diamonds of the purest quality. Yorke's blistering falsetto glows- tender like great soulRadiohead mercilessly melt faces again! Each song- Diamonds of the purest quality. Yorke's blistering falsetto glows- tender like great soul singers of past (Sam Cooke, Redding, Brown). Foremost contributer Colin greenwood, Tares silence with chainsaw bass-lines of delicious groove. Selway creates amazing energy and dissonance, stapling each song with jazz blasts and light concussions that would find themselves right at home on some early Brian Eno ( which brings to heart a strong resemlance to the late talking Head masterpiece "Remain In Light") Radiohead strips away the need to create new found territory and relishes in great works from the past; subtly perfecting a formula of creative brilliance! With a sleak runtime of 38 minutes radiohead taps into the psyche of the modern man - a record built for the morning jog, drive to work, late night **** Radiohead repeats on the mysteriously titled SEPARATOR- "If you think this is over, then your wrong". Should they flood us with another release soon-> This listener wouldn't be surprised. Every previous Radiohead release has yielded vast amounts of wonderful material. Lets cross our fingers! ---Music this good doesn't come 'round very often- Go to bed with your unworthy compliments. Radiohead more than any other have earned the right to be completely devoid of **** Let freedom ring. The King of Limbs yearns for a world rid of toxicity- Save the flowers as this record will have it. 10/10 Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Its definitely a grower, like all Radioheads album. I found it to be disappointing at first listen, but maybe i was isnt expecting somethingIts definitely a grower, like all Radioheads album. I found it to be disappointing at first listen, but maybe i was isnt expecting something else. I kept on listening time and time again, and i found that it had a different feel to it. And to be honest, now i will keep on playing it...I just loved it, Lotus flowers and Thom Yorke's dance was futuristic and loveable Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    This is a very solid effort from the greatest band in the world. While it easily pales in comparison to their previous album, In Rainbows,This is a very solid effort from the greatest band in the world. While it easily pales in comparison to their previous album, In Rainbows, it's a nice detour from their normal stuff. An accurate equivalent to this album would probably be Thom Yorke's solo album, or perhaps their Com Lag EP, both ambient and electronic heavy. The biggest problem with King of Limbs is that it feels like an incomplete album, which the number of tracks might suggest. There seems to be a real lack of closure in these songs and none of the songs truly point the album in any sort of direction. Even so, there aren't any true duds on this album and despite a real lack of hooks in these songs, there's an odd catchyness to them. Quite possibly their most enigmatic album to date, if you are a fan of their later works, you will definitely enjoy this one.

    Johnny's songs to not miss: Bloom, Morning Mr Magpie (Best song of the album), Lotus Flower, Separator.

    Johnny's song to skip: Feral
    Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    Radiohead have done it again, just like with Kid A, they have managed to piss off a a lot of fans and extend their music to a new sound andRadiohead have done it again, just like with Kid A, they have managed to piss off a a lot of fans and extend their music to a new sound and almost a new genre. Their new album is dominated by Thom's lyrics and Phil's heavy drum beats and varying electronic effects, with almost no dominant guitar. It sounds much more modern, much more bleak than their other music. But, like all of Radiohead's music, its incredibly complex and beautiful. Its a completely new style that you'll be hard pressed to classify but its no worse than their other albums, just different. Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    I tried to listen to this album as though it were a band I had never heard before and I felt a 7 would be a fair score. It's good, but it'sI tried to listen to this album as though it were a band I had never heard before and I felt a 7 would be a fair score. It's good, but it's not great. It is thick on electronic experimentation and thin on guitar, some may say similar to Kid A and Amnesiac, but it feels more like a follow up to Eraser than anything. In Rainbows was Radiohead at it's best, King of Limbs is the band deep in experimentation, some of it is good, some of it obscure enough to be listenable but not something you 'need' to listen to. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    This album is so bad its unlistenable. Once is enough for me and i love Radiohead but then again, i dont listen to KId A either. Crap is crapThis album is so bad its unlistenable. Once is enough for me and i love Radiohead but then again, i dont listen to KId A either. Crap is crap people. If its good i will come back for more. Until then im donating this CD to the salvation army for some poor unsuspecting punter to try and figure out what the hell is going on through his headphones. Expand

See all 209 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. February's Best New Music

    February's Best New Music Image
    Published: March 1, 2011
    Music critics were in a mellow mood last month, preferring more minimalist and restrained works, including the latest releases from PJ Harvey and Radiohead. Find out more about February's best-reviewed albums, and listen to full songs from each one.