The Lady Killer - Cee Lo Green
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 3 out of 40

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    The album is something like what we have been missing, soul. It may not be the most heart felt, or Al Greenish kinda soul but he moves with a style and form that I have not heard since Ol Mista Black Joe Lewis of last year. Easy to recommend as it is to listen to.
  2. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Groovy beats combine with Cee-Lo's sweet, sexy voice to craft one of the best albums of the year. As a fan of Gnarls Barkley, I couldn't be any happier with his album. BTW Did anyone notice he sung the credits from Kung Fu Panda?
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Cee-Lo delivers the earth shaking, funky masterpiece that modern Pop Music has been waiting for. It's a breath of fresh air coming from an artist who is not only deeply grounded in our collective roots yet still pushing music forward in a way that I feel is what we need right now.
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    7
    Surprisingly there is more to this album than just the extremely catchy F*** YOU. My fav track is Bright Lights, Bigger City. It kind of has a Michael Jackson feel.
  5. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    A brilliant album and my favorite of 2010 so far. brilliant vocal skills shown by Cee lo and this makes a great album which goes down as a great soul album. this album also brings what i feel certain new artists are missing which is a fantastic voice from green.
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    This is an album of complete soul. Its somethings thats been somewhat missing from the industry in recent times. From start to finish it was enjoyable to listen to and definitely an album i would recommend especially if you are a soul fan. Great album.
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    0
    Way overplayed, and the songs that are overplayed ("F**k You, and Bright Lights, Bigger City) just plainly suck. There is absolutly nothing catchy about this album. The songs dont even deserve to be on the Bubbling Under The Hot 100, or the album dont derserve to be on the Billboard 200. Would be in the top 10 worst albums ever, and several songs on the top 10 worst songs ever for me
  8. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    It was a breath of fresh air to hear Cee-Lo Green's smooth, soulful voice on British radio stations, dominated mainly by the indie, rock and alternative scenes; which was probably one of the main reasons his songs achieved such a huge success in the UK. The album does well to show off his silky vocals and clever, witty song-writing skills, which I feel is best represented by the song 'Bodies'.

    Overall it is an enjoyable album to listen to and a great advert for the neo-soul genre.
    Expand
  9. May 31, 2012
    8
    A Very Good Album!
    Great Vocals And Music!
  10. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    From the beginning till the very end, every song caught me by surprise as to how beautiful (see i said Beautiful not catchy or fun, though it was those too) each song was. Unlike the Katy Perrys of the world, this guy know s his stuff and he even made classical sounding music sound amazing. Like those tunes show pure songwriting talent. I love this album and I basically favorited all the songs on the album on Spotify. that's how good it is. Keep doing what you do Cee Lo. We love you even if the rest of the world are too blind to see how good you are. Expand
  11. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    Cee Lo's Lady killer is " one of the Lady Killers hit songs i have ever heard" . Grade A+.......................................................................
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    He's keen to please, but what's remarkable about The Lady Killer is that he manages to avoid all the bubblebath boudoir-soul cliches that litter most R&B albums.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    40
    It all goes down like kung pao chicken and Sapporo, but you'll be at Church's in an hour.
  3. Dec 23, 2010
    80
    The Lady Killer doesn't have the same tightly focused future-soul sound as Green's other project, Gnarls Barkley, but that gives the singer a chance to show his wider ranging musical appetites with elements of vintage R&B, irresistible pop and even a couple of sleek spy-movie riffs.