• Record Label: Wichita
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2012
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 24, 2012
    84
    The Lion's Roar is a gorgeous record and a spectacular follow-up to their 2010 debut.
  2. First Aid Kit sing harmonies so close you couldn't run a Band Aid between them.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    89
    The Lion's Roar lacks gravitas, but that will come with time and heartbreak. The soul, candor, and the way they sing "darling," that's the hard stuff, and it's scarcely sounded more gorgeous.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 28, 2013
    9
    The Lion's Roar, by First Aid Kit otherwise known as Swedish Sisters, Johanna and Klara Söderberg is an album that came out back in JanuaryThe Lion's Roar, by First Aid Kit otherwise known as Swedish Sisters, Johanna and Klara Söderberg is an album that came out back in January 2012. Ashamedly I only really fell in love with them back in October 2012 and have since then, not stopped listening to them (what has happened to my complex sentences?)…

    This Folk/Country/Americana album is bristling with life and energy wistful sighs and cries and an air of nostalgia this is an album that could have come from the sixties, seventies, eighties, nineties or any other decade in the past seventy years. Lyrically their as strong as any others The Lion's Roar, This Old Routine and To a Poet being the strongest in this album but there are no bad songs.

    This, as an album, is hard to review, because much like Laura Marling, they have an instinctive sound one that I like for no other reason than that is resonates within me *spiritual-cretin-smug-look*. I can tell that it is very very good but describing it is hard it sounds like winter grown from autumn. There is a flowing cohesion that rings out especially strongly on Emmylou, a joyful shout-out to folk/country legends Jonny Cash and Emmylou Harris. This album sounds like escaping from Stockholm's winter.

    There are moments of grief and regret in Blue and To a Poet, and Dance to Another Tune has a mournful stillness to it like the first touches of daylight in mid January. This is an album born of winter- but it carries none of the gloom or numbing depression.

    My personal favourite song is To a Poet, which catches me in the throat just a bit though. As they sing "But Frank put it best when he said/"You can't plan on the heart"/ Those words keep me on my feet/ When I think I might just fall apart…" And their voices hit a note that pierces human emotion like an angelic needle, you know you're in for a treat"

    (On 'Cornish Guilt 'n' Stuff' Blogspot)
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    This duo actually first got recognition several years ago for doing a startlingly beautiful Youtube cover of Fleet Foxes Tiger MountainThis duo actually first got recognition several years ago for doing a startlingly beautiful Youtube cover of Fleet Foxes Tiger Mountain Peasant Song. This follows in that vein, really very nicely. This will be on my top ten list for the year certainly. It's a beauty from start to finish. As I've said elsewhere: pretty folkin' Swede. Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    Awesome! Very Refreshing!

    Clear influences from 70s but at the same time their melodies and harmonies are completely new. Their voices were
    Awesome! Very Refreshing!

    Clear influences from 70s but at the same time their melodies and harmonies are completely new. Their voices were meant to sing together. Great stuff.
    Full Review »