The Majestic Silver Strings

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Majestic Silver Strings Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Buddy Miller and guitarists Bill Frisell, Marc Ribot, and Greg Leisz come together to sing classic country songs and a few originals. Julie Miller, Shawn Colvin, Emmylou Harris, Lee Ann Womack, and Ann McCrary are some of the guests on the album.
Buy On
  • Record Label: New West
  • Genre(s): Country, Folk, Blues, Americana, Gospel, Religious, Progressive Country, Country Gospel, Blues Gospel
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Bury Me Not on the Lone Prairie
"O bury me not on the lone prairie" These words came low and mournfully From the pallid lips of the youth who lay On his dying bed at the end of the... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Uncut
    May 13, 2011
    Fresh from his role as bandleader/producer on Robert Plant's Band Of Joy, Miller has corralled fellow guitarists Bill Frisell, Marc Ribot and Greg Leisz for this fine ensemble project. [Jun 2011, p.92]
  2. The results are fluent, tasteful, ghostly and more than a little wistful. Ideally served with morning coffee.
  3. 80
    This record is way cool. It may not seem like it upon first listen, but after a couple spins it's hard to forget.
  4. 80
    This is a guitarists' mutual appreciation society affair that ought to be unbearable, but is actually gorgeous, thanks to the modest brilliance of those involved.
  5. Mar 10, 2011
    The Majestic Silver Strings is a touch strange and a heap of pretty, a dollop of tradition and a tablespoon of innovation.
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    Buddy Miller organised a Grade A country guitarist convention, threw in some wonderful guest vocalists and then recorded, as if live, an impressive album.
  7. Mar 10, 2011
    Although this collection of classic country sprinkled with a couple of originals features an extraordinarily talented assemblage of musical collaborators, it never coalesces into anything above average.

See all 11 Critic Reviews