The Massacre

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 253

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SalwanS
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    puki :D
  2. stephaniem
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    over all a brillent cd loved evey bit of it i recently was bought it for ma 16 th bday an i put the whole album on ma ipod .............. love 50 cent he is brillent i also loved his flim an all his music****
  3. benm
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    this was an awesome album
  4. MarkW.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    It's Fiddy...I don't see why everyone is hating it lol..
  5. KC
    Mar 6, 2005
    7
    Man... I've been a huge fan of 50 for the past two years. So much so, that I even bought Get Rich or Die Tryin'. That is sayin alot considering that I have over 10 gig of mp3s. After all his recent beef, all I have to say is "why?". 50 had everything going for him, and he was the biggest artist in hip-hop by far. With that aside, I was still looking forward to The Massacre. But Man... I've been a huge fan of 50 for the past two years. So much so, that I even bought Get Rich or Die Tryin'. That is sayin alot considering that I have over 10 gig of mp3s. After all his recent beef, all I have to say is "why?". 50 had everything going for him, and he was the biggest artist in hip-hop by far. With that aside, I was still looking forward to The Massacre. But after seeing what readers on metacritic and alot of other sites have said, this is definitily looking like another CD to download. Jimmy B... keep it real. P.S. Ja Rule is still absolutely garbo Expand
  6. RuperB
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    this is the greatest album of all time. 50 cent is the future. The game doesnt know what he has done. G Unit
  7. AnthonyM
    Apr 15, 2005
    7
    It A FALL from Get Rich or Die Tring
  8. P.I.M.P
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    D.C...you dont know shit!!!...you say this things about 50...cuz...you are jeluse maybe? i can see that you have no clue what is a good rap...so next time keep you fucking opinion to your self...by the way...NAS is sucks so is JayZ...
  9. BrannonM
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    The beats interest me more than Get rich at this point. G-unit is full of female oriented beats now, which needs to stop, but for all the candy shop like songs he releases he's still hot fire.
  10. Shawanda
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    i love this cd. people think because i luv em but if u listen to it its too exclusive. im not gonna lie it has its bad parts cuz hes always puttin girls down & imma female myself. but other than that its hot.
  11. DominicG
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    50 cents new album is perfect because of his spectacular 1st cd everyone thinks hes falling of but hes not. He kinda wanted the Massacre not to be so good even though it is threw my eyes perfect most fans are going to be disapointted. So when he drops his next album this year it will be looked at as a classic and if you listen to 50's lyrics he even says "This is Chess not Checkers 50 cents new album is perfect because of his spectacular 1st cd everyone thinks hes falling of but hes not. He kinda wanted the Massacre not to be so good even though it is threw my eyes perfect most fans are going to be disapointted. So when he drops his next album this year it will be looked at as a classic and if you listen to 50's lyrics he even says "This is Chess not Checkers these the wrong shots/after oyur next move i'll give you what i got." thats proves my theory. After the Massacre 50 will drop a Boab cd that will earn the fans respect back and it will be a lot easier after dropping a stank cd. Expand
  12. st
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    ALBUM IS THHHE SHITTT!! RATE 10
  13. RJ
    Mar 17, 2005
    8
    People need to stop Hatin. This ain't a bad album at all. If u like commercial rap such as G-unit, u'll love this album. but if u expect cannibus type lyrics ur looking in the wrong place. All 21 songs are better than average. And a lot of standout tracks. Lots of great hooks and beats.
  14. BrentS
    Mar 3, 2005
    9
    A lot of people seem to be hating on this album, and I am no big 50 fan, but I must say, this album is pretty damn good, I actually like it better than his debut album, he comes with balls on this one and a lot of the songs will stay in your head for a while, he most def supassed my expectations.
  15. AG
    Mar 3, 2005
    7
    Pretty Good Album. Does not live up to the hype, as it isnt as good as his debut, but all the tracks will keep you hooked untill he releases another album.
  16. alexm
    Mar 4, 2005
    9
    this album is pretty tight but i like get rich or die tryin better but its still a great album
  17. tyler
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    i bought this and didnt expect much, and was disappointed by the first couple songs but once i got to gatman and robin, the cd got 10 times better and had amazing songs from that point on
  18. Amanda
    Mar 4, 2005
    8
    Overall I would say its a break from its original without dropping everything that 50 in known for. You have some of your classic 50 and then he dabbles with something different which you want from an artist. I would say its worth the time to take a listen.
  19. SKEEBO
    Mar 5, 2005
    9
    get rich or die tryin was a 10. this is almost as good. it could use more DRE tracks. otherwise it is a solid album.
  20. AnthonyB
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Great CD, dont judge a cd by its cover, got some good songs, got some bad ones, i like it all... good shit!!!!!!!
  21. DeigoP
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    50cent is hot,tha whole g-unit and aftermath,fuck all these critic's saying that 50 ain't hot.i know he is.People angry at 50 ,cuz he came in tha game strong and made it easy as shit to do.Wordup
  22. Noname
    Mar 5, 2005
    8
    Not as good as the games album and not as good as get rich or die trying but it´s not bad! Piggy bank, gunz comes out, i´m supposed to die tonight and candy shop is the best tracks!
  23. Jon
    Mar 6, 2005
    8
    The album is good, but definatly not up to his standards. 50 is a talented lyricist, but it kinda feels like this CD was rushed just a tad bit and not put together like it should have been. But it's still a really fun listen, and it showcases what all 50 can do, as heard by the various types of styles that he shows us what he can do. The lifesaver for the albumn though, was it's The album is good, but definatly not up to his standards. 50 is a talented lyricist, but it kinda feels like this CD was rushed just a tad bit and not put together like it should have been. But it's still a really fun listen, and it showcases what all 50 can do, as heard by the various types of styles that he shows us what he can do. The lifesaver for the albumn though, was it's beats. They're still as clean as ever. Expand
  24. JosephS
    Mar 7, 2005
    9
    Rap music, assuming the beats aren't lame, is about DELIVERY. 50 Cent's DELIVERY is just as tight as ever. This album is not hip hop. 50 Cent is not trying to (snicker) raise awareness or provide cultural insight. And people who just go around giving anything that isn't Destiny's Child a bad review on the basis that it's "disrespectful to women" need to get a life Rap music, assuming the beats aren't lame, is about DELIVERY. 50 Cent's DELIVERY is just as tight as ever. This album is not hip hop. 50 Cent is not trying to (snicker) raise awareness or provide cultural insight. And people who just go around giving anything that isn't Destiny's Child a bad review on the basis that it's "disrespectful to women" need to get a life and start basing their opinions on the same criteria as normal people. This album may be more of the same, but that's the POINT now, isn't it. Expand
  25. PhillipI
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    This CD is Tight.... I dont know why all you are tripping and saying it sucks and 50 cent is over.. Man if he is over how come is album is selling so good right know. You all are just haters. The flow of the album is incredible, and the beats are just what hip-hop likes. A definite must buy.
  26. AlexH
    Mar 7, 2005
    7
    Beats, catchy choruses (a rapper with vocals, finally), And fifty being himself, what more could ctritics ask for.
  27. MajaS
    Apr 7, 2005
    8
    A very good album. If there weren't so many songs it would be better than Get Rich.
  28. AndaranP
    Jun 28, 2005
    7
    In fact all the productions on this album is masterfull, but Fiddy ain`t. On "Get Rich or die tryin" u could sense the energy here he just spits mindless rhymes about how to fuck his enemies and how to fuck the girls. I only felt some energy on "im supposed to die tonight". Its a plain album that delivers good production, good hooks(as always with 50), but crap rap.
  29. DennisV
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    This album is incredible. Any one who gives it a 4 or below is an idiot or just hates 50. This album is way more original than the first.
  30. DRED
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    This CD is great!! I dont know why all you losers are giving it such a bad rating....i bet you dont even listen to it you idiots...this CD has amazing beats and lyrics its awesome BUY IT!!!
  31. TerryM
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    great follow up from get rich
  32. ANGELAA
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    The CD rocks, it isn't the best, but it comes close. I love 50 Cent he is so hott.
  33. JarodC
    Mar 28, 2005
    8
    Great album but we expect more from someone like 50 cent too bad it wasn't better than Get Rich or Die Tryin
  34. shaneces
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    i love you 50.
  35. sasham
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    this cd is h.o.t u peolple be hating cuz 50 is nice pssss!any whoo to all u haters whatever then don't buy his cd.this cd was fire
  36. TinaE
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    I love the album, it's raw and gritty and very nostalgic for me. Maybe I'm biased....I love Fiddy. There's not a man alive that can touch him. Curtis, you are the absolute greatest. All my love
  37. CvPillay
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Love the album....Good Shit Man!!!!!
  38. JasonW
    Mar 3, 2005
    9
    It is a very good CD. Some of the beats are okay, some I wasn't feelin though.
  39. qayyumy
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    i agree... the album starst 2 b good after i m supposied 2 die tonight gatman and robbin..e.tc r good songs
  40. MalekP
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Why the hate on this album? This shit is classic IMO.
  41. Eric
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    This album is off the fucking chanz nigga, I was listening to it, It just blows "Get Rich Or Die Trying" out of the water. I think there is some litlle bitches that dislike 50 cuz he rips on Nas and Ja Rule for being the pussies they are. Besides, Nas fucking blows at being a rap artist. He hasn't had an album yet that can compare to 50's 8 Million!!! This album is worth the This album is off the fucking chanz nigga, I was listening to it, It just blows "Get Rich Or Die Trying" out of the water. I think there is some litlle bitches that dislike 50 cuz he rips on Nas and Ja Rule for being the pussies they are. Besides, Nas fucking blows at being a rap artist. He hasn't had an album yet that can compare to 50's 8 Million!!! This album is worth the money spent on it. _End_ Expand
  42. BrentK
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    I great following up to get rich or die trying, Good beats along with good lyrics, 50 is real, hes about to put alot of rappers out of business
  43. ahmadj
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    i love him so much
  44. CynthiaC.
    Mar 6, 2005
    9
    i think this album is better than get rich. and to whoever said 50 doesn't have talent, lets see if you can do better. 50 is one of the best right now and his last song "like it or love it" is my favorite on the entire album cuz it says the truth that he's gonna be around forever.
  45. daveyj
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    5 hot songs, which is more than you can say with most albums. a few crappy ones. the rest are solid. way better than i expected and a solid, conistent effort. not too different from get rich or die tryin, but if you liked that one you'll probably like this. the 5 hot songs: Gunz Come Out, Ski Mask Way, Ryder Music, Position of Power, I Don't Need Em
  46. Jegolasl
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    This cd is just very good... the variety is pretty big, and sometimes 50 even sings instead of rapping. The beats and rap are simply fantastic, and with G-Unit and Olivia on several tracks, the cd will be the best of this year.
  47. fiddy
    Apr 21, 2005
    7
    A good cd but a downfall from get rich or die tryin'. The best tracks are outta control, just a little bit and im supposed to die tonight.
  48. mohdhafeezmhd
    Apr 28, 2005
    7
    get dying and try buying this c.d.
  49. ConceptJ
    Apr 8, 2005
    7
    What have you been smoking Roger B? ("I don't really give a damn about the b/s rap "beefs") then you go and quote a Jadakiss diss! And the album, well it's better than I thought it would be. Some tracks are good but there's too many rnb type songs on the album but that's what Snoop and LL are doing at the moment.
  50. ArjanD
    May 24, 2005
    9
    It's a good album with some pretty nice songs the only thing that i don't like is that there are a few songs that just are there to fill up the cd.
  51. laquan
    May 6, 2005
    10
    it was better than get rich or die trying
  52. FabriceS
    Jul 20, 2005
    9
    This album is great .
  53. TahirM
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    best ever
  54. job
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    best cd ever
  55. JamesM
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    This cd is the shit. Amazing beats and amazing lyrics. Buy this cd right now Best Tracks- They are all great
  56. goatman
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    great album
  57. Mikey
    Mar 19, 2005
    9
    The beats on this CD are amazing and the lyrics are decent. There are a few great songs and a bunch of solids ones as well. Despite what 50 says, this CD won't top his first, but it's still a great rap CD. I'm not sure why so many people are giving it such low ratings.
  58. ZeroCool
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    Ya this is a good album.Not as good as "Beg for Mercy" But still a masterpiece for this time. Love it or hate it ur choice.
  59. johnr
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    best alblum in a while
  60. EmilyL
    Mar 23, 2005
    7
    It's ok. 50 cent is a pretty good rapper.
  61. ryanb
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    whats up with you! this is a brilliant album, ok, its not as good as get rich or die tryin but it deserves more than 5.8/10. it should at least be an 8/10.
  62. EddieC
    May 15, 2005
    10
    Another stellar effot by Fiddy.
  63. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Fantastic album.It is just as good as Get rich or die tryin' without a doubt.Just a lil bit,Candy shop,In my hood,Gunz come out,Gatman and Robin,God gave me style,Outta control,Baltimore love thing,Disco inferno etc. etc. So many classic songs I could go on.Phenomenal work!
  64. Apr 22, 2015
    9
    A great sequel to GODT, the massacre is still packed with a near-perfect and explosive production by Dre and Em, 50 is still angry and dope on the mic. Maybe relying a little bit more on club bangers than the previous one, The massacre is still true to its gangsta ambitions. Piggy bank and Gunz come out are highlights on the album.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Not all of Massacre is as immediately catchy as Get Rich, but it's close.
  2. Los Angeles Times
    75
    A joyride of an album that's as fun as it is familiar. [2 Mar 2005, p.E2]
  3. It's pretty much all the same synth leads, bang-bang beats, and tired rhymes as every other Aftermath related project since The Eminem Show, which wasn't that great either.