The Next Day - David Bowie
The Next Day Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the works for over two years with producer Tony Visconti, this is the first new studio release from David Bowie in ten years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    100
    The Next Day is a loud, thrilling, steamrollingly confident rock and roll album full of noise, energy, and words that--if as cryptic as ever they were--sound like they desperately need to be sung. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    100
    It is an enormous pleasure to report that the new David Bowie album is an absolute wonder: urgent, sharp-edged, bold, beautiful and baffling, an intellectually stimulating, emotionally charged, musically jagged, electric bolt through his own mythos and the mixed-up, celebrity-obsessed, war-torn world of the 21st century.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    88
    It’s his most consistent and rewarding work since “Scary Monsters and Super Creeps” in 1980.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    An album that's thought-provoking, strange and filled with great songs.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    There are no duds here, though Bowie definitely misses the hipster mark on occasion.
  6. It demands that you listen to it in this moment, not that you give it an easy ride because this is the man who made ‘Heroes’; and its songs more than live up to the demand.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    40
    The rest of the album makes the distance between now and (Berlin) then of "Where Are We Now?" painfully evident, a pain heightened by Visconti's failure to convert this collection of session muso workouts into anything memorable. [May 2013, p.55]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    At first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time with it´s catchy melodies and fresh energy. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    After 10 years David Bowie releases his new album 'The Next Day'; an experimental collection of songs that are the best in his catalogue of material and the best since 'Scary Monsters...' 33 years ago. After some disappointing work in the 90s and early 2000s this is a return to form for Bowie and is the greatest comeback album for any act of the past decade. From nostalgic ballads (Where Are We Now) to songs from the perspective of school shooters and WW2 soldiers (Valentine's Day and I'd Rather Be High respectively) this is Bowie at his most creative and innovative. Expect more of this in the future. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Bowie is back! The songs are melodically tight, arrangement-wise a treat, and lyrically brilliant Which is the reason we all tuned into Bowie in the first place. It grows with each passing listen Definitely one of 2013's best album, un-expectation and all. Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    8
    David Bowie is back to his best with this release in my opinion. This album is more rocky than some of his previous works and the album stands out because of this. My only complaint would be many of the songs sound similar. Apparently 29 tracks were recorded so I really hope these are released as well! Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    I'm on about my 6th or 7th listen. "The Next Day" and "Where Are We Now?" rank as two of Bowie's best songs. I like "I'd Rather Be High" and to some degree "The Stars Are Out Tonight", which I imagine the public will like best. After that it's a whole lot of rinky-dink filler tunes and the last few songs just end the whole record on a sad and sorry wimper. The title track should come last because it rages against the dying of the light. The praise for this record is a little overblown. 4 good songs, the rest is filler. About as good as you can hope for these days. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    5
    Sadly, there nothing special about this album except it is Bowie's return. I am glad he is back and his voice sounds great. The production is professional and everything is done like the pro he is. However, there is nothing memorable here that makes one scream out to play a certain track again. It is frankly a boring CD. You will put it on the in the rack after the third listen. Now that he is back, may the next one contain some rock and roll. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    I'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boring pieces of rubbish to ever pollute the airwaves. It's even worse than that; it's excrutiatingly painful and puke-inducing to listen to. Even the most non-musically-talented garage band can do better than this.

    Bowie is the third most brilliant musician to have ever lived (after Pink Floyd and Vangelis). What on earth went wrong?

    And why do so many people appear to like this album (or are all the reviewers just paid record company shills)?
    Collapse

See all 33 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013 Image
    Published: March 28, 2013
    Check out our list of the past month's best new album releases (including LPs from David Bowie, Low, Kacey Musgraves, and more), and listen to each one.