The Next Day

The Next Day Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the works for over two years with producer Tony Visconti, this is the first new studio release from David Bowie in ten years.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Q Magazine
    Mar 11, 2013
    100
    The Next Day is a loud, thrilling, steamrollingly confident rock and roll album full of noise, energy, and words that--if as cryptic as ever they were--sound like they desperately need to be sung. [Apr 2013, p.92]
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    100
    It is an enormous pleasure to report that the new David Bowie album is an absolute wonder: urgent, sharp-edged, bold, beautiful and baffling, an intellectually stimulating, emotionally charged, musically jagged, electric bolt through his own mythos and the mixed-up, celebrity-obsessed, war-torn world of the 21st century.
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    88
    It’s his most consistent and rewarding work since “Scary Monsters and Super Creeps” in 1980.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    An album that's thought-provoking, strange and filled with great songs.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    80
    The Next Day offers many sides of a multifaceted artist and almost all of them mesmerizing, as the songs grow richer with each listen.
  6. It demands that you listen to it in this moment, not that you give it an easy ride because this is the man who made ‘Heroes’; and its songs more than live up to the demand.
  7. The Wire
    Apr 24, 2013
    40
    The rest of the album makes the distance between now and (Berlin) then of "Where Are We Now?" painfully evident, a pain heightened by Visconti's failure to convert this collection of session muso workouts into anything memorable. [May 2013, p.55]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    At first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time withAt first i missed an experimental avantgarde sound, but the more i listen, the more it´s great. i guess it´ll follow me a longer time with it´s catchy melodies and fresh energy. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    It is David Bowie. If you need something else let me just tell he is as or more importan for rock and british music than The Beatles. EveryIt is David Bowie. If you need something else let me just tell he is as or more importan for rock and british music than The Beatles. Every year something happens with The Beatles but every time Sir David Bowie delivers something new is a retrospective journey for meny genres. Just how he can kepp writing and reinventig himself, not like McCartney or Bob Dylan. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Bowie is back! The songs are melodically tight, arrangement-wise a treat, and lyrically brilliant Which is the reason we all tuned into BowieBowie is back! The songs are melodically tight, arrangement-wise a treat, and lyrically brilliant Which is the reason we all tuned into Bowie in the first place. It grows with each passing listen Definitely one of 2013's best album, un-expectation and all. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    8
    I've never properly listened to David Bowie, but giving this record a few listens has made me reconsider listening to a lot of his older work.I've never properly listened to David Bowie, but giving this record a few listens has made me reconsider listening to a lot of his older work. The Next Day shows a much older Bowie seeming to come to grips with his life, and reminiscing about his earlier youth. Each track shows a man that's been in the music business for over 4 decades. All In All, David Bowie sounds distant, yet completely intoxicating on The Next Day. Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2014
    8
    That Bowie secretly engineered a return to music after a decade's hiatus was sensational news in and of itself. The fact that what was newlyThat Bowie secretly engineered a return to music after a decade's hiatus was sensational news in and of itself. The fact that what was newly on offer was his best work in ages was just icing on the cake. The title track, Love is Lost, How Does the Grass Grow, and You Feel So Lonely You Could Die are the standout songs, but just about everything (save for the filler of Dancing Out In Space) is great stuff. This is Bowie back at the top of his game, or at least as close to it as any 66 year old has any right to be. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    7
    Avant-grade rock/pop is nice. David Bowie did made a comeback, although not fully perfect, it is good from his previous work. But I wouldn'tAvant-grade rock/pop is nice. David Bowie did made a comeback, although not fully perfect, it is good from his previous work. But I wouldn't be singing along with him the whole time though. Despite its concept, I find it...average. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2013
    0
    I'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boringI'm a Bowie fan from before Ziggy Stardust. But "The Next Day" is pure crap. It's one of the most tuneless, soulless, robotic and boring pieces of rubbish to ever pollute the airwaves. It's even worse than that; it's excrutiatingly painful and puke-inducing to listen to. Even the most non-musically-talented garage band can do better than this.

    Bowie is the third most brilliant musician to have ever lived (after Pink Floyd and Vangelis). What on earth went wrong?

    And why do so many people appear to like this album (or are all the reviewers just paid record company shills)?
    Collapse

See all 41 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013

    This Month's Best New Albums: March 2013 Image
    Published: March 28, 2013
    Check out our list of the past month's best new album releases (including LPs from David Bowie, Low, Kacey Musgraves, and more), and listen to each one.