The Open Door [EP] - Death Cab for Cutie
The Open Door [EP] Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The EP features four new song recorded during the Narrow Stairs sessions and a demo version of 'Talking Bird.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. None of these songs would’ve found a great home on Narrow Stairs, but taken together, they make a worthy addition to a solid catalog.
  2. As the title suggests, The Open Door is full of fresh air, wide spaces and rollicking melodies--a welcome change from the tangled Big Sur woods and claustrophobia of "Narrow Stairs."
  3. Such tunes may not have suited the bittersweet beauty of Stairs, but they're quite good in their own right, making The Open Door EP something more than a fans-only release.
  4. The EP highlight comes with 'My Mirror Speaks' recalling the band’s dynamic work from "Plans."
  5. Unless you’re a desperate DCFC fan in need of satiation, The Open Door isn’t worth the purchase.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 15, 2012
    Simply amazing for an EP. Little Bribes and "My Mirror Speaks" are both amazing songs. Worth the money for sure and it's an EP that pretty much anyone can enjoy. Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    A good decent solid decent EP that anyone can enjoy, death cab fan or not. The first four tracks are all solid, and each has meaning that can be quite relatable and then a demo of talking bird, which is a great song. Definitely worth my 5 dollars. Expand