User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 440 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 440

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great work. Muse delivers an album full of great songs. The main theme throughout the album is love (maybe Uprising as the exception) but it's not soapy. The music is beautiful and proves the excellent technical level that Muse members reached. Now on, they can do almost anything! Expand
  2. May 31, 2011
    8
    Questions have been raised over whether Muse had become too predictable. This album proved them wrong. There was the traditional rock sound, with graceful, piano fueled scores and a three piece symphony to finish. A very good album
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    This is very hard work Muse has done for their audience. What a great band, but listening to stuff like this, we start to wonder why rock is so underrated and why everyone goes and listens to stuff like pop and hip-hop.
  4. Nov 13, 2015
    8
    The Resistance was the first Muse album I managed to listen to, and it was the thing that got me hooked. This album describes 1984 loosely through each of the tracks (excluding the marvelous Exogenesis Symphony) and reeks of Queen in the best way possible.

    After OoS and Absolution, this is probably Muse's third best work. It's very tight in songs, has a good mix of Muse's offerings, and
    The Resistance was the first Muse album I managed to listen to, and it was the thing that got me hooked. This album describes 1984 loosely through each of the tracks (excluding the marvelous Exogenesis Symphony) and reeks of Queen in the best way possible.

    After OoS and Absolution, this is probably Muse's third best work. It's very tight in songs, has a good mix of Muse's offerings, and is a beaut that I think any progressive Muse fan can enjoy. From the anthemic Uprising to ballads like United States of Eurasia to the rocker Unnatural Selection, this is a classic for them.
    Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    A good Muse album, definitely not their best but contains some excellent songs and is very well structured, a good listen that I'd recommend to all Muse fans.
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Muse love taking risks, it seems. With The Resistance, and the recent 2nd Law, Muse have expanded their musical range and compensated some fans along the way. Though as a proud lover of Muse (especially their earlier music, Origin of Symmetry being their masterclass in music), The Resistance is one of their poorer releases, and that goes without question. Forgetting the Exogenesis SymphonyMuse love taking risks, it seems. With The Resistance, and the recent 2nd Law, Muse have expanded their musical range and compensated some fans along the way. Though as a proud lover of Muse (especially their earlier music, Origin of Symmetry being their masterclass in music), The Resistance is one of their poorer releases, and that goes without question. Forgetting the Exogenesis Symphony (beauty defined), The Resistance has some risky releases from Muse, but still managed to be a solid release worthy of a 7 at bare-minimum for effort, and risk factor.

    Opening with the wonderfully powerful, clearly messaged Uprising, a progressive rock anthem designed for the heights of stadium tours, The Resistance seems promising. Gritty guitars, sci-fi electronics, the works. Then comes Resistance, a song so worthy of single material, it goes without saying that Resistance is a solid track. Undisclosed Desires follows, an experimental track setting the boundary for singles the follow, including Madness from The 2nd Law. One of the weaker tracks, Undisclosed Desires is a love-or-hate piece. Personally, I feel the album track is fine, though live it falls to Matt's ego.

    The album then take a small turn into piano-induced territory, with the brilliant (and Queen-influenced) United States of Eurasia. A beautifully striking piece, with some mastery piano work, one could never dislike such a perfect design. Though potentially ruining the flow of the album and making it difficult to progress, this is one track which will surely go down in history as one of Muse's finest pieces. Though followed with Guiding Light, we're back into cheese territory. Undoubtedly a difficult track to sit through, Guiding Light is a mess, with extra helpings of brie.

    Now we're thrown back into the heavy stuff, with the flawless Unnatural Selection and the meaty MK Ultra, both driven by ridiculous but catchy riffs, impressive vocals, superbly arranged lyrics, and powerful bass surely to impress even the masters of rock. Two amazing tracks worth of Muse acclaim, and definitely some of the greatest works Muse have thrown out there in a good few years. This is what Muse are made of, right here. We're thrown into the deep end yet again, however, with I Belong To You, a piece so ridiculously out of proportion, you're not sure what to think. Personally, I think it's great. A fun track not meant to be taken seriously. Then we're given the Exogenesis Symphony, a beautiful, flawless, three-piece symphony of piano, strings, guitar and stunning vocals. If not the greatest achievement of Muse since Citizen Erased, a perfect end to a great album overall.

    The Resistance won't be to everyone's liking, but it has elements so magical, it can easily put you under a spell. Whatever that spell may be, of course. You'll either love The Resistance, or despise it.

    Overall Score: 8/10
    Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    After a long journey in search of finding and inhabiting new worlds, we've finally done it. We can proudly call ourselves free and never look back to the past or maybe we should just once, while telling our offspring the glorious story or how we got to where we are now. No better way to do that then to play The Resistance. A masterpiece by muse, even though it is, by some, founded awful,After a long journey in search of finding and inhabiting new worlds, we've finally done it. We can proudly call ourselves free and never look back to the past or maybe we should just once, while telling our offspring the glorious story or how we got to where we are now. No better way to do that then to play The Resistance. A masterpiece by muse, even though it is, by some, founded awful, pretentious and well, too much, is conquering the walls that our minds have, those that have to be shattered. A love story, a story that hides the codes of our salvation, is engraved into this musically wonderful album that one, who has any interest in serious music or isn't so overly obsessed with radiohead that he/she disses every step muse make, can't deny. This symphonic blessing slaps you so hard in the head it is tough to realize the minor flaws it has to offer. But all is forgotten, if there is something to forgive, when the symphony arrives. The Exogenesis is the best, most beautiful, pretentious (this, when describing muse, is somehow a good thing - and well it is) piece of music The resistance has to offer. It is definitely the most profound piece of music I've heard in the previous decade, not exaggerating. It's surely not in my interest to slam everyone else nor am I so obsessed with them that I can't hear the real deal, but hearing this song gives you the chills you could only experience while your invocation is being answered. Maybe I am talking too much about it but this is one of the best songs ever written. Other highlight is the United states of Euroasia. This wonderful song is brought to the heights of grandeur and sumptuosity by it's instrumental, let's call it, chorus. With influences from Queen, muse have, kind of, established a more artistic version of art rock. The songs aiming just as high, but incapable of reaching them are I belong to you, Uprising who are not bad but are lacking some elements to make them ready for shipment. This album, maybe not as good as the previous three, contains the very best work modern music could offer us, in many minds covered by clouds and fog which are disabling them to hear it. The grandiosity is here, quality as well, but more of the highlighted would've made it complete. Expand
  8. May 23, 2015
    8
    This album is unapologetically over-the-top. Frontloaded with songs like Uprising, Resistance, and Undisclosed Desires, and finishing up with the beautiful Exogenesis Symphony trilogy, the only place this album suffers is in the middle. I Belong to You is the worst track, and United States of Eurasia is laughably comical, although props to Muse for the 1984 references. The grandeur of theThis album is unapologetically over-the-top. Frontloaded with songs like Uprising, Resistance, and Undisclosed Desires, and finishing up with the beautiful Exogenesis Symphony trilogy, the only place this album suffers is in the middle. I Belong to You is the worst track, and United States of Eurasia is laughably comical, although props to Muse for the 1984 references. The grandeur of the rest of the album more than makes up for the weak moments. Expand
  9. JuanL
    Sep 24, 2009
    7
    It will be utterly enjoyed by fans, although it could be a bit offputting for those who have never tasted MUSE before.
  10. MattA.
    Sep 15, 2009
    7
    The Resistance is not going to be Muse's masterpiece. Is it a bad album? No. Their best? No. A drastic change of pace and tone? ...No. Well... sort of. 'The Resistance' sounds a lot like their previous stuff... mainly from Absolution and BH&R. However, this album makes me realize why i still like Muse. And i'll give you a hint... It's not for their originality. The Resistance is not going to be Muse's masterpiece. Is it a bad album? No. Their best? No. A drastic change of pace and tone? ...No. Well... sort of. 'The Resistance' sounds a lot like their previous stuff... mainly from Absolution and BH&R. However, this album makes me realize why i still like Muse. And i'll give you a hint... It's not for their originality. They seem to take the best parts of Radiohead, Queen, and Depeche Mode Respectively and mix them together. This one further takes the step into the Depeche Mode 'Violator'/Ultra phase. Fans of BH&R and mainly the people who came into them for their catchy pop lyrics may be a tad disappointed with the accessablitly of the album. It has a few golden tracks of metal guitar and beautiful Bellamy wailing... however if you're used to Starlight/Supermassive black hole...look else where. If you're like me and enjoyed songs like "Sing For Absolution", "Invincible" "Falling Away With You" and "Citizen Erased" each song on this CD has hints of those in it. Some tracks lose their edge do to Muse's weakness...The song writing. Lyrics are often the typical Muse-Fare of establishment/tyranny cannot prevail... and it often begins to lull the listener until a cool guitar riff awakens one. "The Resistance" will sit nicely in Muse's catalog, but will not make them remembered. 7.5/10 Key Tracks: Uprising, The Resistance, Unnatural Selection. Expand
  11. LiamS
    Sep 18, 2009
    7
    It's a shame Muse toned down their epic sound. i was looking for an album that would blow my mind, not bore me to shit. USOE and Uprising were good singles, and Guiding Light, Unnatural Selection and MK Ultra were decent songs, but they lacked that over-the-top sound i loved about Take a Bow, Blackout, Citizen erased etc. Most fans are going to be disappointed, and i fear that Muse It's a shame Muse toned down their epic sound. i was looking for an album that would blow my mind, not bore me to shit. USOE and Uprising were good singles, and Guiding Light, Unnatural Selection and MK Ultra were decent songs, but they lacked that over-the-top sound i loved about Take a Bow, Blackout, Citizen erased etc. Most fans are going to be disappointed, and i fear that Muse will start becoming a household name to twelve-year-old "anarchists". Expand
  12. Sep 20, 2010
    7
    The most classically themed album from the Devon trio, it falls heavily from being unoriginal, unexciting and uninspired but does manage to keep Muse's over the top attitude towards their own work which still makes it a worth while listen.
  13. Jun 9, 2015
    7
    This and the follow-up The 2nd Law are probably the most polarizing records Muse have ever released. With this thing they started having a more experimental, melodic and symphonic approach rather than a straight-up progressive rock one. The result is a good and interesting album with some good tracks that really portray this desire of trying something completely different (a feeling thatThis and the follow-up The 2nd Law are probably the most polarizing records Muse have ever released. With this thing they started having a more experimental, melodic and symphonic approach rather than a straight-up progressive rock one. The result is a good and interesting album with some good tracks that really portray this desire of trying something completely different (a feeling that already was a bit foreshadowed by Black Holes & Revelations). Songs like Undisclosed Desires, Resistance or the Exogenesis trilogy are good examples of that. Other tracks still feel very old school, like Uprising or MK Ultra, but compared to what we listened in the previous records, they sound a bit less powerful. Overall, I like the LP, but considering what we saw in the 2000s, the Muse of 2010 did not caught my attention as much. Expand
  14. Aug 10, 2017
    7
    A baroque rock infused record with dark undertones and thrilling riffs, operated by Matt Bellamy's powerful trademark voice, makes for a compelling listen start to end. A few songs are dull to the ears, but overall the album shows that the band are undoubtedly talented and versatile. Good album.
  15. JazzUp
    Jan 26, 2010
    6
    It's not that the quality is bad, but it's that the sound seems to be much eletronic. It's just I don't like only this album, but they're still my fav band.
  16. KanW.
    Sep 15, 2009
    6
    Not Muse's best. Glimmers of Doctor Who and Queen, but why? Muse are talented enough not to rip off others. Maybe it will sound better in a live situation?
  17. TerryA.
    Sep 16, 2009
    6
    I am a huge MUSE fan and loved all of the last three albums...sure there were a few hits and misses on those..but this album is almost entirely full of misses. I have been waiting for this album to come out for some time and maybe expectations were too high. The lead single " Uprising" is a nice track and I like the feel of " Undisclosed Desires " , the rest of the album just flat out I am a huge MUSE fan and loved all of the last three albums...sure there were a few hits and misses on those..but this album is almost entirely full of misses. I have been waiting for this album to come out for some time and maybe expectations were too high. The lead single " Uprising" is a nice track and I like the feel of " Undisclosed Desires " , the rest of the album just flat out rips off Queen and I have absolutely no idea why? Expand
  18. JonW
    Sep 18, 2009
    6
    So far dissapointed. On my third listen. There is some droll rubbish on here. Hope they'd cut back on the Keane tip (invincible on BHAR) but there are 3 songs like that. Only when the power chords and weird prog bars come out does it shine. The Concerto suite at the end is hugely ambitous and just about pulled off. I must say I miss the Citizens, Stockholms and TSP stuff that does So far dissapointed. On my third listen. There is some droll rubbish on here. Hope they'd cut back on the Keane tip (invincible on BHAR) but there are 3 songs like that. Only when the power chords and weird prog bars come out does it shine. The Concerto suite at the end is hugely ambitous and just about pulled off. I must say I miss the Citizens, Stockholms and TSP stuff that does not really feature. Still will keep plugging away and maybe like many great albums it will be a grower. Expand
  19. BarryJ.
    Sep 16, 2009
    6
    A disappointment compared to previous efforts, Muse seem not to know what they want to be. Their attempts at new stylings don't really suceed, nor do their efforts at recapturing the sound and style of their early works. Really only 'Uprising' is worth a mention. Even the Exogenesis Symphony doesn;t really work: too pretentious and meandering for its own good. For every A disappointment compared to previous efforts, Muse seem not to know what they want to be. Their attempts at new stylings don't really suceed, nor do their efforts at recapturing the sound and style of their early works. Really only 'Uprising' is worth a mention. Even the Exogenesis Symphony doesn;t really work: too pretentious and meandering for its own good. For every song here (perhaps except Uprising), there's a better version of something similar on previous albums. I think Matt Bellamy has got a little lost as to where he wants to go and has made a pretentious, un-subtle, concept album that really doesn't say anything more than previous efforts - and says it less effectively. Expand
  20. Sep 17, 2010
    6
    After Black holes & revalations i wondered if muse had lost it but they came back with an un-appreciated masterpiece. ignore Uprising and this is not commercialised one bit.Truly Great
  21. Dec 7, 2016
    6
    The first time we saw Muse stumble. The main issue I have is the length. Exogenesis - as gorgeous as it may be, takes up too much space. It leaves you with just 8 tracks - two of which are a bit bland ('I Belong to You', 'United States of Eurasia'). The remaining tracks - such as 'Uprising' and 'MK Ultra' are very good yes, but do they match the likes of 'Starlight', 'Plug In Baby', 'MicroThe first time we saw Muse stumble. The main issue I have is the length. Exogenesis - as gorgeous as it may be, takes up too much space. It leaves you with just 8 tracks - two of which are a bit bland ('I Belong to You', 'United States of Eurasia'). The remaining tracks - such as 'Uprising' and 'MK Ultra' are very good yes, but do they match the likes of 'Starlight', 'Plug In Baby', 'Micro Cuts' or 'Map of the Problematique'? The answer sadly, is no. Expand
  22. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    6
    Muse, being one of the best bands on the planet, have a let down with their new LP The Resistance. With Black Holes & Revelations there was some sort of progression and variety in those catalog of songs. Where The Resistance fails is it's power in creating something new and different; it is more "been there, done that."
  23. Mar 13, 2015
    6
    The band's previous album, "Black Holes and Revelations" had a handful of excellent tracks and some brilliant singles which ultimately carried the rest of the album. This is a trick Muse have been pulling for quite some time. On hear the Blondie/Dr Who influenced opener "Uprising", it seemed that the band would have no problem continuing to produce great singles even if the same could notThe band's previous album, "Black Holes and Revelations" had a handful of excellent tracks and some brilliant singles which ultimately carried the rest of the album. This is a trick Muse have been pulling for quite some time. On hear the Blondie/Dr Who influenced opener "Uprising", it seemed that the band would have no problem continuing to produce great singles even if the same could not be said of their album tracks. Unfortunately this time around , "Uprising" stands alone as the only really great track on show. "Uprising" is followed by the passable but overlong "Resistance" and the moderately interesting "Undisclosed Desires". The rest of the album flips between half decent and cringe. And what's with the intermittent mutations into Queen every now and then. It's like Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. Your happy out thinking your listening to Muse when all of a sudden I could swear Brian May and Freddie Mercury take over before Muse come back to us. The final third of the album is a bit of a mess and best forgotten. This looked like the beginning of the end for Muse and while follow up "The 2nd Law" reigned in the craziness a little bit, this album still marks the start of the decline of Muse. Expand
  24. Apr 28, 2014
    6
    There are moments where it can sound too much like one thing, and others where it simply might not be enough, but as well as that, there can be the rare moment of reward, and primarily, there's still that familiar sound of a band still on the roll.
  25. Oct 13, 2014
    6
    The songs on the album sound nothing alike, and some just aren't that great, but I'm giving props to Muse to experimenting and being bold and bombastic. It takes guts to put a "Symphony" at the end of your rock album. Bravo. Favorite track: Undisclosed Desires
  26. SteveP.
    Sep 16, 2009
    5
    Really disappointing. I've loved/liked all of Muse's albums so far, but this just did nothing for me. Regardless of style & ambition, there just weren't the songs to get me listening back again.
  27. PDTS
    Jan 24, 2010
    5
    Only the three first songs is worth listening to.
  28. May 6, 2011
    5
    No, just no. This is not as good as the sounds of Origin of Symmetry, SHowbiz and Absolution... for me this is the second album in a musical depression.
  29. JM
    Jan 2, 2010
    4
    The most disappointing album of the year for me. I'm a huge Muse fan and love their past work, but this album seems uninspired and phoned-in. Matt Bellamy's blistering guitar riffs are almost non-existent, the lyrics are generic dour, and too many songs sound like rip-offs of past artists or older Muse songs. The only saving grace of this album is the 3-part Exogenesis Symphony, The most disappointing album of the year for me. I'm a huge Muse fan and love their past work, but this album seems uninspired and phoned-in. Matt Bellamy's blistering guitar riffs are almost non-existent, the lyrics are generic dour, and too many songs sound like rip-offs of past artists or older Muse songs. The only saving grace of this album is the 3-part Exogenesis Symphony, which is stunningly beautiful. My advice: buy the Symphony on iTunes and hope Muse returns to their roots for their next album. Expand
  30. Mike
    Sep 18, 2009
    4
    Any band that manages to copy Queen, Radiohead, My Chemical Romance, and System of a Down in one album kinda deserve an award. It would be an award for being terrible, but an award nonetheless. Muse have none of the bombast, none of the emotion, none of the logic stitching together their harebrained dystopian worldview that made their past two albums so incredibly good. As long as that is Any band that manages to copy Queen, Radiohead, My Chemical Romance, and System of a Down in one album kinda deserve an award. It would be an award for being terrible, but an award nonetheless. Muse have none of the bombast, none of the emotion, none of the logic stitching together their harebrained dystopian worldview that made their past two albums so incredibly good. As long as that is missing, Muse will never be a good band. Two bands I love called Pure Reason Revolution (prog rock) and Innerpartysystem (electronic rock) released albums in the last 2 years that sound remarkably like Resistance, so I recommend them instead. I wholeheartedly believe Muse copied off them and did it poorly! Expand
  31. AlexL
    Sep 23, 2009
    4
    Even the high points on this album would feel like filler on their previous records. It's a shame because I went into this really wanting to love it. I was much more comfortable with their rockier roots; this is just overproduced, pop fluff unfortunately.
  32. TannerC
    Sep 15, 2009
    4
    Muses worst album to date. Exogenesis is amazing though.
  33. Jun 29, 2012
    4
    Making one stuff over and over again may get you to mainstream but may not rise your music advances the least thing to be cared about was the concept of this album far more complex but still better than Nickelback
  34. MarkR
    Oct 9, 2009
    3
    I love Muse but i didn't love this. I tried, really. It's Muse trying hard to be Muse. Tying hard to say something meaningful, trying hard to say something clever. But in every track i cant help but hear a second rate version of some classic song or band ... White Wedding, Queen, Marylin Manson. I had to turn it off and it's not making it to my iPod. I'll wait until I love Muse but i didn't love this. I tried, really. It's Muse trying hard to be Muse. Tying hard to say something meaningful, trying hard to say something clever. But in every track i cant help but hear a second rate version of some classic song or band ... White Wedding, Queen, Marylin Manson. I had to turn it off and it's not making it to my iPod. I'll wait until Matt and the boys come back to earth with their next record. Expand
  35. JT
    Nov 9, 2009
    3
    I wanted to like this album, but alas, there isn't one song on here that is even remotely as good as their back catalog. It seems more like a collection of mediocre B-Sides than a proper album. An excellent example of a band trying too hard to say something that isn't really poignant to begin with.
  36. SteJ.
    Sep 15, 2009
    3
    It's far too commercial, and nowhere near enough of the heavy rock riffs Muse used to be known for. Bellamy's delusion of grandeur may be the factor that destroys this once great band.
  37. RJO.
    Sep 16, 2009
    3
    It's difficult to judge because this disk is 100% different than most muse CD's. The music is much more pop than rock, the lyrics are much more cliche, and the entire thing feels like a huge departure from the past. As a huge Muse fan of their previous works, this CD feels like a great disappointment.
  38. WillB.
    Nov 3, 2009
    3
    I was really disappointed by this album, because I wanted to hear Muse. All I got was a compilation of some very obvious influences; namely, Queen.
  39. Sep 30, 2010
    3
    Honestly, I wanted to like Muse. But again, most of the songs just not fit in, or feel like rock 'n' roll songs. I can't really see how Muse can be a 'rock band' with all those electro/techno noises coming from around while playing the guitar and drums. Rock is about the passion and groove and what I hear at Muse is just a fail attempt at rock. Also, the singer's voice isn't really theHonestly, I wanted to like Muse. But again, most of the songs just not fit in, or feel like rock 'n' roll songs. I can't really see how Muse can be a 'rock band' with all those electro/techno noises coming from around while playing the guitar and drums. Rock is about the passion and groove and what I hear at Muse is just a fail attempt at rock. Also, the singer's voice isn't really the best one I ever heard. But again, most rock bands sound like this nowadays, which is really sad. You can rate this review as unhelpful, because you are either a Muse fan or someone who likes this kind of music, but you're turning your backs to what rock 'n' roll should sound like. AC/DC? The Rolling Stones? Van Halen? Cream? Jimy Hendrix? Do these ring any bell? Expand
  40. Dec 31, 2016
    3
    Following the absolute bullet train that was BH&R, 'The Resistance' is what happens when a train going at full speed goes off the tracks and refuses to stop. For every moment I was excited, there were 20 where I was bored or disgusted. Muse is trying to expand their horizons, but they've started that journey by going in the wrong direction.
  41. D.P.
    Jan 25, 2010
    2
    I was a big fan of Muse. Origin of Symmetry and Absolution were on repeat for a long time on my iPod. I thought they were incredibly creative in previous albums with their own style and their own effects. Black Holes & Revelations was disappointing except for "Knights of Cydonia" which probably has the best outro riff on guitar EVER. But with The Resistance its just a band that has run I was a big fan of Muse. Origin of Symmetry and Absolution were on repeat for a long time on my iPod. I thought they were incredibly creative in previous albums with their own style and their own effects. Black Holes & Revelations was disappointing except for "Knights of Cydonia" which probably has the best outro riff on guitar EVER. But with The Resistance its just a band that has run out of inspiration and is turning to mainstream and the simplicity of the songs, but still trying to be like the old muse. the mixture is AWFUL. like other people have said, the entire album sounds like Dr. Who mixed with queen...i'm only giving it a 2/10 because "Undisclosed Desires" is the only acceptable song on the album. Expand
  42. Evil
    Sep 20, 2009
    2
    It was apparent Muse would never release another album of "Origin of Symmetry" calibre when "Black Holes and Revelations" came out, but I had no idea they could sink THIS low.
  43. TomS
    Sep 18, 2009
    2
    Pure songwriting masked behind pompousness. And blatant rip off of their back catalogue.
  44. Feb 7, 2011
    2
    It is truly amazing how one band can go from furious, honest, passionate, aggressive, but often beautiful music to this sell-out, rip-off, sickening piece of pointlessness. This is one of the cheapest, laziest, most revolting albums I've ever heard, and from a band I worshipped as a teenager. It makes me sick. Not one original moment, and in particular the singles are totally hollow,It is truly amazing how one band can go from furious, honest, passionate, aggressive, but often beautiful music to this sell-out, rip-off, sickening piece of pointlessness. This is one of the cheapest, laziest, most revolting albums I've ever heard, and from a band I worshipped as a teenager. It makes me sick. Not one original moment, and in particular the singles are totally hollow, lifeless, chart-seeking objects of utter shame (hopefully) for the band. 1.8 points awarded for 'MK Ultra' and some memorable moments, like the first minute of 'Resistance' (that is, before it shamelessly and ridiculously explodes into dancing on poor Freddie Mercury's grave, just like - oh I shudder to even say it - United States of Eurasia), and 0.2 points for sheer effort, particularly in 'Exogenesis' (but then again, it's always seemed to me that, because Bellamy starting writing the symphony long before the other songs, the rest of the album could just be filler, to make more money out of releasing his 'work of genius'). But, I was right, unfortunately, about 'BH&R' - that Bellamy was forgetting about the music and letting his immature obsession with very vague and half-hearted themes of opression, conspiracy take over, and blah, blah, blah, I'm boring myself even writing this. What a terrible album. I'm off to listen to the 'Dead Star / In Your World' EP I just bought and sing along with the words "MUSE DIED AFTER ABSOLUTION, MUSE DIED AFTER ABSOLUTION..." Expand
  45. GL
    Oct 20, 2009
    1
    I don't see how people can like this album. It's a disgrace to MUSE,who have put out such great music in the past. The resistance feels like they have run out of ideas, and put out some half-assed stuff because they know it will sell, good or not. The first track, Uprising, feels like a knock-off of their earlier work, repetitive, and dull. Resistance isn't even good music. I don't see how people can like this album. It's a disgrace to MUSE,who have put out such great music in the past. The resistance feels like they have run out of ideas, and put out some half-assed stuff because they know it will sell, good or not. The first track, Uprising, feels like a knock-off of their earlier work, repetitive, and dull. Resistance isn't even good music. It is not enjoyable to listen to. It sounds generic at best. Undisclosed Desires continues a trail of mediocrity. It's a song that blends into the background all to easily. United States Of Eurasia takes clear inspiration from Queen, and yet still manages to be horribly dull and uninspired. Guiding Light, Unnatural Selection and MK Ultra are alright, but nothing special. I belong to you wraps up this story of dullness. Then we get the exogenesis parts, which are even more unlistenable. I found it hard to find the words to describe this album. Do I rate it more harshly because it is MUSE? Yes. It should be so much better. This album just doesn't deliver. Expand
  46. GabrielC
    Sep 18, 2009
    0
    Pure garbage, Uprising sounds like Blondie's Call me, Marylin Manson and Dr. Who, the rest is pure imitation of some Queen songs, GARBAGE.
  47. ZacaríasY.
    Sep 25, 2009
    0
    Probably, Matt Bellamy thinks it: They're the new kings of progressive rock of the 2000s but this is so crap, they hurt a great Chopin's musician composition and in this ¿Symphonies? are a big fake (its a mediocre copy of some Mono's song), and a terrible copy of Queen, mixed with marylin manson, queens of the stone age (check Uprising) and call us ART ROCK, come on Probably, Matt Bellamy thinks it: They're the new kings of progressive rock of the 2000s but this is so crap, they hurt a great Chopin's musician composition and in this ¿Symphonies? are a big fake (its a mediocre copy of some Mono's song), and a terrible copy of Queen, mixed with marylin manson, queens of the stone age (check Uprising) and call us ART ROCK, come on people! Dungen, Sigur Rós is truly art rock, this is crap, this album sucks. Expand
  48. Sep 24, 2011
    0
    This is incredibly bad, even for Muse. In this album, there is nothing that sounds like the band, everything sounds as if the songs had been taken from another band's record, and in particular from Queen's.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. "Black Holes and Revelations" may be a more commercial record, but The Resistance is Muse's most realized effort to date.
  2. As it stands it’s an indulgent and, at times, gorgeous listen that merely helps restate your concrete opinions about Muse.
  3. While not their best, it’s decent enough to ensure there’ll be more-- even though the truly off-the-wall moments are either rare or misguided, meaning the record feels slightly anonymous.