Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. Aug 9, 2011
    65
    There are certainly smiles to be had as the group grouses its way through some of the most ambitiously arranged and melodically polished tunes it has released to date.
  2. Aug 9, 2011
    60
    It's mid-tempo, arena-ready rock that won't challenge. [9 Jul 2011, p.52]
  3. 30
    This CD is worse than a nu-metal reprise, in that it doesn't give true ragers an outlet, but instead facilitates the same false machismo that tribal tats and fake bench-press numbers suggest.
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    20
    There are no highlights. Appalling. [Sep 2011, p.110]
  5. Aug 9, 2011
    20
    This isn't ugly visceral music; it's castrated rock with a rotten heart.
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. WD2
    Sep 20, 2011
    0
    Why this type of music still exists baffles me. The truth is that this music is offensive to ears, offensive to women and offensive to anyoneWhy this type of music still exists baffles me. The truth is that this music is offensive to ears, offensive to women and offensive to anyone that has a heart. Why does Nickelback get all the hate? Spread some to this band as well! Full Review »
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    0
    Contemptible, despicable, misogynistic, musical abortion, awful and just plain old crap. Words can't describe how awful this band, and thisContemptible, despicable, misogynistic, musical abortion, awful and just plain old crap. Words can't describe how awful this band, and this album is. Seriously, this band is so much worse than Nickelback. This album is harmful, harmful, harmful, harmful! In fact, giving this album a 0 out of 10 is still being too generous to this band, if only we could give negative grades. Just another insult to the legacy of grunge, and the music of Canada. Arcade Fire, Wolf Parade and Effed Up will never redeem Canadian music if the country keeps releasing post-grunge crap like Theory of a Deadman. Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    When I sat down to listen to this album, I was just MAD throughout. If anyone out there think this is a modern classic, then the person isWhen I sat down to listen to this album, I was just MAD throughout. If anyone out there think this is a modern classic, then the person is probably someone who can't stand the sight of the female species- because they listen to this pile of vomit. The only two songs that are half decent are "Out of My Head" and "Careless". But even with those two songs, they're nothing classic- they're only mediocre. Everything else is just TRASH. I thought that Saliva's "Cinco Diablo" album had enough terrible things about it, but they are NOTHING compared to this malady of an album. This is almost as painful as Taylor Swift or Carly Rae Jepsen. Lyrics about hating women and cursing at them is just PUTRID. Morally PUTRID. This is FAR worse than Nickelback or Saliva. This is as misogynistic as it is depressing. I never want to hear of this album ever again, and I hope it rots in Hell with The Devil. PS- This album doesn't deserve a 35 on here. It deserves a lower rating than that Kevin Federline CD (that got a 15). For GOOD radio rock music, listen to Shinedown's "Amaryllis" or Seether's "Holding Onto Strings...". For GOOD rock music in general, pick up Deftones' "Koi No Yokan" or Edgewater's "South of Sideways". Avoid this album at all costs. Do not waste your money on this putrid, miserable trash! Full Review »