• Record Label: PIAS
  • Release Date: Jul 9, 2013
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    Editors' fourth retains their customary grandeur and gloom, but with a new immediacy and surety, as Tom Smith matures into a truly commanding frontman. [Aug 2013, p.86]
  2. 75
    The band’s audible aspiration towards greatness on this album is the most welcome aspect about it. You can hear the effort that was put into making it as galactic and sprawling as it is.
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    74
    Comprised of bass-driven pop turns (see the hooky backing vocals of ‘Formaldehyde’) and evocative mood pieces containing occasional flourishes of Americana (courtesy of American co-producer Jacquire King), nothing in the album’s solid latter half will reach out and grab you. However, there is just enough diversity evident in these tunes to stave off indifference and reward repeated listening.
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    70
    Produced by Jacquire King in Nashville, the album has a distinctly organic feel, as if it were recorded in an old theater.
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    70
    Although The Weight of Your Love doesn't succeed to the same extent as other, older European rock albums drenched in American influences, it makes for a nicely retooled, if occasionally misguided, formula.
  6. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    With a bit more focus and a more cohesive feel running throughout it, this could've been a great record. As it is, perhaps as a result of their success to date and the expectation it undoubtedly brings, it feels almost like a missed opportunity.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    This album is great At the beginning i thought it was total crap, all this ballads were unnecessary and just didn't fit. But after a while iThis album is great At the beginning i thought it was total crap, all this ballads were unnecessary and just didn't fit. But after a while i realised that Editors made something something different and something better. Their music is now more American, and i think this is the reason of so low reviews. For me one of the best album of the 2013, so far. Full Review »
  2. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This album is amazing. Another example of how the Editors are able to change their sound and excel with new dynamics. Just as ITLAOTE focusedThis album is amazing. Another example of how the Editors are able to change their sound and excel with new dynamics. Just as ITLAOTE focused on synth driven melodies, this album focuses on Tom's lyrics and lugubrious vocals. Sure, it's unlikely we'll ever hear the raw power found in The Back Room, but it's better for them to explore new sounds then rehash the same album every two years. This is an album I'll be happy to play with my girlfriend in the car, it's not too depressing and is rather beautiful at times. Luckily, we still have their older work, and can swap out their records according to what you're in the mood to listen to! Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Albums as good as this are very rare. Stunningly brilliant. The bad reviews on this site are simply wrong. Go out and get it now you won't regret it.