TheFutureEmbrace

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 78
  2. Negative: 12 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CraigC
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    While this album is flawed, it does contain some incredible music. Along with Gorillaz (Demon Days, how good is it?), it is good to see an artist trying something different rather than conforming to the unimaginitive dross being produced by 99% of the music industry.
  2. aet08
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    do not be confused, this is not a rock album, corgan is experimenting with new things. Mina Loy is a beautiful song, a lot of the other songs grow on you, just like all of his work.
  3. EdwardE
    Jul 6, 2005
    0
    I purchased this disc & then listened to it 5 times trying to find something to enjoy. I then returned it. I think Billy's run his course musically & offers nothing worth having here.
  4. MichaelN
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    He grew up, I grew up. And thank God for that! We can't all go on screaming at the entire world with loud gutairs for the sake of sales. If people want that there are enough corporate copy bands out there. This album is very much for the music lover. A beautiful piece of work.
  5. NoName
    Sep 4, 2005
    8
    Some say that if it wasn't for his fame, no one would even pay this album attention. I say, that if it wasn't for his fame, no one would be nearly as harsh on this album. The fact of the matter is that it is pretty good, but we hold him up to himself in comparison, so it looks 'lame.' Well, what doesn't look lame when compared to Siamese Dream, Melancholy, and Some say that if it wasn't for his fame, no one would even pay this album attention. I say, that if it wasn't for his fame, no one would be nearly as harsh on this album. The fact of the matter is that it is pretty good, but we hold him up to himself in comparison, so it looks 'lame.' Well, what doesn't look lame when compared to Siamese Dream, Melancholy, and Adore? Only the best stuff out there, that's what! Unfortunately, this is not the best. But it is still well worth listening to multiple times. Forget it's Billy Corgan for a minute and let the star bashing go, 'cause it's probably better than you let yourself think. Expand
  6. FernandoR
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    Just beatiful
  7. cristian
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    I LOVE THIS ALBUM! ITS GREAT! buy it !!! for smashing pumpkins fans really!
  8. ChrisM
    Jun 20, 2005
    3
    This album is really a big disappointment. I actually liked Mary Star of the Sea a lot more than I enjoy this. There's a couple standout tracks (Walking Shade, The Camera Eye) but for the most part this is just more retro retread. It sounds like Adore if Adore wasn't very memorable and Kevin Shields played guitars.
  9. Pablo
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    a CLASSIC!
  10. AliciaW
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    Fuck the critics.
  11. FrancoisL
    Jun 26, 2005
    7
    There are truly original and beautiful songs on this record. (The Cameraeye is my personal favorite). I would have like 1 or 2 angry songs but BC doesn't want to write about "rage" anymore so what can we do? Still, this is a very interesting record. Some songs may require a few listens before it catches your interest.. but once it does the hook is just stronger. There is also plenty There are truly original and beautiful songs on this record. (The Cameraeye is my personal favorite). I would have like 1 or 2 angry songs but BC doesn't want to write about "rage" anymore so what can we do? Still, this is a very interesting record. Some songs may require a few listens before it catches your interest.. but once it does the hook is just stronger. There is also plenty of things to discover at each listen. However, it comes with it's fair share of annoyances (uninspired drum machine beats, stressful synths sounds at some points and some weak melodies here and there) but overall it's pretty good. Standout tracks : Mina Loy, The CameraEye, ToLoveSomebody, Now And Then, Pretty pretty STAR Weak tracks : All things change, I'm ready, Walking shade Expand
  12. Marie-Ève
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    Superb as always.. we love the way he makes us remember all the great moments in our lives with is nostagic songs and sounds
  13. JasonR
    Jun 30, 2005
    3
    A really weak record overall. I listened to it about 10 times now in hopes that it would grow on me a bit....it hasn't. The songs are so unmemorable that i couldn't hum you a melody from a single one. Aside from there not being much in the way of melody theres also not much going on in the instrumentation/arrangements. A real let down after all the great stuff he did with the A really weak record overall. I listened to it about 10 times now in hopes that it would grow on me a bit....it hasn't. The songs are so unmemorable that i couldn't hum you a melody from a single one. Aside from there not being much in the way of melody theres also not much going on in the instrumentation/arrangements. A real let down after all the great stuff he did with the Pumpkins and the fantastic Zwan album. Expand
  14. kabirj
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    not bad at all... i would've liked a bit more guitar, but some of the songs, esp the first 4 are really really strong... mina loy is a standout track. if you liked adore, this may be more up your alley, not at all like siamese dream or mellon collie/machina
  15. xx
    Jul 10, 2005
    9
    This album is a truly fantastic example of a real person being and feeling in a completely normal way. A way that is usually absent from musical artists that were never artists in the first place. Cheers
  16. BooneH
    Jul 23, 2005
    5
    This CD was bland... I'm going to go listen to 1979 and think about time... and stuff...
  17. FCauss
    Jul 2, 2005
    9
    This new album by Corgan is fabulous. It is sure not more of the same. This is the kind of music you enjoy more en more with every listen.
  18. honzau
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    I would rate it 11 if i could. Corgan finds his edge on album and it´s so brilliant that you will meet supermature while listenig this masterpiese. Thanks a lot Mr. Corgan !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  19. honzau
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    I would rate it 11 if i could. Corgan finds his edge on album and it´s so brilliant that you will meet supermature while listenig this masterpiese. Thanks a lot Mr. Corgan !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  20. ReginaF
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    Corgan finally come out with a great sound with his nasal voice and creates some beautiful atmospheres with an innovative guitar playing. The trick? Electric drums. But despite Jimmy Chamberlin's absence, this is pretty much how the Smashing Pumpkins would have sounded after Machina.
  21. JamesR
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    An album that grows on you with every play through.... It also helps if you saw the live and accoustic shows when he toured :)
  22. mskys
    Jun 21, 2005
    8
    i think it's a solid album with a very specific concept in mind... it def leans to the more "arty" tendencies of corgan vs. the his pop sensibilities.
  23. BennyB
    Jun 21, 2005
    7
    I really enjoyed this album, but I'm a bit biased when it comes to Billy; I just love everything he does (I even bought the Stigmata sountrack!) If you are expecting an angst ridden rock opera, look elsewhere. This is very much in the electro direction. Think the rythms from Adore, mixed with some of the guitar work from the spacier moments on Machina. This album could have been a I really enjoyed this album, but I'm a bit biased when it comes to Billy; I just love everything he does (I even bought the Stigmata sountrack!) If you are expecting an angst ridden rock opera, look elsewhere. This is very much in the electro direction. Think the rythms from Adore, mixed with some of the guitar work from the spacier moments on Machina. This album could have been a bit better if Billy let himself indulge in a solo or two; there's plenty of room for it here. I saw him live in Dublin last week, the songs translate very well to a live set. Look out for the 2nd track, Mina Loy (M.O.H.), which is fantastic and the Bee gees cover will blow you away. A good first attempt, but I reckon Billy is capable of so much more. Expand
  24. Joris
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    Good album, but 2 of the songs shouldn't be on the album and replaced by some of his great B-sides he plays live. Pretty Pretty Star for example, it goes in alle directions at the same time, to end up nowhere. This in line with Sorrows (in blue), some great parts in it but the chorus...hmm If you're expecting a Corgan guitar-album, don't buy it... Highlights (and that are a Good album, but 2 of the songs shouldn't be on the album and replaced by some of his great B-sides he plays live. Pretty Pretty Star for example, it goes in alle directions at the same time, to end up nowhere. This in line with Sorrows (in blue), some great parts in it but the chorus...hmm If you're expecting a Corgan guitar-album, don't buy it... Highlights (and that are a lot) are: Now and Then, Mina Loy, the beautiful Strayz, DIA (with THE Chamberlin on drums!) The Camera Eye and I'm Ready all great songs from one of the most genius songwriters all time. And maybe next time he will pick up the guitar again, cause after this totally different album of him, noone in the future will blame him anymore for sitting on his past (what he wanted to avoid at all cost) Expand
  25. critter
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    AMAZING!
  26. vani
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    me encanta este album. es muy tierno!
  27. barbie
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    FANTASTICCCCCCCCCCCCCC!
  28. JohnB
    Jun 21, 2005
    8
    Not exactly a return to greatness but clearly a step in the right direction.
  29. BubbaO
    Jun 20, 2005
    0
    If this was any other artist it wouldn't even be considered worth lsitening to. Well, it's not worth listening to. This is some of the most uninteresting music ever made.
  30. simong
    Jun 20, 2005
    5
    a lot like a bunch of pumpkin b sides.
  31. soldierg
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    wow, better than I expected. For at least most of the cd i was in awe the first time listening to this. I guess this is the direction i hoped he would go, but the shoegazer synth backdrops I didn't see coming. They were deep pools of beauty to swim around in. yes, i'm a sp fan, but this sounds pretty distinctly unlike anything he's ever done before. that's my $.02
  32. danj
    Jun 22, 2005
    8
    I was a pumpkins fan as a teenager. I tried to stay with them and did, buying their records when they came out all the way up until Machina. Their sound didn't date well. I'm surprised now how nasally Corgan's voice sounds on those records. So I was extremely surprised at how I liked the first single from Corgan's new solo record. The album is pretty awesome. It's I was a pumpkins fan as a teenager. I tried to stay with them and did, buying their records when they came out all the way up until Machina. Their sound didn't date well. I'm surprised now how nasally Corgan's voice sounds on those records. So I was extremely surprised at how I liked the first single from Corgan's new solo record. The album is pretty awesome. It's got all the shoegazer, goth and newwave elements that I like with occassionally great modern production. But the best part is the songs. There are some gorgeous songs on here. Expand
  33. emesem
    Jun 22, 2005
    6
    Not as good as Zwan. It sounds like Adore II, which would be ok but the songs just arent as strong. The first 3 tracks are excellent but then the rest sort of fizzles out.
  34. martin
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    great!
  35. TheDubstarDarkness
    Jun 22, 2005
    8
    Everyone who doesn't get this sound.. please shut up and open your mind. This is really beautifull produced, genius music for the future.
  36. JohnnyM
    Jun 23, 2005
    9
    beautiful
  37. James
    Jun 24, 2005
    7
    Im glad corgan is doing what he wants to do, and I think its great that he has picked up an interest in electronic music. There are a number of great tracks on this album, and i think that mina loy, a100 and tolovesomebody alone are worth the cost of the album.
  38. EveretM
    Jun 25, 2005
    2
    This album is NOT mainsteream Billy Corgan, nor will it be appreciated by Smashing Pumpkins fans, unless their favourite Albums are Pices Iscariot and Machina (blech!) This is for people who LOVE Billy Corgan (the man) and don't care what he does wrond (the music.) Also, it's not for "rock fans". There will be an audience for this, but it will not be me.
  39. bob
    Jun 26, 2005
    2
    Pathetic, as allways
  40. mc
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    It is like the Pumpkins meet the Bright Eyes (digital ash in a d digital urn). It's a very smooth sound. Mellow and dirty at the same time. I dig.
  41. Nate
    Jul 14, 2005
    2
    Alot of people say that if you hated the smashing pumpkins youll love thefutureembrace. Well i love the smashing pumpkins, and i really cant stand this cd. Its just billy whining about love while the same electro pop plays in the background. On every song. My friend has it and wont shut up about how "oh billy shows so much emotion! its wonderful!" Yes emotion is wonderful, but on a cd the Alot of people say that if you hated the smashing pumpkins youll love thefutureembrace. Well i love the smashing pumpkins, and i really cant stand this cd. Its just billy whining about love while the same electro pop plays in the background. On every song. My friend has it and wont shut up about how "oh billy shows so much emotion! its wonderful!" Yes emotion is wonderful, but on a cd the music should come first. Here it dosent. the futureembrace really dosent grow on you, either. I am a fan of alot of electro pop (when its done well), but here it isnt. Overall, its a letdown more than anything. I havent lost hope in him yet, all im saying is that his next cd better not suck. Expand
  42. MusicMaven
    Jul 25, 2005
    7
    The electronic sound draws heavily from the Pumpkins past work (Adore and Machina mostly) but adds gauzy, shoegazer-y guitars into the dense mix. It certainly doesn't rock like the Pumpkins fierce anthems, nor is it as tuneful as their best pop songs. It's the work of a craftsman, not an innovator. Once you come to terms with that, it's an album that will slowly reveal its The electronic sound draws heavily from the Pumpkins past work (Adore and Machina mostly) but adds gauzy, shoegazer-y guitars into the dense mix. It certainly doesn't rock like the Pumpkins fierce anthems, nor is it as tuneful as their best pop songs. It's the work of a craftsman, not an innovator. Once you come to terms with that, it's an album that will slowly reveal its modest charms. Expand
  43. CarlaS
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    This album is a work of genius that is shamefully underappreciated now, but will be regarded as a masterpiece by critics in a few years (much like Adore). It's a unified sonic experience from start to finish that leaves me with a different favourite song at each listen. Billy's guitar work is stellar and his lyrics have depth and beauty. Standout tunes are CameraEye, Mina Loy, This album is a work of genius that is shamefully underappreciated now, but will be regarded as a masterpiece by critics in a few years (much like Adore). It's a unified sonic experience from start to finish that leaves me with a different favourite song at each listen. Billy's guitar work is stellar and his lyrics have depth and beauty. Standout tunes are CameraEye, Mina Loy, Walking Shade, A100, and Strayz, as well as the Bees Cover, toLOVEsomebody. The live show was awesome and the video for Walking Shade is a visual treat. Expand
  44. Allan
    Sep 17, 2005
    3
    Minus A100, DIA and to Love Somebody, pointless dribble. Wow, what a mess, Bill.
  45. PaulS
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    One of the greatest CD's Corgan has ever produced!
  46. AlanR
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    One of the greatest CD's Corgan has ever produced solo!
  47. M-Stylez
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    First thing first: In my opinion, Mr. Billy Corgan
  48. squall
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    oo. this album is one of the best albums ive ever listned to. but this wasnt my first opinion. to be honest, ive always been a huge pumpkins fan, since gish. i heard he had a solo album but i never got around to getting up and looking for it. well one day my sister called me up and said that she just bought 2 tickets to see billy in hollywood. we went, on the way she played me the future oo. this album is one of the best albums ive ever listned to. but this wasnt my first opinion. to be honest, ive always been a huge pumpkins fan, since gish. i heard he had a solo album but i never got around to getting up and looking for it. well one day my sister called me up and said that she just bought 2 tickets to see billy in hollywood. we went, on the way she played me the future embrace cd. i was like. hmm. billy sounds awesome, but im not sure if this is all that great. we got there, and when billy walked out on stage it was incredible. you can tell he knew what he was doing. this is the same man whjo created to awesome band, the smashing pumpkins. when he started playing and i saw that all that "synth" and "electronica" was actually comming out of his guitr and not 10 sets of keyboards, i was flabbergasted. this is the real deal! this is amazing, this is BRAND NEW! this has never been done before, this is absolutly incredible music. those disrespecting the machina album have no idea what he was doing in that album. machina and future embrace are my favorite cds o this day. people said machina was all "synth" blah blah blah, this is new, individual style music with a new rock and roll sound. with a meaning! does anyone relize what machina was about? does anyone realize there was a concept to the entire album? well there was and its incredible. im not going to ruin it for you but ill give u a clue. glass is billy. we are the ghost children. the machines of god were a band. june is a woman. billy is not stupid, he knows what hes doing. something that was never done before, something thats not fake and done over and over again. this is the future embrace. it wil grow on you like a really awesome tumour- that wont kill you. Expand
  49. LeandroR
    Feb 1, 2007
    9
    muito bom!
  50. Jared
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    Amazing. Truly original and inspiring.
  51. DustinM
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    He continues to reinvent himself while writing great songs.
  52. BillyS
    Jun 21, 2005
    9
    Great electronic guitar sounds...step up from Zwan no doubt, and a good pre-cursor for now what seems to be a Pumpkins reunion in the near future...
  53. oweeh
    Jun 23, 2005
    4
    I tried my best to like this cd ,but I just cant. If this is Billys new direction I think I need to hop off the wagon.
  54. [Anonymous]
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    If you are listening to this expecting to hear smashing pumpkins, dont even bother. If you are listening to this because you have respect for the artist, and an open mind for new and exciting things then definately check this record out. I love it, and the live show is even better. What an amazing show.
  55. JeffO
    Jun 29, 2005
    4
    On Billy's own web site he writes that he wants his music back, his band back, himself back... etc. In SO MANY WAYS SO DO I ! ! ! What's up Billy? ROCKET, TONIGHT, BULLET WITH BUTTERFLY WINGS, the long hair, the upkempt raggedy look... I want it ALL back. Your soul is lost and your path into this strange world of 80's electronica is not it. I used to like it when you would On Billy's own web site he writes that he wants his music back, his band back, himself back... etc. In SO MANY WAYS SO DO I ! ! ! What's up Billy? ROCKET, TONIGHT, BULLET WITH BUTTERFLY WINGS, the long hair, the upkempt raggedy look... I want it ALL back. Your soul is lost and your path into this strange world of 80's electronica is not it. I used to like it when you would change your voice from a raging rocker to a soft soothing tone, (or as much as you could) I LISTENED... I cant listen to this dreck. I tried and I can only hope that the REAL Billy will come back. Expand
  56. AH
    Jul 11, 2005
    9
    Whether a fan of Corgan's persona or not, one cannot dispute the the artful brilliance this artist is able to convey with his wide range of musical deliveries throughout the years. The Future Remeberance picks up where The Smashing Pumpkin's "Adore" left off and continues with Corgan's experimentation with Techno pyschdelics. This rich, multi-layered synthesized journey Whether a fan of Corgan's persona or not, one cannot dispute the the artful brilliance this artist is able to convey with his wide range of musical deliveries throughout the years. The Future Remeberance picks up where The Smashing Pumpkin's "Adore" left off and continues with Corgan's experimentation with Techno pyschdelics. This rich, multi-layered synthesized journey seems to again be written at a time when Corgan is seeking answers for the imperfections in his life. The honesty in the lyrics, along with the wandering melody and levitating sounds worksand is definately worth a listen. Expand
  57. Matt
    Aug 15, 2005
    4
    Rather than moving forward, he's re-hashing old ideas.
  58. Beaubeck
    Aug 16, 2005
    2
    I just listened to Future Embrace. Somebody kill me. No wait, I have a better idea: somebody kill Billy Corgan. Christ, what an empty experience. With the exception of DIA, which could easily be slipped in anywhere on Machina, these songs are so synth/drum machine driven, I couldn't even tell where (or why) one song ended and the next began. And to think I once thought this guy was a I just listened to Future Embrace. Somebody kill me. No wait, I have a better idea: somebody kill Billy Corgan. Christ, what an empty experience. With the exception of DIA, which could easily be slipped in anywhere on Machina, these songs are so synth/drum machine driven, I couldn't even tell where (or why) one song ended and the next began. And to think I once thought this guy was a genius. Yuck. Expand
  59. Nov 4, 2011
    7
    Not Billy Corgans finest hour by a long stretch but this record isn't nearly as bad as people would have you believe. Half the songs on this are quite dull but the half that work are very good and sound like nothing he did with the Smashing Pumpkins. SP fans might hate this because it really bears no resemblance to their sound but this is what makes parts of theord interesting. I haveNot Billy Corgans finest hour by a long stretch but this record isn't nearly as bad as people would have you believe. Half the songs on this are quite dull but the half that work are very good and sound like nothing he did with the Smashing Pumpkins. SP fans might hate this because it really bears no resemblance to their sound but this is what makes parts of theord interesting. I have major problems with the production on this, a lot of the time great ideas/songs get ruined by electronic toys/bad machine drumming but as I said, overall it's better than people say it is. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Future mostly sounds like a bunch of so-so Smashing Pumpkins songs, stripped of everything except Corgan's adenoidal vocals, and then set to a chorus of synths and electronic drumbeats.
  2. There's nothing as heroic as Smashing Pumpkins' Tonight Tonight, but Now (And Then) is a surprisingly successful attempt at emotion. [Jul 2005, p.113]
  3. 70
    Corgan allows a surprisingly vulnerable side to appear. [Jul 2005, p.96]