User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 78
  2. Negative: 12 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdwardE
    Jul 6, 2005
    0
    I purchased this disc & then listened to it 5 times trying to find something to enjoy. I then returned it. I think Billy's run his course musically & offers nothing worth having here.
  2. ChrisM
    Jun 20, 2005
    3
    This album is really a big disappointment. I actually liked Mary Star of the Sea a lot more than I enjoy this. There's a couple standout tracks (Walking Shade, The Camera Eye) but for the most part this is just more retro retread. It sounds like Adore if Adore wasn't very memorable and Kevin Shields played guitars.
  3. JasonR
    Jun 30, 2005
    3
    A really weak record overall. I listened to it about 10 times now in hopes that it would grow on me a bit....it hasn't. The songs are so unmemorable that i couldn't hum you a melody from a single one. Aside from there not being much in the way of melody theres also not much going on in the instrumentation/arrangements. A real let down after all the great stuff he did with the A really weak record overall. I listened to it about 10 times now in hopes that it would grow on me a bit....it hasn't. The songs are so unmemorable that i couldn't hum you a melody from a single one. Aside from there not being much in the way of melody theres also not much going on in the instrumentation/arrangements. A real let down after all the great stuff he did with the Pumpkins and the fantastic Zwan album. Expand
  4. BubbaO
    Jun 20, 2005
    0
    If this was any other artist it wouldn't even be considered worth lsitening to. Well, it's not worth listening to. This is some of the most uninteresting music ever made.
  5. EveretM
    Jun 25, 2005
    2
    This album is NOT mainsteream Billy Corgan, nor will it be appreciated by Smashing Pumpkins fans, unless their favourite Albums are Pices Iscariot and Machina (blech!) This is for people who LOVE Billy Corgan (the man) and don't care what he does wrond (the music.) Also, it's not for "rock fans". There will be an audience for this, but it will not be me.
  6. bob
    Jun 26, 2005
    2
    Pathetic, as allways
  7. Nate
    Jul 14, 2005
    2
    Alot of people say that if you hated the smashing pumpkins youll love thefutureembrace. Well i love the smashing pumpkins, and i really cant stand this cd. Its just billy whining about love while the same electro pop plays in the background. On every song. My friend has it and wont shut up about how "oh billy shows so much emotion! its wonderful!" Yes emotion is wonderful, but on a cd the Alot of people say that if you hated the smashing pumpkins youll love thefutureembrace. Well i love the smashing pumpkins, and i really cant stand this cd. Its just billy whining about love while the same electro pop plays in the background. On every song. My friend has it and wont shut up about how "oh billy shows so much emotion! its wonderful!" Yes emotion is wonderful, but on a cd the music should come first. Here it dosent. the futureembrace really dosent grow on you, either. I am a fan of alot of electro pop (when its done well), but here it isnt. Overall, its a letdown more than anything. I havent lost hope in him yet, all im saying is that his next cd better not suck. Expand
  8. Allan
    Sep 17, 2005
    3
    Minus A100, DIA and to Love Somebody, pointless dribble. Wow, what a mess, Bill.
  9. AlanR
    Sep 24, 2005
    0
    One of the greatest CD's Corgan has ever produced solo!
  10. oweeh
    Jun 23, 2005
    4
    I tried my best to like this cd ,but I just cant. If this is Billys new direction I think I need to hop off the wagon.
  11. JeffO
    Jun 29, 2005
    4
    On Billy's own web site he writes that he wants his music back, his band back, himself back... etc. In SO MANY WAYS SO DO I ! ! ! What's up Billy? ROCKET, TONIGHT, BULLET WITH BUTTERFLY WINGS, the long hair, the upkempt raggedy look... I want it ALL back. Your soul is lost and your path into this strange world of 80's electronica is not it. I used to like it when you would On Billy's own web site he writes that he wants his music back, his band back, himself back... etc. In SO MANY WAYS SO DO I ! ! ! What's up Billy? ROCKET, TONIGHT, BULLET WITH BUTTERFLY WINGS, the long hair, the upkempt raggedy look... I want it ALL back. Your soul is lost and your path into this strange world of 80's electronica is not it. I used to like it when you would change your voice from a raging rocker to a soft soothing tone, (or as much as you could) I LISTENED... I cant listen to this dreck. I tried and I can only hope that the REAL Billy will come back. Expand
  12. Matt
    Aug 15, 2005
    4
    Rather than moving forward, he's re-hashing old ideas.
  13. Beaubeck
    Aug 16, 2005
    2
    I just listened to Future Embrace. Somebody kill me. No wait, I have a better idea: somebody kill Billy Corgan. Christ, what an empty experience. With the exception of DIA, which could easily be slipped in anywhere on Machina, these songs are so synth/drum machine driven, I couldn't even tell where (or why) one song ended and the next began. And to think I once thought this guy was a I just listened to Future Embrace. Somebody kill me. No wait, I have a better idea: somebody kill Billy Corgan. Christ, what an empty experience. With the exception of DIA, which could easily be slipped in anywhere on Machina, these songs are so synth/drum machine driven, I couldn't even tell where (or why) one song ended and the next began. And to think I once thought this guy was a genius. Yuck. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Future mostly sounds like a bunch of so-so Smashing Pumpkins songs, stripped of everything except Corgan's adenoidal vocals, and then set to a chorus of synths and electronic drumbeats.
  2. There's nothing as heroic as Smashing Pumpkins' Tonight Tonight, but Now (And Then) is a surprisingly successful attempt at emotion. [Jul 2005, p.113]
  3. 70
    Corgan allows a surprisingly vulnerable side to appear. [Jul 2005, p.96]