There Is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It, There is a Heaven, Let's Keep It a Secret Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Jona Weinhofen, Matthew Nicholls, Matt Kean, Lee Malia
  • Summary: The British metal band's third album was produced by Fredrik Nordstrom and features guest appearances by Lights, You Me At Six's Josh Franceschi, and The Chariot's Josh Scogin.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Kerrang!
    100
    While bleakness is certainly prominent throughout, this album has many different shades and it is these contrasts that make it so vital. It's an album that bursts with ambition, and that Bring Me The Horizon pull it off so powerfully further confirms their greatness. [25 Sep 2010, p.50]
  2. The sonic evolution of the group is remarkable, and the dark, introspective lyrics of Sykes will not only be cathartic for him, but for many.
  3. For all its bluster, There Is A Hell is far more than the story of a man battling his self-perpetuated inner turmoil; it is the sound of a remarkable band establishing themselves as one of the finest of their generation.
  4. Q Magazine
    80
    The odd electronic twist sugars the pill, but it's mostly relentless if brutally effective stuff. [Nov 2010, p.105]
  5. It's the group's most ambitious offering yet, a collection that bites harder than anything they've previously issued but which is equally eager to kiss everything better.
  6. There is a Hell finds Bring Me the Horizon at the top of their game, and its lack of over indulgent production makes it an album that'll not only please fans of the band, but may surprise fans of bands like Converge who are interested in seeing what the kids are up to these days.
  7. Revolver
    50
    By-the-numbers breakdowns, tired metalcore riffing, and cliched lyrics are still very much part of the group's formula. It's too bad since the band has plenty of energy and ambition. [Nov/Dec 2010, p.94]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Amazing album! it is probably there best album yet. It just runs shivers up your spine every time you hear Oliver Sykes (Lead Singer) sing andAmazing album! it is probably there best album yet. It just runs shivers up your spine every time you hear Oliver Sykes (Lead Singer) sing and scream. 'It Never Ends" is my favorite song from the album along with "Dont Go", "Crucify Me" and **** . It's going to take me along time to not listen to these songs for a day.
    I just love it. :)
    Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2015
    10
    For me, this is Bring Me The Horizon's second best album, next to Count Your Blessings. It has a good metal feel to me. I don't notice anyFor me, this is Bring Me The Horizon's second best album, next to Count Your Blessings. It has a good metal feel to me. I don't notice any problems with it at all. The highlights are "Crucify Me", "F**k" and "Home Sweet Hole" Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    A surprisingly good metal album. Oli Sykes completed his transition from deathcore screaming to metalcore growling. The album is ambitious,A surprisingly good metal album. Oli Sykes completed his transition from deathcore screaming to metalcore growling. The album is ambitious, marking a departure from previous releases by incorporating electronica influences and moving away from the loud distorted guitars, although still prevalent on the album the sound is much more polished and cleaner. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    In recent years, the post-hardcore has seemingly died down since the outburst of the dreadful "scene" clique it's created. But in thisIn recent years, the post-hardcore has seemingly died down since the outburst of the dreadful "scene" clique it's created. But in this destruction, there are gems, and one of them are Bring Me the Horizon. There Is a Hell is one of the most energetic, experimental, creative, dynamic, and personal albums in recent years, thanks to its balance of balls-out, speaker thumping metal and mixture of symphonic and electronic influences. Album opener "Crucify Me" features Oli screaming out religious slurs ("There is nothing above, there is nothing below, Heaven and Hell lives in all of us) over rumbling guitars before the distorted choir vocals take over the chorus, as well as a lovely entry from Canadian singer-songstress Lights. "Anthem" is blunt and specifically made for the mosh pits at their shows. And "Don't Go" is simply a masterpiece, it's climatic, beautifully and tragically written, and Oli's screams are as heartfelt as ever before being joined by Lights' soft clean vocals. It's only downfall is its tendency to rely on the typical "chugga chugga" guitar solos and the band still has a lot of growing up to do. But that's okay, we'll love every step this band takes to becoming one of post-hardcore's most memorable acts. Collapse
  6. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    A sweet album that proves that Oli Sykes is evolving into a legitimate music artist, instead of that whiny deathcore d-bag that he was 2 yearsA sweet album that proves that Oli Sykes is evolving into a legitimate music artist, instead of that whiny deathcore d-bag that he was 2 years ago. An ever-changing sound with great melodies, check out **** and "It Never Ends", those are the best songs on the album. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2010
    5
    Even though this record is a production-value copy of Bring Me The Horizon's predecessor, "Suicide Season", it boasts two primary advantagesEven though this record is a production-value copy of Bring Me The Horizon's predecessor, "Suicide Season", it boasts two primary advantages in a quick comparison. The first thing I noticed upon my first listen of this record was the songwriting had vastly, vastly improved since "Suicide Season". This is an across-the-board improvement, from the riffs to the lyrics to the breakdowns. The second thing I noticed was the collaborations with other artists, coloring the music in a positive way that neither "Suicide Season" nor "Count Your Blessings" could. These things being said, the record was a disappointment, as far as vast improvements go. Especially since several of the breakdowns were direct rip-offs their last record. Really, fellows? Nothing new to give? I suppose if this record was meant to REPLACE "Suicide Season", it would be significantly more impressive. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. October's Best New Music

    October's Best New Music Image
    Published: October 29, 2010
    Our look at the month's best-reviewed releases includes new albums from Sufjan Stevens, Marnie Stern, and even Bob Dylan. Get the full list (and listen to tracks from many of the albums) inside.