Tomboy - Panda Bear
Tomboy Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Noah Lennox, Animal Collective's founding member, releases his fourth solo album.
  • Record Label: Paw Tracks
  • Genre(s): Folk, Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Post-Rock, Acid Folk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 12, 2011
    91
    Both less sunny and more accessible than Person Pitch, Tomboy is broken down into bite-sized, relatively straightforward morsels of melody buttressed by percolating polyrhythms, twinkling guitar, piano-based hooks, and Lennox's choirboy emoting.
  2. 90
    Whichever route you choose, one thing remains unflinching: this album is guaranteed to please.
  3. Apr 11, 2011
    85
    Tomboy is a much more considered record, with thickly layered psych-style production.
  4. Apr 7, 2011
    80
    Even when the lyrics betray nagging anxieties, Lennox sounds joyful, illuminating the darkness of Slow Motion like shooting stars, breaking through Alsatian Darn like the sun through a storm.
  5. Apr 13, 2011
    71
    For the most part, Panda Bear manages to fall somewhere in between, creating a work that can be appreciated as both interesting from a compositional standpoint and enjoyable as an extension of his creative path over the past several years.
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    70
    I'm not sure if I'll ever be sold on his approach, but scattered moments do shine.
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    40
    Tomboy doesn't speak loud enough for us to hear it. It hums, rather; it mumbles. It actually can't speak.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    I have to confess: I am much more excited when I hear of release of a solo album by one the guys from Animal Collective than when I hear about ACâ Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Top 3 best albums of 2011. There are two kinds of people in the world: those that understand Animal Collective and those that don't. I'm a huge fan of Animal Collective and Panda Bear is an amazing extension of the band. In the company of Tom Wait's Bad As Me and The Beach Boys' Smile. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Definitely one of my favorite albums of the year so far. It sucks you into its unique sound world - I just keep going back for more. This is right up there (if not better) than Person Pitch, in my opinion. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Brilliant album, even not following the sampler-based and brilliant too Person Pitch; Noah's still delivering his best melodies and lyrics. Slow Motion and Last Night at the Jetty are the highlights, the reverbed guitars and the strange noises mixed with more minimal percussion create one of the best albums of 2011. Expand
  5. May 11, 2011
    8
    Took a few listens to realise just how many great songs there are on this one. Overall though, I don't find it as memorable or versatile as Person Pitch. I get bored listening to this LP the whole way through at times because the songs have a very similar feel to them, but as individual tracks I can't fault them. Expand
  6. May 25, 2011
    7
    The layering on this album is fantastic, but it sometimes has the tendency to drone on at points.
  7. Aug 11, 2011
    5
    An album which tries so hard to hit different bars actually ends up sounding frustrating, uncertain and loose. Had pretty high expectations and it all came up short. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. April's Best New Music - 2011

    April's Best New Music - 2011 Image
    Published: April 29, 2011
    This month's list includes albums by a 70-year-old singer-songwriter and a band that hasn't released an LP in two decades, a solo effort from an Animal Collective member, and a new post-hardcore classic.