User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 68
  2. Negative: 5 out of 68

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2013
    5
    This album is not their best, but I appreciate the constant effort to put new music out there. Panic! at the Disco is by far my favorite band because they do this. That being said, I'm not a fan of the lyrics. I fell in love with this band because they had so much depth to their lyrics in all of their other albums, but this one seems to blatantly state things rather than poetically phraseThis album is not their best, but I appreciate the constant effort to put new music out there. Panic! at the Disco is by far my favorite band because they do this. That being said, I'm not a fan of the lyrics. I fell in love with this band because they had so much depth to their lyrics in all of their other albums, but this one seems to blatantly state things rather than poetically phrase them. On one hand I really enjoy the new sound, but on the other I feel like it's missing instrumental texture. Some of the songs have too much synthesizer and it does not showcase the musical talent of the band members all that well. On a good note Brendon Urie is an amazing singer, which they do showcase in this album. The songs are also great to dance to, which is one of the things that was trying to be accomplished with this album, its only setback is that it is on the shallow side. All in all I do listen to the album and I do like it because it is still WAY better than half the people try and pass off as music today, but I can't rate it very high because I know that they have better music out there. Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    Definitely just "okay", far from a 10 for sure.
    Obviously the 10's are from fans that can't give their favorite band anything less than that, sadly they are lying.
    I'm so glad I waited and didn't actually buy the album, there was a couple goodies though. They need to reinvent their sound again, sounds to similar to everything on the radio from a "Rock" band (even though it's more
    Definitely just "okay", far from a 10 for sure.
    Obviously the 10's are from fans that can't give their favorite band anything less than that, sadly they are lying.
    I'm so glad I waited and didn't actually buy the album, there was a couple goodies though.
    They need to reinvent their sound again, sounds to similar to everything on the radio from a "Rock" band (even though it's more electronic than anything)
    Expand
  3. Duu
    Oct 11, 2013
    5
    This album is lyrically vacuous and it is the biggest downfall of this album. the songs feel meaningless--like words strung together. But what cannot be denied is the strength of the music itself, both the vocal melodies and the background music. The melodies on this album are energetic, danceable, diverse, and just plain awesome. However, this isn't an instrumental album, which means thatThis album is lyrically vacuous and it is the biggest downfall of this album. the songs feel meaningless--like words strung together. But what cannot be denied is the strength of the music itself, both the vocal melodies and the background music. The melodies on this album are energetic, danceable, diverse, and just plain awesome. However, this isn't an instrumental album, which means that one must consider each element of the music, vocals being a huge part (with lyrics being a huge element of vocals). For this band to have made this album a special one, they needed to take the lyric writing seriously and say something meaningful instead of just stringing words together. If the lyrics were simply "not bad" then I think this would have been a great album, but the lyrics are not memorable, catchy, interesting, or even meaningful. If a band wants to be great they must have coherent, respectable lyrics no matter what subject they are singing about.

    Anyone who is giving this a 10 star is pretty much proving that they care only about sound and not substance--which is fine. But I think about all the great bands and artists from the past and what elements made their music great and I just cannot rank this up there with their output. I think that people who have a shallow knowledge of music history and have not listened to anything but what is current, will judge music without the depth of understanding/knowledge required for a solid critique. I am young, but I have listened to music spanning back to the earliest recorded music and including all genres. That this album has universal acclaim on is only a sign that that music critics are losing their sense of perspective or courage and feel the need to be relevant than accurate.
    Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    The only songs I enjoyed on this album were Miss Jackson and This is Gospel. The rest was just forgettable and repetitive which is quite a letdown because of how good the singles were. The other three Panic! at the Disco albums had much more character and flavor
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    5
    At least Brendon Urie's pretentiously verbose lyrics are a bit diminished in this one. Probably a lot electronic for my taste, and I was disappointed because I loved P!atD's previous albums. But I guess this is just one way a band can evolve.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    Panic! At The Disco's latest offering is a good time, almost all the time. [5 Oct 2013, p.52]
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    40
    Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! is cold and computerized, celebrating an aesthetic that proudly values overbearing, repetitious style over creative substance and varied timbres.
  3. The different moods and soundscapes take awhile to digest and let sink in, but every trip back to the dim dance floor has your feet leaving the disco with fresh moves and new accolades.