Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Butch Walker, the fourth full-length studio release for the emo pop band was inspired by the city of Las Vegas.
  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Emo-Pop, Punk-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    Panic! At The Disco's latest offering is a good time, almost all the time. [5 Oct 2013, p.52]
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! paints an exciting picture of Panic! At the Disco's genre-bending career trajectory to come.
  3. 80
    Panic! At The Disco have completely hung up their steampunk wardrobes to deliver one of the year’s finest modern-pop works.
  4. The different moods and soundscapes take awhile to digest and let sink in, but every trip back to the dim dance floor has your feet leaving the disco with fresh moves and new accolades.
  5. 70
    Teeming with melodic hooks and reflective lyrics, Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! is both hypnotic (the lingering closer “The End of All Things”) and beguiling (Far Too Young to Die” and second single “This Is Gospel”).
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    60
    It took eight years, but this Sin City-born emo-glam squad finally made its Vegas Album.
  7. Oct 22, 2013
    40
    Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! is cold and computerized, celebrating an aesthetic that proudly values overbearing, repetitious style over creative substance and varied timbres.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Um dos melhores cd's que já ouvi na minha vida... super demais, com um gostinho misterioso e com a pitada certa de nostalgia que só o Panic! At the Disco consegue colocar nas suas musicas, arisco dizer que Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! superou Vices & Virtues, destaque para as musicas This Is Gospel, Miss Jackson, Nicotine, Girls/Girls/Boys! Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    It could be because I've been a huge fan of the band since the outbreak of "I Write Sins", but this band deserves a rate of 10. With each album, single, video (ect.) these guys find a way to stir up the pot, get people talking, and change their sound. The album is coated with catchy, irresistible choruses and with the addition of Dallon Weekes, recently becoming a threesome, Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die is definitely a record with much put-forth effort. Collapse
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Maybe it's their sound, maybe their lyrics, but this band always keeps me coming back for something new, and they never disappoint. I'm going to be jamming out to this one for a while, and I'm sure there are songs on this album for everyone to do the same. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    Best album since pretty odd. The techno beats of casual affair, collar full mixed with the pounding drumbeats of "this is gospel" and the soaring vocals of "this is Jackson" and "Too young to die" combine to a great album Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2013
    5
    This album is not their best, but I appreciate the constant effort to put new music out there. Panic! at the Disco is by far my favorite band because they do this. That being said, I'm not a fan of the lyrics. I fell in love with this band because they had so much depth to their lyrics in all of their other albums, but this one seems to blatantly state things rather than poetically phrase them. On one hand I really enjoy the new sound, but on the other I feel like it's missing instrumental texture. Some of the songs have too much synthesizer and it does not showcase the musical talent of the band members all that well. On a good note Brendon Urie is an amazing singer, which they do showcase in this album. The songs are also great to dance to, which is one of the things that was trying to be accomplished with this album, its only setback is that it is on the shallow side. All in all I do listen to the album and I do like it because it is still WAY better than half the people try and pass off as music today, but I can't rate it very high because I know that they have better music out there. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2014
    5
    At least Brendon Urie's pretentiously verbose lyrics are a bit diminished in this one. Probably a lot electronic for my taste, and I was disappointed because I loved P!atD's previous albums. But I guess this is just one way a band can evolve. Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    Just wasn't a fan of this album. Been a fan since the beginning and I wanted to like the album and tried to like I just couldn't do it. It was a had a very modern pop sound to it and I simply didn't enjoy it. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews