Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Butch Walker, the fourth full-length studio release for the emo pop band was inspired by the city of Las Vegas.
  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Emo-Pop, Punk-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    Panic! At The Disco's latest offering is a good time, almost all the time. [5 Oct 2013, p.52]
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! paints an exciting picture of Panic! At the Disco's genre-bending career trajectory to come.
  3. 80
    Panic! At The Disco have completely hung up their steampunk wardrobes to deliver one of the year’s finest modern-pop works.
  4. The different moods and soundscapes take awhile to digest and let sink in, but every trip back to the dim dance floor has your feet leaving the disco with fresh moves and new accolades.
  5. 70
    Teeming with melodic hooks and reflective lyrics, Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! is both hypnotic (the lingering closer “The End of All Things”) and beguiling (Far Too Young to Die” and second single “This Is Gospel”).
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    60
    It took eight years, but this Sin City-born emo-glam squad finally made its Vegas Album.
  7. Oct 22, 2013
    40
    Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! is cold and computerized, celebrating an aesthetic that proudly values overbearing, repetitious style over creative substance and varied timbres.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Um dos melhores cd's que já ouvi na minha vida... super demais, com um gostinho misterioso e com a pitada certa de nostalgia que só o Panic! At the Disco consegue colocar nas suas musicas, arisco dizer que Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! superou Vices & Virtues, destaque para as musicas This Is Gospel, Miss Jackson, Nicotine, Girls/Girls/Boys! Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    It could be because I've been a huge fan of the band since the outbreak of "I Write Sins", but this band deserves a rate of 10. With each album, single, video (ect.) these guys find a way to stir up the pot, get people talking, and change their sound. The album is coated with catchy, irresistible choruses and with the addition of Dallon Weekes, recently becoming a threesome, Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die is definitely a record with much put-forth effort. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Maybe it's their sound, maybe their lyrics, but this band always keeps me coming back for something new, and they never disappoint. I'm going to be jamming out to this one for a while, and I'm sure there are songs on this album for everyone to do the same. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    To be completely honest.. This wasn't their best album but it still rocked, despite many of the songs having a similar sound. Panic still never fails to give the fans what they want. Its good overall. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    Definitely just "okay", far from a 10 for sure.
    Obviously the 10's are from fans that can't give their favorite band anything less than that,
    sadly they are lying.
    I'm so glad I waited and didn't actually buy the album, there was a couple goodies though.
    They need to reinvent their sound again, sounds to similar to everything on the radio from a "Rock" band (even though it's more electronic than anything)
    Expand
  6. Duu
    Oct 11, 2013
    5
    This album is lyrically vacuous and it is the biggest downfall of this album. the songs feel meaningless--like words strung together. But what cannot be denied is the strength of the music itself, both the vocal melodies and the background music. The melodies on this album are energetic, danceable, diverse, and just plain awesome. However, this isn't an instrumental album, which means that one must consider each element of the music, vocals being a huge part (with lyrics being a huge element of vocals). For this band to have made this album a special one, they needed to take the lyric writing seriously and say something meaningful instead of just stringing words together. If the lyrics were simply "not bad" then I think this would have been a great album, but the lyrics are not memorable, catchy, interesting, or even meaningful. If a band wants to be great they must have coherent, respectable lyrics no matter what subject they are singing about.

    Anyone who is giving this a 10 star is pretty much proving that they care only about sound and not substance--which is fine. But I think about all the great bands and artists from the past and what elements made their music great and I just cannot rank this up there with their output. I think that people who have a shallow knowledge of music history and have not listened to anything but what is current, will judge music without the depth of understanding/knowledge required for a solid critique. I am young, but I have listened to music spanning back to the earliest recorded music and including all genres. That this album has universal acclaim on is only a sign that that music critics are losing their sense of perspective or courage and feel the need to be relevant than accurate.
    Collapse
  7. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    Just wasn't a fan of this album. Been a fan since the beginning and I wanted to like the album and tried to like I just couldn't do it. It was a had a very modern pop sound to it and I simply didn't enjoy it. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews