Tre!

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Dec 11, 2012
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    40
    Tre! is more whimper than bang.
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    60
    It's got some pretty good songs--but they never get better than pretty good.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    50
    A failed experiment then, all the more painful for the potential it showed.
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    40
    ¡Tré! offers a few ballads, swelling string-laden anthems and even a six-minute medley à la American Idiot--styles that once represented a new aesthetic for the band but now sound forced and exhausted.
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    60
    The music may be just as strong, tight, and impeccable--this is a band that's been going at it for more than a quarter of a century, after all--but there's a lightness missing here, a lack of passion.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    50
    I wish I could close the book on ¡Uno!, ¡Dos!, and ¡Tré! with a more favorable assessment than a resounding, Eh, it was ok.
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    58
    ¡Tre! succeeds most as an exercise in influence-dropping and self-recycling, with a glimmer of inspiration here and there.
  8. 50
    Too often, ¡Tré! falls back on a formula--fast, box-ticking choruses fashioned from chords you can count on the fingers of one hand--that Green Day have pretty much stretched to breaking point.
  9. 50
    It's a mixed bag that doesn't reach the lows of a forced, guest rap appearance, while containing some of the best songs the trilogy has to offer.
  10. This is Green Day doing what Green Day have always done.
  11. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    On the whole, when not tedious or embarrassing, the remainder of Tre is simply not up to the task of proving why a third album in three months was necessary.
  12. 60
    ¡Tré! feels scattershot and slapped together, making it difficult to enjoy on its own merits.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre!Being a fan of Green Day for a long time, I was exhilarated when I learned they would be coming out with, not one, but three new albums. Tre! was instantly the one I was most excited for due to the descriptions Billie Joe gave. After hearing Uno! and Dos! my expectations were very high for Tre! and it did not disappoint. While I thought the first two albums were good, this one provides me with extensive replay value with every song. Tre! opens with the grandiose "Brutal Love," a sprawling ballad complete with piano and horn contributions, a la King for a Day. The albums does not turn back from there. There are no genre-bending experiments on Tre!, just tributes to many decades of music, as well as past Green Day efforts. "Drama Queen" delves into 50's do-wop and throwback for fans of Warning in "Sex, Drugs, and Violence," for example. While, yes, I agree that it is not Green Day's top material, Tre! salvages an otherwise slightly above average trilogy and, hell, still beats out most music today, warranting a 9/10. **** Kesha's album is rated higher than Tre! right now and anyone that knows real music will know that Tre! is still prime entertainment, even if it's not Green Day's greatest effort. That being said, it deserves to be mentioned as one of their better albums, in my humble opinion. Their ability to channel different eras of rock and still be able to make it their own is uncanny. Must listens: Brutal Love, X-Kid, Dirty Rotten Bastards Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    It's better then Dos!, Some song like Dirty Rotten Bastards, X-Kid and 99 Revolutions keep the original Green Day style, but other songs it'sIt's better then Dos!, Some song like Dirty Rotten Bastards, X-Kid and 99 Revolutions keep the original Green Day style, but other songs it's so disappointing....The trilogy it's not what I expected....Now we just wait for the next proposal of this band in the future, and check this like a lesson to learn Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    By far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no fillerBy far the best album off the trilogy. It even beats out 21st Century Breakdown. All the songs connect instantly, and there's no filler ANYWHERE on the album. There are some mad fills by Tre Cool, crazy bass solos by Dirnt (Cue the spectacular 7 minute long 'Dirty Rotten Bastards'), and some pretty badass guitar work from both Billie Joe and Jason White. Also, Armstrong's vocals never fail to impress. Even Mike Dirnt's! Yup, he has a 10 second lead vocal stint on 'Sex, Drugs and Violence.' This album is a complete package, with a political song that recalls their '04 and '05 albums, and the mellower opening and closing tracks of the album, both of which are driven by piano and violins. Best album I've heard in a long time.
    Tracks to listen to: Dirty Rotten Bastards; X-Kid; Sex, Drugs and Violence; Little Boy Named Train; Brutal Love.
    Full Review »