User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 183

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    One of the best indie pop albums I ever heard. It seems almost impossible now that something so heavy and unexpected can be sugary sweet at the same time. It's something that could damage your hearing for good, but Jesus effin Christ, it's so worth it.
  2. May 7, 2013
    8
    The Brooklyn noise rock duo's debut pulls off being loud, charming, candy coated and addictive at the same time. It has one of the most original and freshest sounds I've heard in a long time. It's simply fantastic.
  3. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    Two years later, this record still feels fresh and essential. Each song is a two to three minute fireworks show. I pity those who are too pretentious to appreciate this band.
  4. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Treats is a fun album to listen too. It's noise pop put on full blast. The tracks are loud, mean, and very great to listen too. The creativity is brilliant. It's really unlike any other band I've listened too, much less a duo. All In All, Sleigh Bells "Treats" is an amazing record that needs to be experienced. A-
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    A completely original pop masterpiece. Do yourself a favor and see them live because they put on one hell of a show--especially if you have epilepsy...
  6. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    It's a shame that they're gotten so popular with the wrong crowd of people, but good for them for getting their music out there. This is music that everyone should listen to and appreciate for it's raw energy and ear-splitting awesomeness.
  7. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Most original sound for quite sometime. The combination of the vocals, with the hip hop beats, and the heavy guitar. This is as fresh of a sound as you can get.
  8. Jan 16, 2011
    8
    Like all well-reviewed and well-received albums, 'Treats' has been called overrated by more music elitists than you can count, and now that the band has had some success, a plethora of hipsters are already accusing them of selling out. However, neither of those things are true. 'Treats' is a great debut, and sounds something like grunge rock meets MIA. It's catchy and infectious, and stillLike all well-reviewed and well-received albums, 'Treats' has been called overrated by more music elitists than you can count, and now that the band has had some success, a plethora of hipsters are already accusing them of selling out. However, neither of those things are true. 'Treats' is a great debut, and sounds something like grunge rock meets MIA. It's catchy and infectious, and still sounds fresh after repeated listening. Expand
  9. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    As you can tell by the reviews, this band has the power to be polarizing. I have an appreciation for bands that are polarizing. I totally understand hating Treats in the way that I understand people hating Leslie Hall -- I just happen to feel oppositely and love it. You can see Treats as "merely" making ultra low bass and rap metal safe for indie kids, or "simply" marketing Shellac toAs you can tell by the reviews, this band has the power to be polarizing. I have an appreciation for bands that are polarizing. I totally understand hating Treats in the way that I understand people hating Leslie Hall -- I just happen to feel oppositely and love it. You can see Treats as "merely" making ultra low bass and rap metal safe for indie kids, or "simply" marketing Shellac to pre-teens, but then again, think of how brilliant/ingenious *you'd* have to be to actually make that happen. Sometimes Sleigh Bells pastiches and re-contextualizes so much -- I mean, they really seem to flat out lift riffs in some places -- Cure, Pixies, My Bloody Valentine -- when they don't sample, that I almost think of them as a parallel universe rock version of Girl Talk. (Apologies for all the bandname dropping, it's just really hard not to have comparisonitis with this one.) Expand
  10. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Fresh and new. Innovative and fun. Similar songs with a variety of themes, and this certainty isn't a flaw. If anything, the similarities of all the songs on this album are part of what makes it so great.
  11. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    Know what Treats is? Exactly what the album cover depicts. It's like spending a night at a sporting event. Watching the cheerleaders make chants and do flips and make towers and all that (That would be the vocals). The important fact is that your high school team actually DIDN'T absolutely suck, and is, alternatively, actually very, very good. Your fellow students absolutely LOVE the team,Know what Treats is? Exactly what the album cover depicts. It's like spending a night at a sporting event. Watching the cheerleaders make chants and do flips and make towers and all that (That would be the vocals). The important fact is that your high school team actually DIDN'T absolutely suck, and is, alternatively, actually very, very good. Your fellow students absolutely LOVE the team, and get completely into the cheers and games and yell and scream as loud as they can (that'd be the guitars). And to add accents to it all, there's those smaller events that occur all the time, as well as the actual game. Any contact made, and big change in someone's life, a breakup maybe, a new spark, a fight, whatever. Those would be the drums. But what always keeps the tempo flowing of the game are the cheerleaders' cheering.

    Only difference is this was made by indie chicks that probably hated everything about high school football games.

    So it's sarcastic or something. Yeah.
    Expand
  12. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    The first time I heard Treats I was blown away. I didn't instantly love it like I do now, but it did make me want to take another listen. If you do not like loud music, I do not recommend that you listen to Sleigh Bells. One of the most unique albums of the year and is definitely in my top 10 of 2010.
  13. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    Absolutely crazy and new sound which bursts out of your speaker at the lowest volume. It is like MIA has been put on acid and is shouting from her roof top at the stars. This is something new in an era of generic,samey music.
  14. DiegoS.
    Jun 7, 2010
    9
    I stumbled upon this band at SXSW '10 and I thought they were amazing live. But their live set doesn't compare to the pure genius of this album. Nothing against them live, but the album puts their performance to shame. Album of the year so far.
  15. MikeW.
    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    Just amazing!! This is the sound of Summer 2010!! Think snarly 90's guitars mixed with M.I.A. big beats, and chant along rap rock femal vocals, and you have the unexplainable yet best album of the year so far!! Just get it!!
  16. AidanS
    Jun 4, 2010
    9
    Seriously fun, got the same kind of feeling from it as I did when I first listened to Death From Above start to finish. Only complaint is that it goes by too fast.
  17. BmanF.
    Jun 2, 2010
    9
    You'll never take silence for granted again.
  18. FloB.
    Jun 2, 2010
    10
    What about these guys? I'm all about these guys.
  19. RaphS
    Jun 2, 2010
    10
    Ultimately, only a churlish, dead-eyed cynic would refuse to be moved by this inspired mix of riotous noise and feel-good vibetastic-ness. A pastiche masterpiece.
  20. NachoCano
    Jun 2, 2010
    7
    Much like The XX, I feel like this is one of those hipster hype bands. Don't get me wrong, this album is not bad, it is actually quite good, but that does not mean it is excellent. At its strongest points it does not seem to execute the same type of energetic prowess that albums like In Nouns (No Age) had. I say this because Sleigh Bells is very Lo-Fi. However, Treats feels like you Much like The XX, I feel like this is one of those hipster hype bands. Don't get me wrong, this album is not bad, it is actually quite good, but that does not mean it is excellent. At its strongest points it does not seem to execute the same type of energetic prowess that albums like In Nouns (No Age) had. I say this because Sleigh Bells is very Lo-Fi. However, Treats feels like you are buying so much more than it is, its good it is just not great. I enjoyed Treats, but like a treat, it was short and low on carbohydrates and protein. Short bliss is all it is. Expand
  21. VincentD.
    Jun 1, 2010
    10
    The music is bold, infectious, and isn't afraid to please. `Treats` has a distinct personality to it that feels just as familiar as it is unique. It's the perfect blend of melodic, smooth vocals in contrast to blaring, raw guitar riffs that makes the entire album one of the greatest musical experiences I have ever had the opportunity to listen to.
  22. TyS.
    Jun 1, 2010
    10
    As the name implies, Treats is a guilty pleasure, a sonic gift, that you can open again and again. You really can't say enough how just plain old fashion fun of an album it is.
  23. ElliotB.
    Jun 1, 2010
    9
    Just the refreshing sound at the moment. dragging influences for a miriad of genres and just making a truly loud (great) sound. very impressed.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. That their most charming song by far is the straight George Clinton rip "Rill Rill," which leaves open the question of what they can do for an encore. I'll grant that minimalist bands always leave that question open if you'll grant that too often the answer is repeat themselves.
  2. It's the Ting Tings amplified past 11, and the two never stray far from the formula.
  3. Abrasive and addictive, the duo have together discovered a chemistry that not only excites themselves, but almost anyone else who experiences it. [Aug 2010, p.122]