Twin Cinema - The New Pornographers
Twin Cinema Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third album of sunny indie-pop tunes for the acclaimed union of Neko Case, Dan Bejar (also of Destroyer) and A.C. Newman.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. It's their trademark boisterous hyper-melodies... that will have you involuntarily humming their praises for weeks (months!) to come. [26 Aug 2005, p.59]
  2. While that may disappoint some waiting for a masterpiece, there's no shame in mining the same ground as long as they make records as tight and tuneful as this.
  3. The New Pornographers shine because every member gets their due. [#10, p.107]
  4. Is it their best album? Maybe not. Is it still the best pop album of the year? Of course.
  5. The slickly produced Twin Cinema tweaks the formula to include subdued moments, climactic codas and fully unified vocals, elevating the band’s ideas to complete cohesion and transcending its previous output.
  6. It would be a joke to call an album as lush as Twin Cinema “lo-fi,” but it is a more subtle, reined-in New Pornographers.
  7. Inevitably, when the Prozac finally wears off the more 'thoughtful' numbers fall flat on their faces. [20 Aug 2005, p.58]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 75
  2. Negative: 3 out of 75
  1. EricC.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Impossibly fun. I was only a couple of songs in to this album before it became one of my favorites. I'll blast this music from my stereo Impossibly fun. I was only a couple of songs in to this album before it became one of my favorites. I'll blast this music from my stereo for a while. Collapse
  2. MarkS
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    I regret trading in their first two efforts, but that's o.k., because this disc has a magic feeling that channels good vibrations.
  3. NicholasB
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    Mass Romantic was wonderful; Electric Version its equal; but Twin Cinema surpasses them both. It's nigh on the perfect pop record.
  4. D*To-
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    One of the top few albums of the year, with probably the song of the year ("The Bleeding Heart Show"). This album is a masterpiece from the One of the top few albums of the year, with probably the song of the year ("The Bleeding Heart Show"). This album is a masterpiece from the very beginning, with the burst into "Twin Cinema." The genius of the interwoven lyrics of Case and Newman is brilliant, not to mention Bejar at his best ("Jackie, Dressed in Cobras"). Expand
  5. BernardA
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    This is the first cd from this band that I bought & after listening to it I just have to get their previous cds. Every song is a gem This is the first cd from this band that I bought & after listening to it I just have to get their previous cds. Every song is a gem especially Use It, Sing me Spanish Techno & Star Bodies. The only weak spot is Jessica Numbers which is really boring. Along with Spoon's Gimmie Fiction this is one of the best releases of 2005 Expand
  6. TimD
    Jun 26, 2006
    8
    That NME mark proves just how awful a publication it has become under conor mcnicholas tutorship. Their constant overlooking of the terriffic That NME mark proves just how awful a publication it has become under conor mcnicholas tutorship. Their constant overlooking of the terriffic american/canadian pop scene (picaresque 5/10? idiots) in favour of horrendously dull british acts is simply derisory. How you can big up the pipettes and the arctic monkeys while their much better behaved siblings monkey swallows thew universe and band club toil round in northern clubs is quite, quite bizarre. It really cries out for new editorship. Oh, and twin cinema is a very very strong album; bleeding heart show is so jawdroppingly gorgeous i tend to dribble just thinking about it. Expand
  7. KevinK
    Aug 30, 2005
    0
    Hooray, another 17 dollar coaster.

See all 75 User Reviews