Two Way Monologue - Sondre Lerche
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Lerche has a pop manual the size of the OED, and he's not the least bit bashful about using it. [Apr 2004, p.86]
  2. The world of Two Way Monologue may find more by way of endings and duties, but even these can't dampen Lerche's contagious musical sensibilities, exhilarating vigor and downright stupefying songcraft.
  3. A breezy, unexpectedly enchanting CD. [12 Mar 2004, p.112]
  4. 82
    Lacks the robust, full-bodied sound of its predecessor and instead exercises a studied, stripped-down clinic on how to brood and remain upbeat. [#9, p.102]
  5. 80
    Think swoonsome pop at its most non-cynical but with a left-field twist. [Aug 2004, p.98]
  6. 80
    An unexpected delight. [Apr 2004, p.132]
  7. His arrangements are floral and handcrafted and warm. [May 2004, p.102]
  8. 80
    The sophomore-slump-beating Two Way Monologue showcases Lerche's expanding sensibility for songwriting, even if it sacrifices some of the passion of his debut. [#6, p.86]
  9. If the listener isn't eventually caught in swoons, at the least he will respect the degree of Lerche's refined artifice.
  10. 75
    Lerche gets his Burt Bacharach on, flavoring coffee-shop ballads with minor-key chicory. [Apr 2004, p.94]
  11. Two Way Monologue is an evident progression forward, but not forward enough. It is extremely similar to Faces Down and ultimately leads to disappointment.
  12. The first thing that really jumps out at you about Two Way Monologue is that it lacks its predecessor's exuberant, puddle-jumping panache. But when you stop and look at things closely, you realize that the progressions Lerche has made on the songwriting front more than atone for any zeal he's trimmed off the back end.
  13. 60
    The songs are a mite pretentious. [Sep 2004, p.99]
  14. His weakness is his words. Lerche clearly puts effort into his poetry, but the results are often vague, and at worst they suggest a nonsensical translation of what might have been eloquent in the singer's native tongue.
  15. He ends up sounding like a confused Billy Joel.
  16. Most of the tracks here fit into various categories of coffee table mood music; Lerche has a great knack for melodies, but seemingly not much of an idea what to do with them once he’s got them all lined up.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. JyotirmayaD
    Aug 2, 2006
    7
    There are few good songs here. I saw him perform most of this album live and it sounded much better live!?
  2. NealL
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    This album is extremely wonderful with its unique genre and Sondre's wonderfully calm and soothing voice. I rarly give albums a ten, but This album is extremely wonderful with its unique genre and Sondre's wonderfully calm and soothing voice. I rarly give albums a ten, but this is worth every compliment. Thank you Sondre Lerche Full Review »
  3. multe4
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    I just love this album a actually it opend my world to music. For that I should have huged him but his a far way from here and u must forguve I just love this album a actually it opend my world to music. For that I should have huged him but his a far way from here and u must forguve me for no doing so! Full Review »