Ultra Beatdown

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 51
  2. Negative: 6 out of 51

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Fernando
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    Worth the wait.
  2. EvanL
    Sep 1, 2008
    7
    If you like dragonforce, go buy this cd. Just don't expect much difference from Inhuman rampage. But, then again, is that ever a bad thing?
  3. CraigE
    Mar 30, 2009
    9
    Almost perfect.
  4. LordP
    Nov 28, 2008
    7
    Good stuff. truly a lot of dragonforce sounds the same but it keeps going good and the guitar is exiting.
  5. HannahC
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Can't believe I nearly missed this. It's BRILLIANT!! I recommend for all DragonForce fans. There is a clear improvement in this album. (Really need to find someone with the bonus tracks... annoyed at the fact I don't have them... always listen to bonus tracks.
  6. ThomasB
    Oct 9, 2008
    9
    I love these guys but really the constant "it sounds the same" crap is getting annoying... People who say it all sounds the same listen to the first 5 seconds of every song plus i can name a few genres that sound the same throughout... cough rap cough... but people say it's synthesized and so? That's their sound... I love the lyrics, I love the sound, I love Dragonforce!
  7. MislavF
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    DragonForce's best CD yet. It improves upon the ridiculous speed of Inhuman Rampage while throwing in new elements for variation. Anybody who has ever enjoyed DragonForce should get this. NOW Magazine is correct.
  8. HowlPenDragon
    Aug 29, 2008
    10
    Look, it's DragonForce. If you're a fan, why bother reading this. Y'know it rocks as hell. Believe me, run down to the store and buy it NOW! Greatest album yet by more than a country mile! The description of the album at DF HQ couldn't be more true--you won't be disappointed! Keep on rockin' DF!
  9. CraigG.
    Aug 30, 2008
    9
    Another great album by Dragonforce.
  10. JustinS.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    Although Power/Fantasy metal is on the downside of originality, Dragonforce's new release is an improvement on their original content, and is a huge improvement over their last album, inhuman rampage. Their songs are more diverse, and the guitar playing is never overdone. I consider them incredible, but there is more potem=ntial to be had on the diverse side of things. I think this Although Power/Fantasy metal is on the downside of originality, Dragonforce's new release is an improvement on their original content, and is a huge improvement over their last album, inhuman rampage. Their songs are more diverse, and the guitar playing is never overdone. I consider them incredible, but there is more potem=ntial to be had on the diverse side of things. I think this album is attempting to follow in that direction. Expand
  11. TimF
    Sep 23, 2008
    9
    This album is an improvement over Inhuman Rampage in every way despite not having one really good standout song. Its more of the same Dragonforce. Personaly, I wouldn't have it any other way!
  12. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite Dragonforce album, and I can't wait for the next (while this one should hold me over for a while). If you are a Dragonforce fan, then I highly recommend buying this album. I agree with ThomasB, listen to the actual album in its entirety before you spout random hatred at this band with info you got from Youtube comments. I also agree with HannahC, find the bonus tracksThis is my favorite Dragonforce album, and I can't wait for the next (while this one should hold me over for a while). If you are a Dragonforce fan, then I highly recommend buying this album. I agree with ThomasB, listen to the actual album in its entirety before you spout random hatred at this band with info you got from Youtube comments. I also agree with HannahC, find the bonus tracks somewhere and listen to them. They are amazing. Love this album. Love this band. Hats off to D-Force for being awesome again. Expand
  13. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Dragonforce has pleased me with no end. It is great for all things, gaming, working out, and even to sleep to. I have listened to all of their songs at least 10 times each. This album, however, was one of their best. It really brought new life to the world of Power Metal. The lightning fast solos and powerful lyrics made this band what they are today and i hope continue to power their wayDragonforce has pleased me with no end. It is great for all things, gaming, working out, and even to sleep to. I have listened to all of their songs at least 10 times each. This album, however, was one of their best. It really brought new life to the world of Power Metal. The lightning fast solos and powerful lyrics made this band what they are today and i hope continue to power their way through the world of Power Metal with even better albums and songs. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Power metal may not be the most inventive musical style on the planet, but Dragonforce are making it more exciting than most anyone else has for quite some time.
  2. Alternative Press
    90
    Ultra Beatdown is a relentless explosion of power metal serving as a superb master class for fledgling shredders on any instrument. [Sep 2008, p.152] [Sep 208, p.152]
  3. Those in the know can attest DF is merely coming into its own after years on the touring circuit.