Ultra Beatdown

Ultra Beatdown Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The metal band releases its first album with Frederic Leclercq on bass.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Power metal may not be the most inventive musical style on the planet, but Dragonforce are making it more exciting than most anyone else has for quite some time.
  2. Alternative Press
    90
    Ultra Beatdown is a relentless explosion of power metal serving as a superb master class for fledgling shredders on any instrument. [Sep 2008, p.152] [Sep 208, p.152]
  3. Those in the know can attest DF is merely coming into its own after years on the touring circuit.
  4. Ultra Beatdown ultimately delivers what the band promises, which is all the fans can ask for.
  5. True, the lyrics (nearly all of which offer some variation on a battle/victory cliché) are borderline brain-dead, the musicianship is all slippery soullessness, and the production is so oppressive that the instruments might as well be synthesized. But in a subgenre where understatement matters less than showing one's might, these could just as well be merits.
  6. Uncut
    60
    A grandiose power metal pomposity that marshals such gusts of keyboard and flowery, Yngwie Malmsteen guitar duelling it basically feels like a climax strung out over 60 minutes; epic in short bursts, slightly tiring in the long haul. [Nov 2008, p.92]
  7. Ultra Beatdown features the same guitar riffing, theatric singing and the rest of that stuff that doesn’t matter in regards to Dragonforce.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. HowlPenDragon
    Aug 29, 2008
    10
    Look, it's DragonForce. If you're a fan, why bother reading this. Y'know it rocks as hell. Believe me, run down to the store Look, it's DragonForce. If you're a fan, why bother reading this. Y'know it rocks as hell. Believe me, run down to the store and buy it NOW! Greatest album yet by more than a country mile! The description of the album at DF HQ couldn't be more true--you won't be disappointed! Keep on rockin' DF! Expand
  2. HannahC
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    Can't believe I nearly missed this. It's BRILLIANT!! I recommend for all DragonForce fans. There is a clear improvement in this Can't believe I nearly missed this. It's BRILLIANT!! I recommend for all DragonForce fans. There is a clear improvement in this album. (Really need to find someone with the bonus tracks... annoyed at the fact I don't have them... always listen to bonus tracks. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Dragonforce has pleased me with no end. It is great for all things, gaming, working out, and even to sleep to. I have listened to all of theirDragonforce has pleased me with no end. It is great for all things, gaming, working out, and even to sleep to. I have listened to all of their songs at least 10 times each. This album, however, was one of their best. It really brought new life to the world of Power Metal. The lightning fast solos and powerful lyrics made this band what they are today and i hope continue to power their way through the world of Power Metal with even better albums and songs. Expand
  4. JustinS.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    Although Power/Fantasy metal is on the downside of originality, Dragonforce's new release is an improvement on their original content, Although Power/Fantasy metal is on the downside of originality, Dragonforce's new release is an improvement on their original content, and is a huge improvement over their last album, inhuman rampage. Their songs are more diverse, and the guitar playing is never overdone. I consider them incredible, but there is more potem=ntial to be had on the diverse side of things. I think this album is attempting to follow in that direction. Expand
  5. LordP
    Nov 28, 2008
    7
    Good stuff. truly a lot of dragonforce sounds the same but it keeps going good and the guitar is exiting.
  6. Jan 13, 2012
    6
    Its ok. A few good songs on it but compared to the other albums by Dragonforce, It wasnt all that good. The songs sounded too similar andIts ok. A few good songs on it but compared to the other albums by Dragonforce, It wasnt all that good. The songs sounded too similar and didnt have the variety that other albums did. Their sound was a little different this time around and I didnt like it, Didnt seem up to par as their old stuff. I can understand them having to evolve but in this case, they devolved.

    It was an ok album that die hard fans will love but first time listeners are better off starting with the old stuff and working their way forward.
    Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 29, 2008
    0
    I really hope the real critics come to knock this shit to the ground. Seriously when did sweaty ugly soulless 13 year old start getting I really hope the real critics come to knock this shit to the ground. Seriously when did sweaty ugly soulless 13 year old start getting attention just because some idiots put it in a video game. It sounds like what happens when you give people with a deep hatred for music too much money and tell them they have to make a cd. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews