Unbroken

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 272
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    4
    Demi's just failed to transmit the message on this album. She's just been through a lot in the past months and it just feels like it has all been ignored. It looks like she's the real & raw Demi only on "Skyscraper", which wasn't written by herself, "Fix a Heart" and "For The Love of a Daughter". The other songs just come out as simple pop songs, and also don't make her look grown up atDemi's just failed to transmit the message on this album. She's just been through a lot in the past months and it just feels like it has all been ignored. It looks like she's the real & raw Demi only on "Skyscraper", which wasn't written by herself, "Fix a Heart" and "For The Love of a Daughter". The other songs just come out as simple pop songs, and also don't make her look grown up at all, for me. In fact, they do (check out "Who's That Boy"), but not in the way many were expecting. "All Night Long", "Give Your Heart a Break", "Hold Up" and "Unbroken" are the best picks off of the album, still, they're faceless. Not that I was expecting a Lovato's version of "Goodbye Lullaby", but she would have sounded more mature in a "I've lived and I've learned" way, and not in a "I can see us sneaking ways from the back of the club to a bed in the shades" way, and unfortunately, the latter way is the one presented on this record. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    6
    Demi Lovato's entrance into R&B-esque music might have been bizarre to contemporary audiences after her public battle with emotional stress and self-harm. But Unbroken is not necessarily a miss on any level. Although appearances from well-known and upcoming hip-hop musicians such as Timbaland, Missy Elliot, Dev, and Jason Derulo are flattering attempts at trying to channel Lovato's innerDemi Lovato's entrance into R&B-esque music might have been bizarre to contemporary audiences after her public battle with emotional stress and self-harm. But Unbroken is not necessarily a miss on any level. Although appearances from well-known and upcoming hip-hop musicians such as Timbaland, Missy Elliot, Dev, and Jason Derulo are flattering attempts at trying to channel Lovato's inner Christina Aguilera-esque diva, Lovato is at her strongest in her ballads such as the heartwrenching lead single "Skyscraper" and the very personal ending "For the Love of a Daughter" (which deals with Lovato's struggling relationship with her now late father in the same vein as former Disney starlet Lindsay Lohan's 2005 single "Confessions of a Broken Heart"). Unbroken helps solidify her status as a powerful young singer-songstress at least with her "Lovatics". Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    6
    There is a difficulty in rating this album because Demi Lovato has shifted in a new musical direction. Vocally she has hit a new high and there are a handful of songs in the closing portion of the album that show a potential that is waiting to break free. The opening tracks attempt to showcase the new musical direction, but feel a bit awkward and clumsy. Overall the album needed to beThere is a difficulty in rating this album because Demi Lovato has shifted in a new musical direction. Vocally she has hit a new high and there are a handful of songs in the closing portion of the album that show a potential that is waiting to break free. The opening tracks attempt to showcase the new musical direction, but feel a bit awkward and clumsy. Overall the album needed to be refined and find an identity rather than struggle to establish one. Collapse
  4. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    This album was not amazing, nor was it horrible. It was a much bigger improvement from her second album, although I could've done without all the collaborations. The only collaboration I actually liked was with Missy Elliot and Timbaland for All Night Long (which is also my favorite track). Other tracks I feel lifted this album up were Skyscraper and Lightweight. I liked Demi more when sheThis album was not amazing, nor was it horrible. It was a much bigger improvement from her second album, although I could've done without all the collaborations. The only collaboration I actually liked was with Missy Elliot and Timbaland for All Night Long (which is also my favorite track). Other tracks I feel lifted this album up were Skyscraper and Lightweight. I liked Demi more when she played it vulnerable and wasn't a huge fan of all her club songs like Who's That Boy, etc.. Still, not a bad album and hope she keeps getting better and better! Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    It's good...not great, but it deserves at least a 61 or higher. Yes, auto tune is used here and there but overall is a pretty good album compared to MIley Cyrus's "Can't be tamed." Lovato states "I am a lightweight, better be careful what you say" and this theme of struggle is used thorughout the whole album especially in "Skyscraper" and "For the love of a daughter."
  6. Oct 16, 2015
    5
    Demi's third studio album wasn't all that great. Sure, there are some emotional songs, but this is full of party music. What a disappointment for someone just coming out of treatment.
  7. Jun 26, 2014
    6
    Good tracks, good melodies, good lyrics, but not enough. Demi grew, turned a bit sassy, but that's not what this album said. Cliché lyrics, there's just some really beautiful songs like Skyscraper, For the Love of a Daughter and Together that saved the album, because the rest is too R&B for me, looks like it was made ​​just to sell and don't pass a message. Demi grew, now the only need isGood tracks, good melodies, good lyrics, but not enough. Demi grew, turned a bit sassy, but that's not what this album said. Cliché lyrics, there's just some really beautiful songs like Skyscraper, For the Love of a Daughter and Together that saved the album, because the rest is too R&B for me, looks like it was made ​​just to sell and don't pass a message. Demi grew, now the only need is the songs grow up too. Expand
  8. Oct 26, 2014
    4
    ritmos ruins musicas com letras sem sentidos tirando algumas capa ruim a unica coisa que salva sao os dois singles q nao foram muito recebidos no total de vendas
  9. Mar 23, 2015
    4
    O álbum mais razoável de Demi Lovato, a grande maioria com batidas que não combinam muito com a voz a própria e letras meio "infantilizadas", Demi tem um pontencial, a sua voz é incrível, porém ela precisa urgentemente se soltar das correntes do estilo "teen" e crescer.
  10. Sep 11, 2015
    5
    Ugh, another very dissapoint. I like Demi but "Unbroken" isn't what you need to hear first if you want to know her. The album could be way better with the same message. Half of the album is really good but the another songs can dissapoint you if you want more "Skyscraper".
  11. Jan 28, 2016
    5
    Em um amotoado de músicas eletrônicas clichês na primeira parte do disco mal podemos ver a personalidade de Demi ou pelo menos sermos convencidos de que vemos. Faltou substância própria para que as músicas realmente impressionassem mas só vemos de fato o crescimento do álbum a partir da faixa 7. Ao menos, Unbroken tem sua músicas notáveis como Skyscraper, uma música épica sobre superaçãoEm um amotoado de músicas eletrônicas clichês na primeira parte do disco mal podemos ver a personalidade de Demi ou pelo menos sermos convencidos de que vemos. Faltou substância própria para que as músicas realmente impressionassem mas só vemos de fato o crescimento do álbum a partir da faixa 7. Ao menos, Unbroken tem sua músicas notáveis como Skyscraper, uma música épica sobre superação pessoal e In Real Life, uma música pop que nos apresenta uma Demi verdadeiramente mais expressiva. Expand
  12. Jun 4, 2016
    6
    Not a bad album expected more from her but still a enjoyable listen.
    My score:
    1. all night long 5/10 2.who's that boy 7/10 3.you're my only shorty 6/10 4.together 8/10 5.lightweight 7/10 6.unbroken 9/10 7.fix a heart 7/10 8. hold up 7/10 9.mistake 8/10 10.give your heart a break 8/10 11,skyscraper 9/10 12.in real life 7/10 13.my love is like a star 5/10 14.for the love of a
    Not a bad album expected more from her but still a enjoyable listen.
    My score:
    1. all night long 5/10
    2.who's that boy 7/10
    3.you're my only shorty 6/10
    4.together 8/10
    5.lightweight 7/10
    6.unbroken 9/10
    7.fix a heart 7/10
    8. hold up 7/10
    9.mistake 8/10
    10.give your heart a break 8/10
    11,skyscraper 9/10
    12.in real life 7/10
    13.my love is like a star 5/10
    14.for the love of a daughter 8/10
    15.skyscraper (wizz dumb remix) 2/10
    overall: 68.6
    Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    Exorcised of the dud tracks, Unbroken is a streamlined pure-pop winner, but ultimately it cannot measure up to Lovato's contemporaries.
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    70
    "Unbroken" is her best effort yet. Ignoring the first 4 songs, it's a great album, filled with songs that have meaning.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    50
    Unbroken would be a far better album without them [the first four, "utterly vapid" songs] but like it or not they're there, sitting right out in front. It'd seem tragic if such a descriptor wasn't being used to describe an album so laced with actual, genuine tragedy.