Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 91
    [Mudhoney] are as furious, as weird, and as tuned-down as ever. [#19, p.101]
  2. Musically, the boys prove once again that grunge needn't be reduced to Black Sabbath meets Black Flag. [#13, p.94]
  3. The rock these four men so easily brandish is every bit the equal, if not the better, of that deployed by so-called peers half their age.
  4. 80
    With its indelible songs and bug-eyed intensity, this album makes you wish that more bands could be so irreverent. [Apr 2006, p.100]
  5. Under a Billion Suns is one of the hardest and tightest albums this band has ever made.
  6. Their best record in years. [Apr 2006, p.218]
  7. Under a Billion Suns is a great record, and Mudhoney is one of the best bands in rock 'n' roll, period.
  8. Mudhoney is a new band lyrically and emotionally.
  9. Its precision in sound and spirit can’t be denied; Under A Billion Suns is a triumphant, wild mess.
  10. Mudhoney's saving grace is their sardonic worldview, which is as touchingly sick as ever amid the horn-spiked, bluesy arrangements. [10 Mar 2006, p.69]
  11. Rollickingly great fun to listen to. [4 Mar 2006, p.31]
  12. Mostly they deliver a bluesy sprawl full of meaty punk riffs and Stooges-schooled abandon that still outpaces less-inspired slop-rock bands. [9 Mar 2006, p.94]
  13. Their bleakest set of songs ever.
  14. So what’s a band to do that sticks to its guns and produces some of the finest sludgy blues-punk this side of Blue Cheer? Well, for starters, add horns. Call it a gimmick or a last-ditch effort at reinvention, whatever the case, but it works.
  15. The band’s best effort in over a decade.
  16. What makes these weak attempts at earnestness all the more disappointing is that the music is great.
  17. The problem isn’t the music, which is lively and varied, but the disconnect between the artistic intent and the artistic output.
  18. 60
    Mudhoney these days, for all their pioneer status, mostly just sound like a regular, decent rock band. [Apr 2006, p.105]
  19. Abrasive, apocalyptic rock. [Apr/May 2006, p.105]
  20. [The songs] may be executed with prowess, but their bandied crassness isn't just a tried-and-true style, it's a tiresome cliché.
  21. Under A Billion Suns is, by a wide margin, the tightest Mudhoney has ever sounded on record. It's all the more unfortunate, then, that the album's lyrics bait the comparison to... Green Day.
  22. Most... is either shapeless mush or verging on self-parody. [Apr 2006, p.116]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. RambaldiM
    May 26, 2006
    10
    Since I got their album I've turned over and over again. I know them from the beginning and this new album is their best punkrock album. Since I got their album I've turned over and over again. I know them from the beginning and this new album is their best punkrock album. It's kick out the jam. I saw them on 16h mai in Ghent, Belgium. For three full days I can't hear, man what I sound... Final : buy "A billion suns" Full Review »
  2. MikeD
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    Mudhoney's strongest album since EGBDF. It tightens up the unfiltered potenital of their 2002 release while rocking like their earlier Mudhoney's strongest album since EGBDF. It tightens up the unfiltered potenital of their 2002 release while rocking like their earlier releases. When are these guys going to get the audience they deserve! Full Review »