Untitled - Korn
Untitled Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Drummer Terry Bozzio only features in half of the tracks on Korn's eighth album, which ends their current contract with Virgin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Their best since 1999's "Issues."
  2. In setting aside its trademark sound, Korn hasn’t yet replaced it with something of its own, but at least the band is working on it.
  3. The California band's doomy gothic arias sound unsettling and bold once more. [Sep 2007, p.91]
  4. Much of the music bears little resemblance to the down-tuned chug-and-glug found on the band's early records.
  5. Which may make it a change of pace for Korn, but it sure doesn't break them out of their midlife slump--if anything, it exacerbates it.
  6. Most bizarre are the contributions of studio drummer Terry Bozzio, known for his work with Frank Zappa, who, despite his reputation as one of rock's most talented stick men, fails to sound heavy, menacing or even relatively interesting.
  7. Untitled should make no sense to any sentient being older than 18, but that isn't ageism, it's practical marketing

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 89
  2. Negative: 17 out of 89
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    I know a lot of Korn fans didn't like this album but it was realy creative, they added some new sounds and the album was even better with Terry Bozzio on drums.
    This KoRn album has a little of death metal , it has a 2 or 3 songs with an accoustic guitar and quite calm songs and some heavy intros and they added some new instruments to the songs.
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    I don't see why this is so low. The album has the same feel through out which makes it excellent. Its got that circusey feel to it. I think the album has many great songs like Evolution, Hold On, Kiss, and Killing. Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2011
    At this point of Korns career, many argued they should have shut up shop, Losing two fulltime band members and having a replacement in the band. But the core was still there, so why bother?
    David Silveria left after the SYOTOS world tour on 'Hiatus' which then became retirement, Korn enlisted Terry Bozzio (most notably from Frank Zappa) and he only featured on half the songs on the Untitled effort.
    The result? The Untitled album was a step better than SYOTOS but was stil unimpressive and uninspiring. But as a Korn fan, I am used to constant experimentation and effects. This album is packed to the brim full of effects using pro tools. There are endless layers to the songs with perhaps the exception of 'I Will Protect You' 'Ever Be' and 'Killing' Which are all the least complicated and most impressive 'Korn-esque' Tracks on Untitled.
    The album doesnt deliver ANY knock out blow tracks, and there are no epic closing tracks as featured on most of their albums. Even the deluxe EP edition doesnt have a notable b-side.
    BUT this is from the point of view comparing it to the rest of their discography.
    As a stand alone album from an experimenting band re-finding their feet, it is quite an enjoyable album, the effects and pro tools fill any weaknesses and holes left by absent band members and gives the Korn sound an almost Goth/Industrial edge to it.
    Lyrically Jonathan expands into new topics with a song or ttwo venting frustration at Head Welch and war of words that emerged between himself and the band post breakup.
    All in all the album lacks the generic Korn charm but is a good attempt at a new sound and once again pushes boundaries not previously attempted by the band. But not overly succesfully so.
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    Maybe the softest Korn album (not a bad thing). The overall sound of the album is very cool, however the problem is that while it is a cool sound, there are very few tracks that stand out.

    "Starting Over", "Evolution", "Hold On", "Innocent Bystander" and "Killing" are the only songs that really make me want go back for another listen. 5 out of 13 tracks (not very good). The rest of the songs are dull and the Intro to the album is very cliche.

    I really wish they would've been able to come up with more memorable songs with this album because the album was a good idea and had potential, just poor execution.

    Anyhow I would still suggest picking it up, maybe you'll find more memorable tracks then I did.

    FYI: There is a bonus track on some editions called "Sing Sorrow" and that is a very good song. I'm surprised it didn't make the regular album.
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    'Untitled' is a truly loathsome album, abandoning completely what the band and the fan base long for. Poorly constructed NIN songs and even worse lyrics leave us with the hate-inducing 'Hushabye' and 'Hold On'. Expand

See all 89 User Reviews