Up!

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 54
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 54
  3. Negative: 18 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarjorieD
    Nov 17, 2004
    1
    made to make money no artistic value all commercial value like macdonalds
  2. FernandezF
    Nov 8, 2004
    1
    boring colorless contrived music empty lyrics over done over rated
  3. JimK
    Dec 28, 2004
    0
    no
  4. MackB
    Dec 3, 2002
    3
    This is the ultimate in disposable, plastic, sugar coated music. You don't like country? Play the pop version. You don't like top 40? Well go buy the import, enjoy those latin beats. As soon as one song ends, you completely forget it. Not one memorable track, in any kind of version. It's as if she knew it was a disc full of crap, so she doubled the "value" of said crap by This is the ultimate in disposable, plastic, sugar coated music. You don't like country? Play the pop version. You don't like top 40? Well go buy the import, enjoy those latin beats. As soon as one song ends, you completely forget it. Not one memorable track, in any kind of version. It's as if she knew it was a disc full of crap, so she doubled the "value" of said crap by doing it all over again, just as badly. Next time she should "sing" over the sounds of garbage disposals in the background. It would be so more fitting. People --- buy the new Steve Earle album instead.Listen to someone who actually has something to say, and sounds like he actually MEANS IT! Heck, a broken toaster is worth more than this stinking heap. Expand
  5. larryc
    Aug 16, 2004
    1
    It's not quite pop and definately not country. What is it? Weak lyrics and drowned out almost robotic vocals.
  6. JackieD
    Aug 22, 2004
    1
    What a disappointment! Come on Shania! We waited five years for this? Well, if this is all you have to offer all I can say is... Here's to another five years (hopefully longer) before you release your next CD.
  7. ChrisH
    Aug 23, 2004
    0
    I can't give it anything lower than a zero so I gave it a big fat goose egg. O That's because I feel that's how much effort Shania put into this CD. Nothing! There is absolutel no depth or meaning to any of the songs. There are 19 totally forgettable songs on this CD. And, oh yeah, lucky us we get the same exact song twice on 2 different CDs. She claims the 2 CDs represent I can't give it anything lower than a zero so I gave it a big fat goose egg. O That's because I feel that's how much effort Shania put into this CD. Nothing! There is absolutel no depth or meaning to any of the songs. There are 19 totally forgettable songs on this CD. And, oh yeah, lucky us we get the same exact song twice on 2 different CDs. She claims the 2 CDs represent a "country" version and a "pop" version. But, there's very little (if any) difference between the 2 CDs. Don't waste you money on this one. You can probably get it at the used CD bin for little or nothing. Expand
  8. lennyb
    Aug 29, 2004
    0
    Did anybody ever hear this chicks real voice? Eeek! It's BAD! I went out and got a copy of limelight sessions. you know the songs she recorded before her magician husband worked his wonders on her. This chick is a looker but she sure can't sing.
  9. GenevieveD
    Jun 27, 2005
    1
    so over produced Where is her Real voice almost inauduble is it burned out? barbie doll looks boring hooks dont buy waste of money
  10. FrederickS
    May 29, 2006
    2
    You gotta be F*^#ing joking if you think this record deserves a 71. Incredibly thin music with a few "oh, oh,oh's" and "yeah, yeah, yeah's" thrown in where there should be lyrics. Not even half half-assed.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Blender
    80
    Twain's songs are never deep, but they have hooks tattooed on their skin and harmonies that glow like bar lights. [#13, p.88]
  2. Playing armchair producer and doing comparison tests is so entertaining, the cumulative package is greater than the sum of its parts.
  3. [It's] quintessential Shania, light as vapor, sweet as sugar, rendered with personality and undeniable charisma.