• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: May 19, 2014
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 27, 2014
    7
    Unexpectedly good. I had given up hope on country music and country-influenced music, this charming album comes along.

    While it didn't make me fall in love with the genre, it has renewed my interest in it. The music is simple, yet emotionally effective. Conor's voice is one of the best i heard in a long time. The lyrics are just beautiful in how they make you think. Of course, not
    Unexpectedly good. I had given up hope on country music and country-influenced music, this charming album comes along.

    While it didn't make me fall in love with the genre, it has renewed my interest in it. The music is simple, yet emotionally effective. Conor's voice is one of the best i heard in a long time. The lyrics are just beautiful in how they make you think.

    Of course, not all tracks are equally good. Some are quite forgettable. The majority are great, and my absolute favorites are "Artifact #1", "Double Life", and "Kick".
    Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    Although this is not his best album, ''Upside down mountain'' confirms Conor Oberst as the best songwriter of our generation. Such great tracks like ''Time Forgot'', ''Common Knowledge'' and ''You Are Your Mother's Child'' show the tender side of Oberst and remind me of the best period of his career, the ''I'm wide awake'' - era.
  3. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    I'm glad to be listening to Conor Oberst in this away again. I thought before this that he would be lost to country music in his journey toward artistic maturity, but maybe not. Some of the stronger tracks on the album contain his trademark feels that I know I long for. In perfect harmony, they're simple stories with breathtaking depth. Often leaving me feeling emotional and thoughtfullyI'm glad to be listening to Conor Oberst in this away again. I thought before this that he would be lost to country music in his journey toward artistic maturity, but maybe not. Some of the stronger tracks on the album contain his trademark feels that I know I long for. In perfect harmony, they're simple stories with breathtaking depth. Often leaving me feeling emotional and thoughtfully provoked. This album is; as gentle as a baby at times, haunting in it's directness and eloquently told. A gradual joy to listen to. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Q Magazine
    Jun 13, 2014
    80
    The characters and stories that Oberst sketches out have never been so fully realised. [Jul 2014, p.112]
  2. Uncut
    Jun 6, 2014
    70
    It's a record this restless artist can settle into and build on as he continues to mature, because it solves his chronic problems while presenting huim with a newfound sweet spot. [Jul 2014, p.82]
  3. May 29, 2014
    60
    On the whole, for an artist so spectral and kaleidoscopic, Upside Down Mountain is a pretty sweet ride.