Upside Down Mountain

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Upside Down Mountain Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first release for the singer-songwriter on Nonesuch Records includes contributions from First Aid Kit, Blake Mills, Macey Taylor, and was produced Jonathan Wilson.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The album is 55 minutes of simplistic storytelling, Oberst’s ever recognizable vocals and a whole lot of heart. If you’ve been an Oberst fan at any point of his career before 2009, it’s a record that’s easy to fall in love with.
  2. May 19, 2014
    80
    All of Mr. Oberst’s gifts align on Upside Down Mountain: his empathy, his unassumingly natural melodies, the quavery sincerity in his voice, the plain-spoken but telling lyrics that he’s now careful to deliver clearly.
  3. Q Magazine
    Jun 13, 2014
    80
    The characters and stories that Oberst sketches out have never been so fully realised. [Jul 2014, p.112]
  4. May 15, 2014
    78
    The ever-loquacious monster of folk has a lot to say on his latest record (this one finds him particularly obsessed with time), but it’s his growing mastery of orchestration that muzos might appreciate the most.
  5. 75
    Upside Down Mountain shows that quality songcraft is still alive in Conor Oberst, and it is just a little bit of plastic surgery away from being relevant again.
  6. May 19, 2014
    65
    On the plus side of the ledger, you can understand what the hell Oberst is talking about most of the time on Upside Down Mountain, which makes it an immediate improvement over Cassadaga and The People’s Key, two albums that somehow managed to be cryptic and pedantic at the same time.... But elsewhere on Upside Down Mountain, he wields populist observation like a politician, trying to utilize his homespun wisdom from an elevated plane.
  7. 42
    Here, as he seemingly aims for something like hard-won, grizzled wisdom, he often trips over his own lyrical ambition.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    Although this is not his best album, ''Upside down mountain'' confirms Conor Oberst as the best songwriter of our generation. Such greatAlthough this is not his best album, ''Upside down mountain'' confirms Conor Oberst as the best songwriter of our generation. Such great tracks like ''Time Forgot'', ''Common Knowledge'' and ''You Are Your Mother's Child'' show the tender side of Oberst and remind me of the best period of his career, the ''I'm wide awake'' - era. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    I'm glad to be listening to Conor Oberst in this away again. I thought before this that he would be lost to country music in his journeyI'm glad to be listening to Conor Oberst in this away again. I thought before this that he would be lost to country music in his journey toward artistic maturity, but maybe not. Some of the stronger tracks on the album contain his trademark feels that I know I long for. In perfect harmony, they're simple stories with breathtaking depth. Often leaving me feeling emotional and thoughtfully provoked. This album is; as gentle as a baby at times, haunting in it's directness and eloquently told. A gradual joy to listen to. Collapse
  3. Jul 27, 2014
    7
    Unexpectedly good. I had given up hope on country music and country-influenced music, this charming album comes along.

    While it didn't make
    Unexpectedly good. I had given up hope on country music and country-influenced music, this charming album comes along.

    While it didn't make me fall in love with the genre, it has renewed my interest in it. The music is simple, yet emotionally effective. Conor's voice is one of the best i heard in a long time. The lyrics are just beautiful in how they make you think.

    Of course, not all tracks are equally good. Some are quite forgettable. The majority are great, and my absolute favorites are "Artifact #1", "Double Life", and "Kick".
    Expand