Voyageur

  • Record Label: Rounder
  • Release Date: Jan 17, 2012
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BKM
    Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Justin Vernon's production on Edwards' latest album gives the proceedings a slightly more indie rock vibe, but the songs are still firmly rooted in rootsy folk rock. Voyageur isn't quite as stunning as 2008's Asking for Flowers, but it is still one of the new year's better releases thus far.
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    As often happens with albums that come out at the beginning of the year, I find myself getting a little saturated with the songs as they appear on my playlist. So I put this album away for awhile and then came back to it fresh. She has such great songs. Period. A little more mainstream than her earlier, but I still love it.
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Atmospherics aside, the strength of any Kathleen Edwards album is the songwriting ... and it's as good here as ever. Heartbreak and renewal are universal themes, but Edwards makes them personal without overstating the case. This is a break-up album with subtle beauty not angry payback. "A Soft Place To Land" , "Pink Champagne" and "For the Record" are filled with compassion and gravitas.Atmospherics aside, the strength of any Kathleen Edwards album is the songwriting ... and it's as good here as ever. Heartbreak and renewal are universal themes, but Edwards makes them personal without overstating the case. This is a break-up album with subtle beauty not angry payback. "A Soft Place To Land" , "Pink Champagne" and "For the Record" are filled with compassion and gravitas. Edwards is processing what went wrong, instead of assessing blame. That's what also makes the movin' on charm of "Change The Sheets" and "Sidecar" such a kick. Props to Bon Iver's Justin Vernon for adding the sonic flourishes without overdoing it. This is a great album, with all the makings of a beautiful relationship musical and otherwise. Glad to be along for the voyage. Expand
  4. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    I've purchased all of Kathleen Edwards albums and feel Voyageur stands with the best of them. I rate Asking For Flowers 1, Failer 2, Back to Me 3 and Voyageur 4 but they are all great. What I like about Voyageur is the clean sound and well written lyrics. Edwards is a great song writer, but we knew that from the beginning. What I don't like are a couple of songs that are really not herI've purchased all of Kathleen Edwards albums and feel Voyageur stands with the best of them. I rate Asking For Flowers 1, Failer 2, Back to Me 3 and Voyageur 4 but they are all great. What I like about Voyageur is the clean sound and well written lyrics. Edwards is a great song writer, but we knew that from the beginning. What I don't like are a couple of songs that are really not her style. That pertains to of the poppier songs Mint and Sidecar. Change the Sheets is an Edwards classic and songs like Pink Champagne, Chameleon and Going to Hell take your breath away like her best songs. I find For The Record the last cut monotonous. Overall I was thrilled she released a new album and thrilled she still has the inspiration to keep moving her audience. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    90
    The album, as intended to be heard, deftly captures the whiplash mood swings of a volatile relationship, showing how giddy exuberance and bitter despair can intertwine.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    Both varied and beautifully evocative, Voyageur is the perfect listen for merging wintery wistfulness with ethereal wonder.
  3. Mojo
    Jan 31, 2012
    40
    Gradually swelling guitars, keyboards and massed backing-vocal "aaaahs" homogenise the sound while mostly confining Edwards' high voice to a rather inexpressive tone when her clear-cut words suggest snarl and sorrowing. [Feb 2012, p.99]