Voyageur - Kathleen Edwards
Voyageur Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Singer-songwriter Kathleen Edwards' latest album was coproduced with Justin Vernon of Bon Iver and features Norah Jones as a guest vocalist.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Employing help from not only Vernon, but also Norah Jones and Francis and the Lights among others, Voyageur is a true gem.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    Both varied and beautifully evocative, Voyageur is the perfect listen for merging wintery wistfulness with ethereal wonder.
  3. Jan 17, 2012
    80
    It's a refined, seasoned effort, alternating between country-tinged folk and leisurely paced rock.
  4. 70
    Voyageur improves on its predecessor by feeling both more intimate and more boomingly spacious--it helps move her away from the middle.
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Though at times deeply affecting, Voyageur is not the great statement of a record one might hope for after a four-year absence.
  6. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    Sounds lusher, more dramatic and sometimes riskier than Ms. Edwards's early albums. In places, this record is drowsily beautiful, almost wearily so.
  7. Jan 10, 2012
    40
    Not without some good moments, but bereft of magic. [Feb. 2012 p. 104]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    Atmospherics aside, the strength of any Kathleen Edwards album is the songwriting ... and it's as good here as ever. Heartbreak and renewal are universal themes, but Edwards makes them personal without overstating the case. This is a break-up album with subtle beauty not angry payback. "A Soft Place To Land" , "Pink Champagne" and "For the Record" are filled with compassion and gravitas. Edwards is processing what went wrong, instead of assessing blame. That's what also makes the movin' on charm of "Change The Sheets" and "Sidecar" such a kick. Props to Bon Iver's Justin Vernon for adding the sonic flourishes without overdoing it. This is a great album, with all the makings of a beautiful relationship musical and otherwise. Glad to be along for the voyage. Collapse
  2. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    I've purchased all of Kathleen Edwards albums and feel Voyageur stands with the best of them. I rate Asking For Flowers 1, Failer 2, Back to Me 3 and Voyageur 4 but they are all great. What I like about Voyageur is the clean sound and well written lyrics. Edwards is a great song writer, but we knew that from the beginning. What I don't like are a couple of songs that are really not her style. That pertains to of the poppier songs Mint and Sidecar. Change the Sheets is an Edwards classic and songs like Pink Champagne, Chameleon and Going to Hell take your breath away like her best songs. I find For The Record the last cut monotonous. Overall I was thrilled she released a new album and thrilled she still has the inspiration to keep moving her audience. Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    As often happens with albums that come out at the beginning of the year, I find myself getting a little saturated with the songs as they appear on my playlist. So I put this album away for awhile and then came back to it fresh. She has such great songs. Period. A little more mainstream than her earlier, but I still love it. Expand
  4. BKM
    Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Justin Vernon's production on Edwards' latest album gives the proceedings a slightly more indie rock vibe, but the songs are still firmly rooted in rootsy folk rock. Voyageur isn't quite as stunning as 2008's Asking for Flowers, but it is still one of the new year's better releases thus far. Expand