We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions Image

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Boss' first all-covers album contains 13 tracks associated with folkie Pete Seeger.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 100
    It's quite possibly his best album since 1982's Nebraska.
  2. Springsteen does more than just an adequate job; it’s difficult not to get swept along by the infectious energy of his performance.
  3. Less an exhumation than a celebration, The Seeger Sessions is the best proof we've got that America's folksongs are also our finest artifacts.
  4. His most jubilant disc since Born in the U.S.A. and more fun than a tribute to Pete Seeger has any right to be.
  5. 70
    [Springsteen's] loosest, most vigorous album in two decades. [Jun 2006, p.84]
  6. The gusto with which Springsteen delivers the many verses of Froggie Went A-Courtin' leaves me wondering if the millionaire everyman is simply unaware that his country is at war.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. blazenoise
    Apr 24, 2006
    Kudos for taking the risk! Welldone. This is a GREAT record, full of feel good music and feel bad lyrics! Jazz, rock, folk, gospel, beebop, country, ... it's all here. Expand
  2. johne
    Dec 6, 2006
    I think this is the best bruce has done it inspired me to pick up my guitar and banjo and play I hope he gives us more
  3. Steve
    Apr 25, 2006
    A spectacular, joyous noise that thus far is the record of the year. It sounds and feels like everybody playing loved what they were doing and doing so with the utmost respect for the songs. Go buy it! Expand
  4. MattD.
    May 2, 2006
    It seems natural to me that he'd do the old folk songs - after all, rock music is not the only thing that influenced Springsteen. He treats these songs with reverence, while putting his own touch on them. Expand
  5. PaulB
    May 30, 2006
    This abum is a total masterpiece and a vast improvement on 2005's Devils & Dust,in my opinion its his best record yet and possiby the best album I have heard in the last 10 years......awesome Expand
  6. JayE
    Apr 27, 2006
    This album is a joyful romp, seemingly performed without any calculation. There is an authenticity that is in stark contrast to Bruce's other albums which, as great as they are, always seem meticulously calculated. If you don't smile as he tears into Old dan Tucker, check yourself in for urgent care. Expand
  7. JohhnyD
    Apr 26, 2006
    Bruce has finally become the hick he always wanted to be. I give it a 1 only because of some of the great music he has done in the past. Born in the USA was his last great effort. That was 22 years ago!! For a guy so talented that is a joke. Just another example of what happens when an artist loses what got him to the top to begin with. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews