Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 100
    It's quite possibly his best album since 1982's Nebraska.
  2. We Shall Overcome lets us revel in the sound of a man who no longer confuses unplugged with uninspiring--and who isn't afraid to mix in some merriment with the message. [28 Apr 2006, p.134]
  3. Not only does We Shall Overcome feel different than Bruce's work; it also feels different than Seeger's music.... It's a rambunctious, freewheeling, positively joyous record unlike any other in Springsteen's admittedly rich catalog.
  4. But this isn’t a hoary breathing of air into faded songs; this is a sonic transfusion on the order of the Mermaid Avenue records.
  5. Springsteen does more than just an adequate job; it’s difficult not to get swept along by the infectious energy of his performance.
  6. It's music-making for the pure joy of it, and that delight overflows in a manner that's truly rare.
  7. Less an exhumation than a celebration, The Seeger Sessions is the best proof we've got that America's folksongs are also our finest artifacts.
  8. While this record remains absolutely likeable, it still sounds too much like the soundtrack for a concert that hasn't happened yet.
  9. His most jubilant disc since Born in the U.S.A. and more fun than a tribute to Pete Seeger has any right to be.
  10. Unlike many of his recent recordings, this is an addictively exuberant album.
  11. This folk album is a loud, energetic, arena-ready fiesta.
  12. It’s wild music, and it’s wildly musical, and, yeah, it’s probably the most wonderfully raw production Springsteen’s talent has ever been channeled through.
  13. Rambunctious and packed with a lust for life, "We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Seesions" is not only Springsteen's rowdiest set in years, it's the one that seems likely to win him a whole new audience.
  14. 80
    A powerful example of how songs reverberate through the years to accrue contemporary meaning. [Jun 2006, p.92]
  15. 80
    Many who don't like Springsteen may love this. Many who love Springsteen may hate this. [Jun 2006, p.100]
  16. The Boss’ most lively release since Born in the USA.
  17. The problem is that these songs are mostly too corny to have much drama restored to them. This is not folk music as mystery or romance or danger but as communal singalong.
  18. 70
    Most of the album is more fun than a folkie could stand. [Jun 2006, p.147]
  19. 70
    [Springsteen's] loosest, most vigorous album in two decades. [Jun 2006, p.84]
  20. At long last, Springsteen has realized that not every album has to be an attempted masterpiece. [Jun/Jul 2006, p.111]
  21. Springsteen sounds natural enough singing many of these songs, but we never forget that that's Bruce Springsteen -- Bruce "Born to Run," "Born in the USA" Springsteen -- singing these songs, and the necessary baggage that the rocker's voice brings with it raises unavoidable questions of intent.
  22. This is a folk-gospel tribute album with harmony and backing vocals so powerful you'd think it was the population of New Jersey marching in Technicolor over the grey, polluted Hudson singing along. [22 Apr 2006, p.39]
  23. It might not add up to a must-have, but it's good to hear Springsteen with the pressure off. [Jun 2006, p.112]
  24. The gusto with which Springsteen delivers the many verses of Froggie Went A-Courtin' leaves me wondering if the millionaire everyman is simply unaware that his country is at war.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    The Boss indulges himself by taking a trip through time to visit some of his influences. It's a fascinating project that brings a set ofThe Boss indulges himself by taking a trip through time to visit some of his influences. It's a fascinating project that brings a set of classic folk songs (a perhaps artists)to a whole new generation. Parts of this remind me of Billy Bragg and Wilco's "Mermaid Avenue" project in that while this is a modern record its got a sound from another time.
    The majority of the songs on "We Shall Overcome" have a bluster and an energy about them that are tailor made for Springsteen's style and you can really see how this kind of music influenced him on his "Wrecking Ball" album. While I can't say I absolutely love this record (I just prefer Springsteen when he's doing his own thing), I don't think there is a bad track on it and it is an enjoyable listening experience. "Mrs McGrath" and "Pay Me My Money Down" are the standout tracks for me but the whole record is worth getting into.
    Full Review »
  2. johne
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I think this is the best bruce has done it inspired me to pick up my guitar and banjo and play I hope he gives us more
  3. brendanb
    Jul 28, 2006
    5
    It's ok but........... I love Bruce but others have been here before and done this better. Listen to the Pogues 'Red Roses for It's ok but........... I love Bruce but others have been here before and done this better. Listen to the Pogues 'Red Roses for Me'' or 'Rum Sodomy and the Lash' or anything by the Dubliners for the same or similar songs done with more passion and credibility. Bruce's version of Mrs McGrath seems tortuous. Noel Murphy's comic interpretation is more memorable and has more punch. I don't like the packaging of this album, as if it's a bottle of Jack Daniels, either. Full Review »