Weezer (Red Album)

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2008
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 160

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. R
    Jun 4, 2008
    8
    I get a kick out of the critics who first say a band is not stretching their limits or trying new or innovative sounds, only to complain when they do.
  2. BlakeW
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    First off , buy the deluxe album . If you don't you're an Idiot. Secondly , these guys are progressing on every album (minus make believe). Tehy will never sound like the blue album or pinkerton ever again so the cool thing for peopel to do is bash them. but let's cut the crap, Pork and Beans was a #1 song for a while , this album is great and brings Weezer back on track First off , buy the deluxe album . If you don't you're an Idiot. Secondly , these guys are progressing on every album (minus make believe). Tehy will never sound like the blue album or pinkerton ever again so the cool thing for peopel to do is bash them. but let's cut the crap, Pork and Beans was a #1 song for a while , this album is great and brings Weezer back on track from the last album that was MEH. This band is growing and people don't wanna let it grow , it's a shame. This Album kicks ass as well as the band itself. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2010
    8
    This album and its promotions were what made me a Weezer fan, and since then they have become my favourite band. A great album on its own, though it cannot be compared to Blue or Pinkerton. The low points are the songs not sung by Cuomo and I feel if they were replaced by some of the Deluxe tracks this could have truly been a great album.
  4. J.R.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Hands down their best since Pinkerton. The playfulness and humor found in the blue album has returned!
  5. JordanB
    Jun 4, 2008
    8
    Yeah, it's not perfect. But, it's different. I personally bought the itunes deluxe version, and some of the bonus tracks like pig and miss sweeney are actually better than songs like let's get dangerous and one of my least favorites, cold dark world. But songs like greatest man, dreamin', automatic, etc...are totally worth it. better than make believe and green in my opinion.
  6. PaulH
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    This is the CD weezer fans have been waiting for. There is a plethora of sounds on this album that all seem to work. I think 'Pig' and 'King' from the deluxe version should have been included.
  7. SkullKid
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    Amazing return to form after Make Believe. "Dreamin'" and "The Greatest Man That Ever Lived" are future Weezer classics, and they may have taken a few more listens than the other songs, but the non-Rivers entries are nowhere near as bad as some of the reviews make out. Get the deluxe version.
  8. fILAZAFERx
    Jun 11, 2008
    7
    I think people are being way to hard on this cd, especially on the other band mates who contributed songs. I thought their songs were pretty good. The last song on the deluxe cd is actually my favorite song on the cd and it's sung by another member. No, this is not the masterpiece all Weezer fans wanted, but it is the best cd they have done since Pinkerton. For the masterpiece we I think people are being way to hard on this cd, especially on the other band mates who contributed songs. I thought their songs were pretty good. The last song on the deluxe cd is actually my favorite song on the cd and it's sung by another member. No, this is not the masterpiece all Weezer fans wanted, but it is the best cd they have done since Pinkerton. For the masterpiece we will keep waiting, but I recommend this cd to any Weezer fan. Expand
  9. JacksonH
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    Great Album all around, the Deluxe addition adds 3 solid tracks with "King" being possibly the best on the album. "The Greatest Man That Ever Lived" gets better and better each time I hear it! This album is fun, catchy and an all around great time.
  10. WalkD.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    This is a great album from top to bottom. Sit down with no preconceived notions and the deluxe version and you will surely enjoy this album.
  11. IanB
    Jun 10, 2008
    8
    This album has a lot more life than people are giving it credit for. The first 4 songs are going to be Weezer classics. "Cold Dark World" is a let down an sounds like something that could have been written by a high school kid, but that was really the lowest point of the album for me.
  12. KristopherB.
    Jun 5, 2008
    8
    A lifelong Weezer fan, I must admit that while "Pork and Beans", "The Greatest Man", and "Automatic" had me listening happily, the rest of the album was only slightly above average, maybe bar "Troublemaker". The other two non-Cuomo entries have not been played through once on my media player thus far. Yes "Make Believe" was panned but as far as Cuomo handing out songwriting duites, the A lifelong Weezer fan, I must admit that while "Pork and Beans", "The Greatest Man", and "Automatic" had me listening happily, the rest of the album was only slightly above average, maybe bar "Troublemaker". The other two non-Cuomo entries have not been played through once on my media player thus far. Yes "Make Believe" was panned but as far as Cuomo handing out songwriting duites, the old addage "if it's not broken don't fix it" may be needed to put in effect, although Wilsons attempt was quite catchy. Expand
  13. J
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Best satire on the industry in years. They took the best formulas out there and reinvented them Weezer style.... great stuff.
  14. Mike
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    All songs are good if you don't expect it sound like pinkerton or blue.......don't let the reviewers discourage you!
  15. BrendanD
    Jun 9, 2008
    7
    I don't know why all the indie-poseur freaks are so obsessed with "Pinkerton" as this seminal classic of rock music. It was a nice departure for a pop band, but the results weren't nearly as catchy as the Blue Album; nor were they as arena-ready and fine-tuned as "Maladroit." I agree with another poster: it grows awfully tiring to hear people crap upon all post-Pinkerton Weezer I don't know why all the indie-poseur freaks are so obsessed with "Pinkerton" as this seminal classic of rock music. It was a nice departure for a pop band, but the results weren't nearly as catchy as the Blue Album; nor were they as arena-ready and fine-tuned as "Maladroit." I agree with another poster: it grows awfully tiring to hear people crap upon all post-Pinkerton Weezer records, because frankly, they've done better music since. That being said, this will probably go down as their worst record. That doesn't make it crap; it just makes it not brilliant. But maybe, just maybe, it will age as well as "Make Believe" has -- and for all the haters out there, go back and listen to "Make Believe" now that the hype's been removed. It's not a bad record at all. This one... Don't know if it's got anything (besides the glorious "Greatest Man") that's as memorable. Expand
  16. MikeS.
    Jun 15, 2008
    8
    Great album,4 ok songs,better than the majority of the 70+ reviews!if you heard another band play a song like the greatest man that ever lived..you would be amazed.but the fact that its weezer and does not sound like the blue album or pinkerton; people complain!great album tho!!
  17. Demokid
    Jun 24, 2008
    8
    The problem is that these brilliant boys have become legends & people expect unreasonable results. The Album is brilliant and no bands these days can say they go #1 on the sixth CD. Most will be washed up after 1 or 2. there are 4 soon to be classics which is allot. Having other members singing may come off as a downfall, but not so. After 6 CDs, There is room around. They already have a The problem is that these brilliant boys have become legends & people expect unreasonable results. The Album is brilliant and no bands these days can say they go #1 on the sixth CD. Most will be washed up after 1 or 2. there are 4 soon to be classics which is allot. Having other members singing may come off as a downfall, but not so. After 6 CDs, There is room around. They already have a live setlist of hits. This helps build Character. I smell a KIss legion of fans, without the $$$ grubbing ideals of KISS. Truth be told, they are charting #1 still... Yet, have never sold out. They are quirky, always have... They rock and people agree. Truth be told. If something is cool, then we all want to be cool by disagreeing that this is cool. Well. Weezer is real. They continue to stay fresh, Bizarre & somewhat unpredictable. Thats why we all still talk about them. They are too good to die off like every other band with their years of history. Expand
  18. TerryC.
    Jun 24, 2008
    7
    First 6 tracks are excellent the rest are a bit so-so.
  19. JonathanC
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    I am surprised at the negative editorial reviews. I think intrinsically most critics are unable to enjoy weezer. Weezer's real core audience is that kid in us that is nerdy and airguitars and sings along to our favorite rock songs and pretend to be rock stars. Weezer makes the music that kid would have made, not the same as his heroes, but a little more more honest. I think critics I am surprised at the negative editorial reviews. I think intrinsically most critics are unable to enjoy weezer. Weezer's real core audience is that kid in us that is nerdy and airguitars and sings along to our favorite rock songs and pretend to be rock stars. Weezer makes the music that kid would have made, not the same as his heroes, but a little more more honest. I think critics want Rivers to be that indie/emo/pop rock hero of theirs they remember from their youth, when he is in fact has never been that guy, and they've all grown out of it. Some of us thankfully haven't grown out of it, and just want enjoyable, honest, quirky music that speaks to us big self-aware (not self consious) kids. I'll leave the critics to tell me what is "clever" or "fresh" or "meaningful" or "original" they are good at that cause they've made it their job to do so, but they aren't really good at telling me whats enjoyable. I'm brave enough to enjoy this new Weezer album the way it is supposed to be, singing out loud in my car with the windows down, just like I was when I was 16. Expand
  20. NickG.
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed this album. at first i listened to it and was like "this doesnt even sound like weezer", I was shocked at how foreign. Yet after listening to it a second time, I started to like it more and more. Finally I was jammin' along with each song, just like I do with all the old weezer songs. I thought this was a great album, yet very diffrent from Weezer's other works, I really enjoyed this album. at first i listened to it and was like "this doesnt even sound like weezer", I was shocked at how foreign. Yet after listening to it a second time, I started to like it more and more. Finally I was jammin' along with each song, just like I do with all the old weezer songs. I thought this was a great album, yet very diffrent from Weezer's other works, only 3 songs on the album seem like classic weezer songs, yet i think any Weezer fan will still enjoy it, and maybe its new sound will attract new fans. Expand
  21. JakeH.
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    Let's not forget that Pinkerton was once voted one of the worst albums ever and now it is hailed as one of the best...i think many people want too badly to claim that they love the "old school" everything...it's the popular thing to do...despite the band-wagon opinion, weezer has stayed consistent since the blue album...yeah, they're experimental, but they always have the Let's not forget that Pinkerton was once voted one of the worst albums ever and now it is hailed as one of the best...i think many people want too badly to claim that they love the "old school" everything...it's the popular thing to do...despite the band-wagon opinion, weezer has stayed consistent since the blue album...yeah, they're experimental, but they always have the same happy, rock feeling in every song...i'm not a huge fan of the three songs that Rivers doesn't sing in, but I think the rest is nothing short of a magnus opum. Expand
  22. ChrisM.
    Jun 6, 2008
    7
    I agree word for word with the NME review. This is a fun, light hearted album in the vien of Maladroit . . . which I also enjoyed. Nobody does power pop better; weezer is one of the truly funny bands out there. Not many records can intentionally make me laugh out loud.
  23. TristanH
    Jun 6, 2008
    8
    Can't say I love this album, but I do love at least "Heart Songs" - it's a great power ballad homage to so many influences. I also like "Pork and Beans," it's not bad, and surprisingly "Everybody get Dangerous" isn't bad either. But that's about all you can say, "not bad" but also not great. Except for Heart Songs. It saves the album for me. It's a decent Can't say I love this album, but I do love at least "Heart Songs" - it's a great power ballad homage to so many influences. I also like "Pork and Beans," it's not bad, and surprisingly "Everybody get Dangerous" isn't bad either. But that's about all you can say, "not bad" but also not great. Except for Heart Songs. It saves the album for me. It's a decent album and good for the car. Expand
  24. DanP.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Amazing and honest album. The follow-up we needed after the subpar Make Believe. This album will generate many singles over the summer that will power our radios!
  25. JoyceM.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    I'm going to give it a 10 because a) it's a great improvement from make believe, b) it shows the growth of weezer through its past albums, c) rehabilitation to the improvement towards the blue album sound, d) the sounds in general are pretty all right, with a lot of experimental stuff which should be acknowledged.
  26. BradA
    Jun 8, 2008
    8
    Didn't like it at first but it has grown on me a lot after a few listens. "Greatest man..." "Heart Songs" and "Dreamin'" are all great tracks. It's certainly not their best album by any measure but it's comparable to maladroit and I'd at least put it above the Green album, which I think is their weakest release. Of course, I'm in the minority of Weezer fans Didn't like it at first but it has grown on me a lot after a few listens. "Greatest man..." "Heart Songs" and "Dreamin'" are all great tracks. It's certainly not their best album by any measure but it's comparable to maladroit and I'd at least put it above the Green album, which I think is their weakest release. Of course, I'm in the minority of Weezer fans because I absolutely loved Make Believe. (best breakup album ever) Expand
  27. TimH.
    Jun 9, 2008
    8
    Horribly underrated. It doesn't click the first time through, but after a couple listens you get used to the change.
  28. zachp
    Aug 14, 2008
    7
    Though certainly not as good as the other two weezers, it's aninteresting change from the abysmal make believe. rivers did good on "the greatest man in the world"
  29. MikeG.
    Jan 30, 2009
    9
    Based on the user reviews, this is really a love-it-or-hate-it album but, then again, Weezer's always been a love-it-or-hate-it-band. Put me in the love it column. This is a fun album with a lot of catchy hooks, great riffs, and Rivers' has never sounded as soulful. It reminds me of why I liked Weezer in the first place when I heard "Sweater" for the first time. Like the Blue Based on the user reviews, this is really a love-it-or-hate-it album but, then again, Weezer's always been a love-it-or-hate-it-band. Put me in the love it column. This is a fun album with a lot of catchy hooks, great riffs, and Rivers' has never sounded as soulful. It reminds me of why I liked Weezer in the first place when I heard "Sweater" for the first time. Like the Blue Album, these songs aren't going to change the world and can't be dissected for any deeper meaning. But they're fun, and Rivers' always has his tongue firmly planted in his cheek. Expand
  30. RyanG.
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    Everyone giving this a low score without any reasoning doesn't know what they're talking about. Everyone's saying how much they wish Weezer would be just like they were in the 90's. Well wake up, it's 2008 and people should realize that Weezer is changing. While they may not be the same Weezer you remember listening to years ago they are still the bad we all love. Everyone giving this a low score without any reasoning doesn't know what they're talking about. Everyone's saying how much they wish Weezer would be just like they were in the 90's. Well wake up, it's 2008 and people should realize that Weezer is changing. While they may not be the same Weezer you remember listening to years ago they are still the bad we all love. Now, about the album. While not all the songs are perfect, many are very, very good. I recommend that you get this CD because it's definitely Weezer's best in a while. Expand
  31. KevinM.
    Jun 10, 2008
    8
    The first four songs are all great...Weezer is still one of the best bands out there.
  32. JJP
    Jun 10, 2008
    8
    This album was not as good as previous Weezer albums. But it does have some good songs on it like Troublemaker and Thought I knew. It also has some memorable and catchy lyrics on the vast majority of the tracks. So do yourself a favor and give it a listen. JJ Thailand
  33. MarthaH.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    They are fantastic in red album! Love it!
  34. SeanD.
    Jun 12, 2008
    8
    Although the non-Cuomo songs really lack the delicious weez-groove I've come to adore, I think relinquishing a bit of control was an awesome move on Rivers' part. It shows that he's capable of checking his ego and letting his mates have their chance in the spotlight. That said, the rest of the album is wonderful. I would've given it a solid 10 if not for the lackluster Although the non-Cuomo songs really lack the delicious weez-groove I've come to adore, I think relinquishing a bit of control was an awesome move on Rivers' part. It shows that he's capable of checking his ego and letting his mates have their chance in the spotlight. That said, the rest of the album is wonderful. I would've given it a solid 10 if not for the lackluster performance on the aforementioned tracks. "The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived," "Heart Songs," "Dreamin'," and "The Angel and the One" are genius. The experiments in form and composition that Rivers has undertaken are evidence of his brilliance, yet they're still infused with that infectious weezer flavor. Don't believe the haters - this album kicks ass! Expand
  35. RichK.
    Jun 12, 2008
    8
    This album is good stuff. For years I refused to submit to Weezer. But Rivers and crew rarely disappoint. This album continues to grow on me the more I listen to it. It
  36. BryanA.
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    You guys are pop whores - Oh well, it's hard to surf the net and listen to music. Guess what, I bought the album instead of listening to a few "random" songs that may have got you laid that night.
  37. ScottV
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    Anything less than a 6 for this album would be a straight-up lie. You must do a FULL listen! It is fun, upbeat, poppy, rocky, clever, and geeky! The songs taken over by Brian Bell do not sound like Weezer, but are delicious on their own. And add a beautiful disconnect to the album. The Greatest Man That Ever Lived is a raging, instant-classic anthem for anyone who's ever sung along Anything less than a 6 for this album would be a straight-up lie. You must do a FULL listen! It is fun, upbeat, poppy, rocky, clever, and geeky! The songs taken over by Brian Bell do not sound like Weezer, but are delicious on their own. And add a beautiful disconnect to the album. The Greatest Man That Ever Lived is a raging, instant-classic anthem for anyone who's ever sung along to a song. Weezer has brought it! But can you handle it? Expand
  38. JosephA
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    Critics are way off, they have no clue. Best album since Pinkerton.. oh yeah, they missed the boat on that one too. Now it makes a lot more sense. Excellent album; nice to see these guys having a good time again.
  39. SeanBeck
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    Best album since Pinkerton in my mind.
  40. AdamP.
    Jun 4, 2008
    8
    I find the critic reviews hilarious in their range. It's almost as if they haven't paid attention to Weezer's discography other than just the Blue Album. You may not find too many top 40/video songs here, but the song writing and arrangement are extremely entertaining. Songs twist and turn direction, seldom staying on pace for more than a few minutes at a time. My only beef I find the critic reviews hilarious in their range. It's almost as if they haven't paid attention to Weezer's discography other than just the Blue Album. You may not find too many top 40/video songs here, but the song writing and arrangement are extremely entertaining. Songs twist and turn direction, seldom staying on pace for more than a few minutes at a time. My only beef is the second track, it seriously disrupts the tempo and would probably fit better latter in the disc with the B sides. Check it out, and force yourself not to skip any songs, they will string you a long just for a later payoff. Expand
  41. JamieO.
    Jun 4, 2008
    9
    "The Greatest Man", "Troublemaker", "Dreamin", and "Pork and Beans" (the singles) are by far the best Weezer has done in a long time, the other songs take some getting used to, but will grow on you. (Don't forget Pinkerton took a while to achieve it's cult status).
  42. jro
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    I love this cd. Weezer has been a favorite of mine for a long time, but they almost lost me with efforts like "maladroit." But every "color" album has been great, with the "red" album finishing a close 2nd to the incredible debut "blue." So come on folks, "everybody get dangerous."
  43. JonL.
    Jun 5, 2008
    8
    I'm sick of people trashing on all post-Pinkerton Weezer. The fact is that Pinkerton is unrepeatable. And I love Pinkerton just like the last guy, but I'm pleased they're not trying to hold onto that. As for the red album, I think it's a great CD, and definitely better than Make Believe (although I appreciated that CD). The interesting thing with this album is that I'm sick of people trashing on all post-Pinkerton Weezer. The fact is that Pinkerton is unrepeatable. And I love Pinkerton just like the last guy, but I'm pleased they're not trying to hold onto that. As for the red album, I think it's a great CD, and definitely better than Make Believe (although I appreciated that CD). The interesting thing with this album is that it's a more "mature" collaborative Weezer, with 5 minute songs, and band members alternating instruments and vocals. This is something I've always been curious about. Starting with Make Believe, it seems as if River's has started to loosen the reigns, and I this is the loosest album yet. Yet, Weezer holds up to all their fun pop melodies, power chord rock, with lyrics that at times make you snicker in amusement. Maybe I'm a sucker, or just too much of a hardcore Weezer fan. But I'm pumped on the Red Album. Also, if there's one place that Make Believe specifically fell short, it was with the slower mellow numbers. While the slower songs on the Red Album still are'nt my favorite selections, they do have a life that was absent from the previous CD. I really enjoy the cut loose feel of this album. So suck it Weezer critics. Long live the Weeze, all the way till the end! Expand
  44. R.H.
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    It's truly remarkable how critics will bash a band for being too predictable, only to complain when their next album is wildly different. The criticism for "Make Believe" was mostly deserved, but critics are way off-base for this one. This album is without a doubt the band's best since Pinkerton and needs time to grow. The songwriting is daring and succeeds on most fronts. Cuomo It's truly remarkable how critics will bash a band for being too predictable, only to complain when their next album is wildly different. The criticism for "Make Believe" was mostly deserved, but critics are way off-base for this one. This album is without a doubt the band's best since Pinkerton and needs time to grow. The songwriting is daring and succeeds on most fronts. Cuomo could have easily churned out another Green Album or Make Believe, but takes the band in a bold new direction. The deluxe edition is certainly recommended since it contains 3 of the best tracks that Cuomo has ever written. Erase all expectations for what a Weezer album should sound like and give it a fresh listen. It's a grower. This album will be hailed as one of their best many years from now. Expand
  45. BenN.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    One of the best albums I've heard in years. My favorites are Pork & Beans, Greatest Man that ever Lived, and Heart Songs. Great Weezer album!
  46. HungerfordS.
    Jun 9, 2008
    7
    Why is everyone bashing this disk? It's got everything that EVERY Weezer disk has.. Geekiness: check Angst: check Wall of Screaming Guitars: check Tounge in cheek lyrics: check Uh, sounds like Weezer to me. Cold Dark World, Automatic, Pork and Beans, The Angel and the one, Heart Songs are the standouts for me. Good but not great album not all that bash worthy. Thanks Weezer for Why is everyone bashing this disk? It's got everything that EVERY Weezer disk has.. Geekiness: check Angst: check Wall of Screaming Guitars: check Tounge in cheek lyrics: check Uh, sounds like Weezer to me. Cold Dark World, Automatic, Pork and Beans, The Angel and the one, Heart Songs are the standouts for me. Good but not great album not all that bash worthy. Thanks Weezer for another entertaining effort.. Expand
  47. DanielM
    Jun 9, 2008
    7
    When it's good, it's good, but when it's bad, it's really bad. The best songs are "Pork and Beans", "The Greatest Man That Ever Lived," "Automatic," and from the bonus tracks, "It's Easy" and "Pig." Two other songs are pretty decent, but have a few issues: "The Angel and the One" is some of Cuomo's best lyrical work since Pinkerton, but the song drags on for When it's good, it's good, but when it's bad, it's really bad. The best songs are "Pork and Beans", "The Greatest Man That Ever Lived," "Automatic," and from the bonus tracks, "It's Easy" and "Pig." Two other songs are pretty decent, but have a few issues: "The Angel and the One" is some of Cuomo's best lyrical work since Pinkerton, but the song drags on for too long and becomes boring; "Dreamin'" is great until it enters a long, slow, unnecessary bridge that drags on for two minutes or so, and really takes away from the rest of the song. "Troublemaker" is OK if you can live with the middle school-level rhyming lyrics. The other tracks, "Cold Dark World," "Thought I Knew," and "Heart Songs" annoy me, and are forgettable. The lack of guitar solos really annoys me as well, especially since a few of these songs are built so perfectly for them that you can easily tell where they should have gone, such as around 3:20 or so into "The Angel and the One" and after the bridge in "Pork and Beans." Guitar solos have been staples of Weezer songs for so long, it's a shame that they excluded them entirely from this album. Expand
  48. A.Brosso
    Jun 12, 2008
    8
    This album is underrated, but it's true that the album have a few bad songs. The extra track make the album so much better! They version of the greatest man are the best thing I've heard this year after the new Mindless Self-Indulgence album.
  49. AndyF.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    You have to really put yourself in Rivers' shoes. This album is as perfectly honest as it gets. Beautiful.
  50. Sep 7, 2010
    7
    Although not without its high points, this is not one of Weezer's best efforts. "Troublemaker" is pretty fun live but definitely not great. "Pork and Beans" is catchy but certainly not deep. Cuomo is still able to make us smile and sing along not the geeks' best effort.
  51. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    It gets closer to the gold mine that was the original Blue Album than any of the other albums, but considering their other albums, that's not saying much.
  52. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    This might be one of my favorite albums by them. Pork and Beans carries this album. Troublemaker and I'm the greatest man that ever lived are great supporting cast members, and Thought I Knew is a surprise wonderful tune.
  53. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8/10 .................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Cuomo turns the mic over to the other three members of Weezer for a song each (the best: "Automatic," sung by drummer Pat Wilson), unironically salutes the influence of Nirvana ("Heart Songs") and marries fake crowd noise and piano to the thick power chords of "Greatest Man." Rock on.
  2. A number of plays through and it’s still not clear who, exactly, the band are taking the proverbial out of: themselves, playfully and absolutely intentionally, or us, fans who’ve become conditioned to not expecting the best from a band who, personally, have been a shadow of themselves since that first ‘sequel’ release.
  3. Like the YouTube culture the "Pork and Beans" video depicts so well, the song--and this album--relies on a high quantity of short-lived pretty good ideas to distract from a shortage of great ones.