• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Mar 5, 2013
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    3
    While I do appreciate that this album contains good and well made music, it is not something I can sit down and enjoy over and over again. I hate to say it, but it is boring. I get the gist of it after the first couple of songs; it's all so similar. Everyone in this band is so much more talented than what is shown here, and it's a bummer that this turned out so basic.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    0
    Terrible stuff. Funny how a few days before the album Trent comes out and says all the news about new NIN. This is not a collaboration. This is just Trent doing his usual soundtrack/ghosts type stuff, with boring female vocals added, and decided to name his art director a band member.
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    4
    Basically Trent's soundtrack work. Terrible head shaking lyrics with a disney cruise vocalist. Won't excite 99% of NIN fans, won't gain any new fans. We get it, it's "not" NIN, but sounds exactly like what you've been doing for the past 6 years with vapid NIN-lite lyrics from a very cold and boring vocalist. If if weren't for the vocals and lyrics it would could be a decent instrumental album.
  4. Mar 5, 2013
    4
    It's cool to say this is good... but it's not. Here's hoping Trent, with reuniting and reinventing NIN, will release something interesting this year... It's been a long time since 1994.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    100
    Welcome Oblivion confirms that the music world needs a band like How To Destroy Angels, too. [2 Mar 2013, p.50]
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    80
    Even though it falls apart towards the end and could stand to cut a few songs, Welcome oblivion is a powerful record, both musically and thematically.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    60
    Welcome Oblivion might have worked with some edits, but ultimately fails as an LP.