When It Falls Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The mellow UK electronic outfit (who have been compared to artists such as Morcheeba and Air) follows up 2001 debut 'Simple Things' with this 11-track effort.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. A sublime collection that surpasses its predecessor. [Apr 2004, p.121]
  2. 80
    Occasionally teetering on the verge of too precious, the heavy mood and lush production are too much (and too nice) to resist. [Apr 2004, p.87]
  3. Fans of Simple Things, Zero 7's debut effort, won't hear anything new or different, but considering that Falls makes for lovely background music, it should satisfy those fans just fine.
  4. 70
    A bedroom soundtrack filled with seductive surprises. [#6, p.87]
  5. 70
    For computer music, it's all astoundingly warm. [Apr 2004, p.139]
  6. When it Falls, while not a masterpiece, is a nice album which will likely appeal to a very broad fan base.
  7. Perhaps spurred by the ease with which the Boring Solo has been grafted on to their chosen template, When It Falls finds Zero 7 expanding their horizons and going on to be boring in other areas.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. geoffd
    May 26, 2004
    10
    An album that epitomizes what it is to chill-out. The smooth vocals from Sia, Sophie, Mozez and Tina resinate in the air. An album that grows An album that epitomizes what it is to chill-out. The smooth vocals from Sia, Sophie, Mozez and Tina resinate in the air. An album that grows on you. I loved it. Expand
  2. ToshY
    Mar 5, 2004
    8
    I thought it was pretty poor on first listen, but it IS a grower - I'm coming back to the album more and more over the past few weeks. I thought it was pretty poor on first listen, but it IS a grower - I'm coming back to the album more and more over the past few weeks. It isn't as good as Simple Things, but it's not as bad as it first sounds. Recommended (if you like their sound). Expand
  3. SeanO
    Aug 19, 2004
    8
    One of the best releases of 2004. I'm giving it an 8 after the first spin. Nevertheless, we cannot deny that Zero 7 is one of the most One of the best releases of 2004. I'm giving it an 8 after the first spin. Nevertheless, we cannot deny that Zero 7 is one of the most innovative, fresh and creative groups of the last couple of decades. Collapse
  4. shimmyshim
    Mar 16, 2004
    7
    Zero 7 by numbers, basically... no bad thing, but you can't help but feel that the "If it aint broke, dont fix it" attitude prevailed Zero 7 by numbers, basically... no bad thing, but you can't help but feel that the "If it aint broke, dont fix it" attitude prevailed during the production of this album. And, most importantly, there's just nothing here that can match the beauty of "Destiny". Expand
  5. NatalieJ
    Mar 25, 2004
    7
    It is a grower. At first i thought it was pretty boring. I was expecting the same kind of quality as 'Destiny' but such songs as It is a grower. At first i thought it was pretty boring. I was expecting the same kind of quality as 'Destiny' but such songs as 'Home' and 'In Time' do the album justice. Expand
  6. BrettN
    Jun 26, 2006
    4
    An album that just sits there. Blah