White Bread Black Beer - Scritti Politti
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Could very well be the best record of this restlessly self-critical career. [Jul 2006, p.90]
  2. [His] best work in 20 years. [25 Jul 2006]
  3. With its laptop beats and closely mic’d intimacy, White Bread, Black Beer conforms to the dictates of a creator with endless time to play all the instruments and no one to please but himself, regrettably.
  4. Rarely have Pro Tools and a melancholy disposition fallen into such capable hands.
  5. I’m beginning to think it’s one of the smartest records-- musically and lyrically-- we’ll hear all year.
  6. 80
    Lyrically he's as pleasingly obtuse as ever. [Jul 2006, p.101]
  7. The songs, as far as the writing goes, are routinely terrific; however, the ones that rely most on convenient synthesized elements are a bit dainty and rudimentary and deserve to be made without the limitations of a home studio.
  8. The pristine, synth-heavy result certainly sounds worried over, sometimes to its detriment. [28 Jul 2006, p.67]
  9. Even the ticking percussion and trilling synths can't hide the sheer melodic oddness of Gartside's songs. [3 Jun 2006, p.35]
  10. 70
    Over girl-group incantations, reggae lilt and courageously dinky old-school hip-hop allusions, Gartside searches for his emotional car keys, each comely coo abstracting him further from the truth he seeks. [Aug 2006, p.117]
  11. Features some of his most beautiful, introverted and delicate tunes yet. [24 Aug 2006, p.94]
  12. The chameleon has come home and still sounds like no one else.
  13. Most of White Bread Black Beer is almost unbearably lovely.
  14. Occasionally there's a little too much going on... Overall, though, Gartside remains intriguing. [Jul 2006, p.116]
  15. Despite White Bread Black Beer's undeniable beauty, it feels largely out of place as a product of the contemporary spectrum of music.
  16. 40
    Wordy but somnambulant. [Sep 2006, p.112]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Just discovered this album by chance about 2 months ago. I was a fan of the 80's scritti politti and this is definitely not cupid & psyche or provision. The first few times I listened to this I did not really get it. But when I finally got onto the same wavelength as Gartside, I was able to appreciate the pure GENIUS of this album. It is actually some of the best music I've heard in years!! "Favorite" track - "Locked" although it's all good. Absolutely beautiful, soothing, intelligent music, great vocals...PURE GENIUS. Cannot stop listening to this. Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This is quite fantastic, amazing, I am with every breath of it all the way....... is my desert island disc, the one i'd run to save when the waves come crashing in.... Full Review »