Wildflower

  • Record Label: A&M
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Wildflower moves Sheryl Crow one step closer to Hall of Fame status.
  2. Billboard
    80
    A provocative, richly rewarding set reflecting love and life changes. [1 Oct 2005]
  3. The album seems to be one of her most consistent records and one of her best.
  4. When Wildflower works, it works beautifully.
  5. The New York Times
    70
    Along with glimmering guitars, she brings on the strings. She risks turning doubly pompous when she combines cosmic thoughts and big baroque production. Most of the time, Ms. Crow gets away with it. [26 Sep 2005]
  6. Blender
    70
    Wildflower is assiduously intimate: lushly orchestrated, strictly mid-tempo and abundant with musings about balancing freedom and love. [Oct 2005, p.136]
  7. Crow typically does "melancholy" with panache, so more's the pity that Wildflower often sounds outright dull.
  8. Uncut
    70
    Wildflower is more satisfying, less self-consciously searching for radio-friendliness [than C'Mon C'mon]. [Nov 2005, p.100]
  9. Los Angeles Times
    63
    It all shows Crow as smart and mature. But the giddy-kid part of her is missed. [25 Sep 2005]
  10. It's not just that the album would be more fun if it rocked harder; all too often on these songs she's straining for high notes or stranded in an arrangement that leaves her voice sounding breathy and reedy
  11. Mojo
    60
    Almost every track plays nice sweet-and-sour tricks on the ears. But maximum, piercingly intelligent, heartfelt Crow comes through only in Sending A Letter To God. [Oct 2005, p.98]
  12. Q Magazine
    60
    There are moments of genuine heartbreak amid the musty gloom. [Oct 2005, p.115]
  13. Paste Magazine
    60
    A collection of introspective songs that's heavy on the flower and hardly wild. [Dec 2005, p.107]
  14. Throughout the album, Crow's vocal melodies are her most ambitious and memorable to date.
  15. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Her fondness for overblown L.A.-rock cliches undercuts the intimacy she's after; the music sounds homogenized. [7 Oct 2005, p.77]
  16. It's all too dull to make anyone care but Crow.
  17. Where Wildflower fails is in almost everything.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. ixata
    Apr 18, 2007
    5
    im sory.. this one is dull.. the songs sound the same from a 'helicopter view' of the album.. fortunately, good is good saves the im sory.. this one is dull.. the songs sound the same from a 'helicopter view' of the album.. fortunately, good is good saves the lbum from being rated 1 by me. Full Review »
  2. cédric26,fromfrance
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    This album is one of the best albums i ' ve ever listened to . And yet i listen to much music (particularly 60's & 70's music) This album is one of the best albums i ' ve ever listened to . And yet i listen to much music (particularly 60's & 70's music) .What stroke me is the very purity of the sounds and the voice . Thanks Sheryl ! Full Review »
  3. TimC
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    I think this album is fantastic, not her most chart friendly but thats refreshing after "soak up the sun".The whole album is moving and i I think this album is fantastic, not her most chart friendly but thats refreshing after "soak up the sun".The whole album is moving and i think anyone who has been through a bad break up would understand the tenderness of "Always on your side" which i feel is by far one of her best works to date. "Chances are" is also a great track, but at times the album does move a bit too slowly, but its an introspective record and thats especially good for the autumn and to drive to, so I think this album is great and the critics were way too harsh! Full Review »