• Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Feb 21, 2006
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Thanks to the stellar backup band, E's husky voice and sad stories become all the more desperately lovely. [25 Feb 2006]
  2. This is a document -- nothing more, nothing less -- and as such it's charming, beautiful, ragged, and honest.
  3. 80
    Beneath their limpid surfaces, Mark "E" Everett's songs are volatile dollops of emotional explosive. [Mar 2006, p.98]
  4. Everett comes on here like a less grizzled Tom Waits with a side order of Kurt Weill. [Apr 2006, p.113]
  5. E... rearranges his work, often to brilliant results, by first embellishing his lesser known songs and then subverting his already sparse collection of pseudo-hits.
  6. Finds the outfit in fine form, but it seems unlikely that the casual fan will fully appreciate what Everett has done with his songs here. [Apr 2006, p.214]
  7. The performances are all good, but E’s voice is alarmingly scratchy.
  8. So go ahead and grant the Eels an exemption for going the orchestra tour route; the additional personnel justifies their paychecks by saving this live album from being a rote greatest-hits-with-crowd-noise exercise.
  9. Live fails to replicate the experience of seeing Eels.
  10. Just when you're starting to worry some of the cancer vibes might rub off, he'll crack that underdog grin and knock out a number like 'Hey Man (Now You're Really Living)', backed by a bunch of cheerleaders. [18 Feb 2006, p.36]
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. BenH.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    I'm a huge fan of Eels and this is a perfect representation of E and the strength of his songs. Also contains a few brilliant covers the I'm a huge fan of Eels and this is a perfect representation of E and the strength of his songs. Also contains a few brilliant covers the best being 'Girl From The North Country' by Bob Dylan which manages to outdo the original on all fronts an essential buy Full Review »
  2. JohnF
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    I found this album added so much emotion to already emotional songs and completely changed the direction of the studio versions, a good I found this album added so much emotion to already emotional songs and completely changed the direction of the studio versions, a good example is Bus Stop Boxer which is hauntingly beautiful. Full Review »
  3. BrettN
    Jul 21, 2006
    7
    I have to admit I am not a rabid Eels fan. This is the first CD I purchased by them..I give it a few listens and liked it. Bus Stop Boxer I have to admit I am not a rabid Eels fan. This is the first CD I purchased by them..I give it a few listens and liked it. Bus Stop Boxer with someone playing a saw.Trouble With Dreams was the song I really enjoyed. Pretty Ballerina, Flyswatter, Girl From The North Country, If You See Natalie were nice tunes. I was disappointed with Novocaine For The Soul but Trouble With Dreams sure is a great tune maybe I should have given it an 8. Full Review »