With Strings Live At Town Hall

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Feb 21, 2006
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Billboard
    90
    Thanks to the stellar backup band, E's husky voice and sad stories become all the more desperately lovely. [25 Feb 2006]
  2. This is a document -- nothing more, nothing less -- and as such it's charming, beautiful, ragged, and honest.
  3. Uncut
    80
    Beneath their limpid surfaces, Mark "E" Everett's songs are volatile dollops of emotional explosive. [Mar 2006, p.98]
  4. Q Magazine
    80
    Everett comes on here like a less grizzled Tom Waits with a side order of Kurt Weill. [Apr 2006, p.113]
  5. E... rearranges his work, often to brilliant results, by first embellishing his lesser known songs and then subverting his already sparse collection of pseudo-hits.
  6. Alternative Press
    70
    Finds the outfit in fine form, but it seems unlikely that the casual fan will fully appreciate what Everett has done with his songs here. [Apr 2006, p.214]
  7. The performances are all good, but E’s voice is alarmingly scratchy.
  8. So go ahead and grant the Eels an exemption for going the orchestra tour route; the additional personnel justifies their paychecks by saving this live album from being a rote greatest-hits-with-crowd-noise exercise.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. BenH.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    I'm a huge fan of Eels and this is a perfect representation of E and the strength of his songs. Also contains a few brilliant covers the I'm a huge fan of Eels and this is a perfect representation of E and the strength of his songs. Also contains a few brilliant covers the best being 'Girl From The North Country' by Bob Dylan which manages to outdo the original on all fronts an essential buy Full Review »
  2. JohnF
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    I found this album added so much emotion to already emotional songs and completely changed the direction of the studio versions, a good I found this album added so much emotion to already emotional songs and completely changed the direction of the studio versions, a good example is Bus Stop Boxer which is hauntingly beautiful. Full Review »
  3. BrettN
    Jul 21, 2006
    7
    I have to admit I am not a rabid Eels fan. This is the first CD I purchased by them..I give it a few listens and liked it. Bus Stop Boxer I have to admit I am not a rabid Eels fan. This is the first CD I purchased by them..I give it a few listens and liked it. Bus Stop Boxer with someone playing a saw.Trouble With Dreams was the song I really enjoyed. Pretty Ballerina, Flyswatter, Girl From The North Country, If You See Natalie were nice tunes. I was disappointed with Novocaine For The Soul but Trouble With Dreams sure is a great tune maybe I should have given it an 8. Full Review »