With Strings Live At Town Hall Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This 22-song live recording (taped at a New York City show in June, 2005) finds Mark Oliver Everett backed by a variety of instrumentalists and, yes, a string quartet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Thanks to the stellar backup band, E's husky voice and sad stories become all the more desperately lovely. [25 Feb 2006]
  2. This is a document -- nothing more, nothing less -- and as such it's charming, beautiful, ragged, and honest.
  3. 80
    Beneath their limpid surfaces, Mark "E" Everett's songs are volatile dollops of emotional explosive. [Mar 2006, p.98]
  4. The performances are all good, but E’s voice is alarmingly scratchy.
  5. Finds the outfit in fine form, but it seems unlikely that the casual fan will fully appreciate what Everett has done with his songs here. [Apr 2006, p.214]
  6. So go ahead and grant the Eels an exemption for going the orchestra tour route; the additional personnel justifies their paychecks by saving this live album from being a rote greatest-hits-with-crowd-noise exercise.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Cables
    Mar 12, 2006
    I was at the show and it was amazing. The album is a 10 because the live cuts really do justice to some of the emotional centerpieces from their highly underrated last album, Blinking Lights. Expand
  2. JohnF
    Dec 5, 2006
    I found this album added so much emotion to already emotional songs and completely changed the direction of the studio versions, a good example is Bus Stop Boxer which is hauntingly beautiful. Expand
  3. BenH.
    Jul 18, 2007
    I'm a huge fan of Eels and this is a perfect representation of E and the strength of his songs. Also contains a few brilliant covers the best being 'Girl From The North Country' by Bob Dylan which manages to outdo the original on all fronts an essential buy Collapse
  4. BrettN
    Jul 21, 2006
    I have to admit I am not a rabid Eels fan. This is the first CD I purchased by them..I give it a few listens and liked it. Bus Stop Boxer with someone playing a saw.Trouble With Dreams was the song I really enjoyed. Pretty Ballerina, Flyswatter, Girl From The North Country, If You See Natalie were nice tunes. I was disappointed with Novocaine For The Soul but Trouble With Dreams sure is a great tune maybe I should have given it an 8. Expand