• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy On
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    100
    Wrapped in Red is a stylistic maverick, for sure, but the original tunes are worthy of sitting next to the standards, and when Kelly sings, it’s like Christmas all year round.
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    70
    Wrapped in Red should prove a welcome gift to fans of the powerful pop star as Kelly Clarkson mixes classic carols and hymns with several originals co-written by the singer.
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    70
    Perhaps the concept and execution are conventional, but even in this utterly expected setting, Clarkson retains her fiery, individual spirit, and that's what makes Wrapped in Red appealing: to the letter, it delivers what it promises.
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    70
    Any of these, as well as the retro title track, would make welcome additions to shopping-mall playlists, but it's the album's lead single, "Underneath the Tree," which recalls Mariah Carey's "All I Want for Christmas Is You" in theme, tone, and structure, that's likely to become Clarkson's very own contemporary standard.
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    60
    Clarkson takes the view that Christmas is as much about wistfulness and unfulfilled wishes as it is unbridled joy.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    60
    Maybe Clarkson’s a bit too eager to prove she can still wail out the money notes, and maybe the dearth of edge will disappoint those of us who love “Addicted” and “Hole”. But Wrapped in Red doesn’t need edge; it’s just dynamic and varied enough to be satisfying.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 72
  2. Negative: 20 out of 72
  1. Sep 9, 2017
    0
    To be honest with you, I'm starting to think that receiving a lump of coal for Christmas is less torturous than hear a single Kelly ClarksonTo be honest with you, I'm starting to think that receiving a lump of coal for Christmas is less torturous than hear a single Kelly Clarkson song ever again in my whole entire life. Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Normally I really don't like christmas song but Kelly.. Oh my God she has really amazing voice. Really good job Kelly you deserve best wishes.Normally I really don't like christmas song but Kelly.. Oh my God she has really amazing voice. Really good job Kelly you deserve best wishes. I always listening this album and this feels like already Christmas Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    Kelly's best ever. Reminds us of why we voted for the singer on Idol. Best producers, incredible production, fantastic selection of songs-Kelly's best ever. Reminds us of why we voted for the singer on Idol. Best producers, incredible production, fantastic selection of songs- remaining eclectic while showing renditions of the classics like we've never heard before. Even the original songs sound better than any filler track you'd hear on the standard album. So pleasing. The ruby in Kelly's library. Full Review »